Rapides Parish, Louisiana History and Genealogy
Return to Louisiana Main Page
Return to Rapides Parish Main Page
On February 5, 1887, the first meeting to consider the erection of a compress was held; M. C. Moseley presided, with E. H, McCormick, secretary. A committee was appointed to solicit subscriptions. On June 27, 1887, a meeting, presided over by J. A. Williams, with E. H. McCormick and H. L. Biossat, secretaries, decided upon establishing a cotton press and warehouse at Alexandria. Next day this question was discussed, and the town council decided to grant the company a site on Casson Street, and exemption from town taxes for a decade. On July 9, E. B. Wheelock advised the newspapers that the company was organized, the capital subscribed and the press purchased. To this company the leading men of Alexandria or of the county donated $7,500, and the work of construction was entered upon. The buildings, press, etc., were completed, and the first cotton was compressed September 17, 1887.
The capacity is sixty bales per hour. In April, 1887, Julius Levin, L. V. Marye, N. L. McGinnis, A. Pettingill, E. V. Bringhurst and G. V. Bolton were elected directors. Theus N. Miles has served as superintendent from the beginning. The Bank of Louisiana was established here in the second decade of the century, and, as related in other pages, transacted business up to 1846.
For over forty years the town and district were without banking facilities, but the, Rapides Banking Company came to remedy this. G. V. Bolton is president; Charles Owen, cashier, and J. W. Bolton, assistant cashier. The directors are G. V. Bolton, Theus N. Miles, Benjamin Turner, E. B. Wheelock, Pearl Wright, James Jeffries, John A. Williams, B. Ehrstein and H. W. S. Lund.
The new South Building & Loan Association of Alexandria, organized October 10, 1890, with the following directors; S. Cullen, president; V. P. Flower, vice-president; J. V. Bolton, secretary and treasurer; John C. Ryan, attorney; D. S. Ferris, W. Polk, Jr., Col. G. V. Bolton, Gen. G. O. Watts, Col. Battle and T. N. Miles.
The telegraph line between Alexandria and Minden was completed in April, 1876, when the lessee and operator, Langford, took charge here. The Alexandria Street Railroad Company was organized in June, 1881, with N. L. McGinnis, William Hustmyre, Simon Cullen, Julius Levin, Jay S. Fish and W. F. Blackman, directors. Under the new order of affairs the streetcar system of the city has been extended, and the close of the year 1890 saw it completed from the depot to Second Street, and thence to the lower town.
The name of the Ice-House Hotel was changed to Exchange Hotel in January, 1872, by Maj. A. H. Mason and Capt. Hooe, who became proprietors that mouth. In 1879 T. Hochstein leased the house; Messrs. French & Hynson subsequently leased the house, and others followed. J. F. Ariail is now proprietor, and D. H. Mayo, manager. Pineville is one of the oldest settlements in the State. Here, about 1711, when the church at Adayes was erected, a mission chapel was built, near where is now the grave of Commandant Menillon in the old Catholic cemetery. The Spaniards then claimed Red River as the, boundary and in this instance, laid claim to church property across the river.
Old Manuel, who died in September, 1879, was born a slave at Pineville, at the house of Post Commander Emmanuel Muillon. Judge William Miller married a daughter of this commander and moved to Philadelphia in 1820. Gen. Menillon and his wife, Jennette, who came in 1781. are buried in the Catholic cemetery at Pineville. Near by are the graves of John B. Heno, William F. Dent, George Rich, John M. and Tabitha Jett, Auguste Baillio, John E. Mead and many other pioneers are buried there.
Pineville in 1858 was a hamlet of fifty or sixty inhabitants. Between 1830 and 1835 John David and F. Poussin established their stores there. They came from France and prospered here among the pines. During the war the Confederate forces destroyed the pine forest, and built huts where giant trees stood before. After the surrender the place became the rendezvous for Federal troops.
During the stay of the Federals a large number of business houses was established. Capt. B. Turner, a native of the town, is one of its early merchants. In 1878 he was a leader in the successful direction of the Democracy. In 1874 E. J. Barrett represented the parish find was prominent in commercial circles here. In 1879 he was postmaster. G. W. Bolton referred to in the general history, was also engaged in business. W. A. Griffin, S. Barrett, M. T. Dozier, E. J. Hardtner, J. W. Johnson, R. Aaron. A. Gueringer, C. H. Dozier, Patrick Barrett, L. T. Fitztum, W. H. Chapman, N. Laurence, A. David, Maurice Aaron.
N. Christian and L. Laurence were merchants here in 1879. In 1880 the new store of Ben Turner was completed. The fire of June 23, 1867, destroyed Mrs. Poussin's buildings. The officers and troops, stationed here under Lieut. Col. Bates, saved the other buildings from the tire. The tire of January 16, 1878, destroyed M. T. Dozier's two stores and dwelling and Turner's Hall, the property of Ben Turner.
Above the town are the two forts, Buhlow and Randolph, erected in 1863-64. The National Cemetery is also located here. In 1880 the Sisters of Mercy purchased a tract of six acres from, find were given two acres by E. J. Barrett, near the church of the Sacred Heart for the purposes of erecting school and convent buildings. The church building was erected in 1878.
The English Protestant Episcopal Church (Mount Olivet Chapel) was organized in April, 1857, and the churchhouse completed June 29, 1859. In 1850 Mrs. McCoy and others organized a Sunday school. In 1861-1864 Rev. Anthony Vilas, of the seminary, assisted the regular preacher, except for that period in 1861-62 when the seminary was closed. About 1864 some persons took possession of the church and used it for school purposes until a vestry was organized and claimed the property. On September 1, 1873, the society organized as St. Peter's Church and maintained an independent existence until April 15, 1880, when it became a part of St. James Parish.
The Baptist Church has a large membership at this point. The churches of the Colored Methodists are numerous throughout the parish. The Lutheran Benevolent Society of Pineville was organized October 18, 1878 with H J, Wright, president; H. Robinson, secretary, and Mrs. Martha Taylor, treasurer.
Solomon Lodge No. 221, A. F. & A. M., was organized at Pineville, in March, 1874, with G. W. Bolton, John L, Walker, Louis Abadie, C. H. Dozier, V. A. Griffin, Rev. A. N. Ogden. T. D. Johnson, W L. Morgan and E. J. Hardtner officials in order of rank.
The National Cemetery of Pineville was established in 1867, and Mr. Craft, appointed superintendent: he remained until Gerald Fitzgerald was appointed superintendent in 1870, and he served until 1870, when J. W, Benshoof was appointed. He was followed by Prank Barrows, and he in 1880, by Sergt. R. C. Taylor, Eighteenth United States Infantry. The total interments number 1,309, up to October 1, including the bodies transferred from Mansfield, Pleasant Hill, Tyler, Texas and other points where Federal soldiers fell. The area, ten acres, was formerly a part of the Poussin estate.
Pineville post office was established in 1871, with E. J. Barrett, master. He was succeeded by A. David, and in 1890, Mrs. Ada Houston was commissioned.
The first election of municipal officers for Pineville, under the new charter, was held May 6, 1878. W. A. Griffin was elected mayor, N. Lawrence, G. V, Bolton, E J. Barrett, Louis Abadie, and W. H. Chapman, councilmen. In May, 1880, Auguste Jarreau was elected mayor, G. W. Bolton, Ben Turner, Stephen Barrett, E. J. Hardtner and J. W. Moffitt, councilmen. Charles Stuckey succeeded mayor Jarreau. In May, 188(5, Joseph Hoy was elected mayor, Ben. Turner, E. Aaron, E. J. Hardtner, L. Abadie, and E. J. Barrett, councilmen. In May, 1890, E. J. Barrett was chosen mayor, with Messrs. Bolton, Smith, Boyce, Aaron and Turner, councilmen.
When the present postmaster settled fit Boyce, the post office was located at Bertrand, two and one half miles below, on the river. Jordan Gibson was master. On the removal of the office to Cotile Landing (now Boyce), M. Boissat was appointed master. He surrendered his commission, and the office was established at the house of F. VI. Amsden, four miles up Cotile Bayou, with the owner in charge. On Mr. Amsden's death his daughter took charge, and so continued until E. R. Robinson was appointed. W. H Simons was appointed master in 1883, and removed the office back to Cotile Landing. On May 18, 1883, the office was named Boyce, in opposition to the sentiment of a majority, but as the station was already called Boyce the postal authorities coincided with the minority and hence the present name. The change was further justified by the fact that the pioneer family of that name settled here and carried on their landage plantations here. Patrick Boyce was the first merchant at Cotile Landing, and the Johnson store was established later. In 1866 H. A. Thompson established a store on the river front. In 1874 he established one on the Bayou Cotile, three miles distant from the present town, and in 1888 re-established his house here. Henry A. Boissat built the mammoth store on the river front in 1876, the same which was burned in 1882 or 1883. A. E. Watson's store was commenced at Hoyville in 1870 or 1877. In 1882 J. W. Miller established his store here in the old Boyce building. J. T. Carnahan erected a storehouse some time later, and afterward purchased the Boissat property. William J. Neal, David A. Smith, Marion Shumate, Stetham & Hickman, Alexander & Johnson, John McNeely, W. A. Holton, Kelsoe & Sandidge, George E. Abat and Odom, came here subsequently. In 1882 the town was surveyed for Henry Boyce, The shipment of cotton by rail and boat amounts to about 3,000 bales annually.
The meeting to organize the council of Boyce under the charter of May 7, 1887, was held June 14, when the officers elected June 11, qualified, namely, W. J. Neal mayor; J. D. Johnson, David A. Smith, Martin Shumate, Meridy N. Carnahan and W. H. Simons, councilmen; E. M. Jones, clerk; J. A. Thomas, treasurer, and E. H. Kelsoe, marshal. Ordinances were adopted July 6, and in August authority was given to build a calaboose. J. W. Miller and J. T. Carnatro were appointed councilmen in January, 1888, vice Shumate and M. N. Carnahan. In June, 1888, John L. Young. Leigh Alexander. James I. Davis, M. N. Carnahan and W. A. Holton. with Mayor Neal, formed the council: W. H. Simons was treasurer am! J. S. Henderson, marshal. in 18851 J. D. Johnson was elected mayor, and F. M. Brian, E. H. Kelsoe and H. A. Thompson councilmen, vice Young, Alexander and Davis, with Messrs. Miller and Holton holding over. J. H. Davison was appointed marshal, and the secretary and treasurer re-elected. During this year a 5 mill tax for ten years was voted in favor of the K. C. L. & G. R. R. Co.
In June, 1890, the mayor was re-elected with all the councilmen of 1889, except H. A, Thompson, whose place was given to V. L. Via. On Mr. Kelsoe's resignation in September, H. A. Thompson was appointed to till vacancy. The secretary, treasurer and marshal were also reelected. The tax levy for 1890 approximates $800, but a surplus is generally recorded at the close of each year.
Enterprise Lodge 3552, K. of H. was organized April 21, 1890, with the following named members: Joseph D. James, dictator; J. D. Johnson, P. D. ; J. E. Thomas, reporter: W. T. Newman. F. R.; George T. Neal, T.; F. H. Neal. F. H. Dagley, J. M. Plummer, M. H. Lester, M. D. Weeks, M. F. Weeks, Dr. F. M. Brian, Dr. J. H. Wilkinson, deceased, $2,000 payable to his mother from insurance in this lodge, S. W. Curtis. D. J. Hydrick, E. H. Kelsoe. J. T. Sandidge, B. K. Hunter and R. A. Keys. There are twenty-seven members. The lodge room is in the Thomas store building, but it is the purpose of the Knights to build a hall this year.
St. Philip's Protestant Episcopal Church at Boyce was established December 9, 1883. Services were held in the hotel until 1880, when the society got permission to meet in the Methodist Episcopal Church.
The English Protestant Episcopal Church at Cotile and Lamotho's dates back to 1871, when Protestant services were first held on Bayou Rapides, and in 1877 St. Johns' Chapel was erected on the Castile Plantation. In March, 1887, services were discontinued there, and in April the chapel building was removed to Lamothe's bridge, and services held therein on May 21, 1888.
Cheneyville in latitude 31° north and longitude 15° west, is one of the oldest towns in Rapides. It was chartered by the Legislature in 1836. in 1816 Beulah Baptist Church was organized at this point with three members, being the second Protestant or Baptist society in Louisiana, the first being that at Calvary in Bayou Chicot in 1812. In 1889 Riverview Baptist Church was organized here by Rev. E. O. Ware. In the history of this parish, of Alexandria City and of Avoyelles, references are made to the military and civil history of this old town. In 1855 Gordy Lodge, A. P. & A. M., was established here succeeding Hiram Lodge, which surrendered in 1849 after twenty-one years' work.
Lecompte or Lecomte is another ancient town of which a good deal has been written. One of the first railroads constructed in the United States was that, from Alexandria to this point, a primitive road sixteen miles long. In 1886 the Catholic Church building of Kanomie was moved to Lecompte, Here also is the Circuit, Church of the Methodists, which, in connection with Boyce and other circuit churches, claims 110 members. In 1888 the Baptist society was organized here by Rev. E. O. Ware.
Moorland is the name given to the railroad depot below Alexandria. The store of Weems & Hayes and the large brick building, known as the sugar mill, point out the place as one of trade. Here the true introduction to the sugar plantations is made, for large fields of cane, and several sugar mills tell the traveler from the north that he is entering the richest sugar country in the world. The other post office villages of the parish are Babb's Bridge, Bismarck, Crane, Godwin Gum, Hinestown (where Fellowship Lodge 229, now 98, was chartered in 1873). Halloway, Lamourie Bridge, Lena, Lloyd's Bridge (where H. N. Frisbie was postmaster in 1890), Milder, Milford, Poland, Veil and Welchton. Some of these are of later origin and some are old, extending back many years in the past, and all are surrounded by thrifty people and good citizens.
James Andrews, district attorney of the Twelfth Judicial District was born in Rapides Parish, February 23, 1847, being a son of Hon. James Rogers and Lueretia M. (Davidson) Andrews, natives of South Carolina and Georgia, respectively, the former a planter by occupation, and a man who took much interest in the political history of this locality, serving in the State Legislature through the administration of Gov. Thomas O. Moore. He was a son of Michael Andrews. James Andrews, the immediate subject of this sketch, was the fifth of eight children, four sous and four daughters, of whom two sous and two daughters survive. He grew to mature years on his father's plantation, find at the age of seventeen years entered the Confederate Army, and served faithfully until the close of the war. In 1809 he began teaching the young idea, and at the same time read law and was admitted to the Bar from the office of T. C. Manning (afterward Chief Justice Manning) in 1875, after which he began practicing his profession in Alexandria. He served as mayor of the town in 1880-82, but in September of the latter year resigned to accept the position of assessor of Rapides Parish, being appointed by Gov. S. D. McEnery, as position he held until 1884, at which time he was re appointed. He resigned this office in 1888, and in April of the same year he was elected district attorney, the duties of which office he is now discharging, proving himself a faithful, efficient find satisfactory public officer. His marriage which occurred in this parish in 1874 was to Miss Laura Holt, a native of this parish, a daughter of John and Catherine (Walker) Holt, and a grand-daughter of Gov. Joseph Walker of Louisiana. They have living three children; Laura Holt, James Rogers and Elmore Lewis.
Capt. C. E. Ball, a leading citizen of Pineville, was born on Blue Grass soil. Union County, in 1827, and was reared and educated in the common schools of that State. He served an apprenticeship at the Blacksmith's trade in Louisville, followed this trade for a short time, and when eighteen years of age became engineer on a steamboat. His career as a steamboat man continued from 1848 to 1861, and he was well known from Louisville to New Orleans. In 1850 he was married in Rapides Parish. La., to Miss Pauline Talley, a native of that parish, and the daughter of Joseph L. and Jane (Chevallier) Talley, the mother of French extraction. Mr. Ball abandoned the steamboat business in 1861 just as the Civil War broke out, and farmed and managed a mill in Rapides Parish during that exciting period. He was not a secessionist, but went with his State.
He was second lieutenant of Bingam's company of scouts in Richard Taylor's brigade, and served about three mouths, participating in the battles of Mansfield and Pleasant Hill and a number of skirmishes. He never moved out of the parish. He afterward engaged in saw milling, and has been in this business ever since. He commenced in a small way and handled pine lumber until a short time ago. He now has cypress shingles. The capacity of his mill is 60,000 feet per day, and he employs twenty-two hands in his timber and mill. He ships to all points where there is a demand, Kansas City, Dallas, Omaha, etc.
He is the father of the following children: Lewis E., Elizabeth J., Mary B. (died at the age of twenty-seven years), Caroline F. (wife of Ed Hopkins, of Pineville), Robert Lee Ball, Amelia E., John W., James P., Joseph Talley, Sallie E. and Julius J. Mr. Ball has been a Democrat since the war, but before that he was a Whig. His first presidential vote was east for Zachary Taylor in 1848. He is the son of Taswell and Elizabeth (Dyre) Ball, the father born in the Old Dominion. The elder Ball emigrated to Kentucky before it became a State, was with Daniel Boone, and had a scar across his band made in a band-to hand encounter with an Indian. He however killed the Indian. Mr. Ball was six feet two inches in height, and was powerfully built. He died in Union County, Ky., at the age of forty-four years. Grandfather Ball moved to Kentucky with the family and was a farmer by occupation.
The mother of our subject was born in Union County, Ky., and of the four children born to her marriage, only one is now living. The mother died at the age of seventy-eight years. The maternal grandfather, William Dyre, was born in Virginia, and owned a farm near Morganfield, Ky., where he lived to be quite aged. The maternal grandmother, who was Miss McKee, was a native of Cork, Ireland. Capt. Ball is wonderfully preserved for a man of his age. and has hardly a gray hair in his head. He is pleasant and sociable, and a man one likes to meet.
Capt. C. J. Barstow, planter and president of the police jury of Rapides Parish, was born in the Nutmeg Slate in 1825). When about the age of nineteen he came South, located in Alabama, where he remained two years. He then went west, and was in California about two years and a half, after which he located in Louisiana, where he ran a steamboat on Red River. He was the owner of a steamboat at about the breaking out of the war, and in 1862 he enlisted in the Confederate Army. Crescent Brigade from Rapides Parish. He remained with this brigade until it was broken up after which he came home and operated the railroad from Alexandria to Lecompte from 1863 to 1864. He then bought an interest in the "Grand Duke" steamer, but she was seized by the Confederacy. Mr. Barstow then went to New Orleans, and was a member of the line of Eaton & Barstow, wholesale grocers, until 1872. After this he was engaged in planting in St. Landry Parish for a short time, and in 1872 he Went to Rapides Parish, whole he continued planting, on the Waverly place. This he still carries on, and has 1,500 acres in all. He raises cotton and corn and formerly sugar. Mr. Barstow was elected police juror in 1878, and served in that, capacity until the new constitution went into effect. He was again appointed in 1884, reappointed in 1888, and holds that position at the present time. He has been president of the same for some time. He was married in this parish to Miss M. Stella Smith, who bore him five children. The name Barstow is English. Capt. Barstow is much esteemed, and is a very popular man of this parish.
A. D. Battle, editor of the Daily Times, was born at Powelton, Ga., January 6, 1829. His parents moved thither from North Carolina about 1820, and thirteen years later settled in Hinds County, Miss., where they resided until 1840, when the family moved to Shreveport, La. Col. Battle attended school there for a short time, and in 1843 entered Centre College, Danville, Ky. On returning to Shreveport in 1846, he entered the office of the Caddo Gazette, as assistant editor, then owned by H. J. G. Battle. In 1853 he married Miss Alary J. Parsons, and buying an interest in the Oakland plantation, settled there. In 1859 he returned to Shreveport, and entered the cotton trade; was elected assessor and collector of the city, and in 1800 he rented the house of Rev. J. F, Ford, opposite the Presbyterian Church, and established the Battle House, In April, 1861, Mrs. Battle died, and Mr. Battle entered the Red River Rangers, as lieutenant, under Capt. Nutt, and was captured with the command at Arkansas Post, and brought to Ohio: thence to Fort Delaware, and held prisoner until the exchange, at City Point, Va., in May, 1863.
On returning to Shreveport, he assumed his position with that part of the command who escaped capture, but shortly after resigned. He was appointed C. S. clerk of the district court of the C. S., which position he held until the end of the Confederacy. In 1869 he took charge of the Southwestern, and a little after established the Shreveport Times. In 1882 he was elected senator for Caddo, and in 1884 was appointed parish assessor. A reference to the general history of Caddo and of Shreveport will point out, more particularly, his connection with public affairs. In 1867 he married Miss Carrie Boney, a daughter of William G. Boney, present clerk of the district court, and to this marriage four children were given, of whom two reside in Shreveport and two at Alexandria. Mrs. B. A. Holmes, of Los Angeles, Cal., and William Battle, now of Shreveport, are children of the first marriage. In September, 1890, the family moved to Alexandria, where Mr. Battle was appointed editor of the newly established Daily Times. H. J. G. battle was colonel of militia prior to the war, and like his brother, was engaged in newspaper work, until his death, in 1872.
T. L. Bedsole, merchant, Lena. La. Mr. Bedsole is a member of the firm of C. W. Ainsley & Co., and is a wide-awake, enterprising business man. He was originally from Alabama, his birth occurring in 1850, and is a son of T. H. and Mary A. (Sylvesta) Bedsole. natives of Alabama. The father was a farmer and merchant, and removed to Vernon Parish, La., where he now resides. He was quite a prominent citizen of Alabama. He is u member of the Masonic fraternity. N. H. Bray Lodge No. 208, and both he and wife are members of the Missionary Baptist Church. T. L. Bedsole was educated in the common schools of Alabama. In 1879 he was married in that State to Miss Rebecca Norton, daughter of Mrs. Elizabeth Norton, and afterward, in 1880, removed to Rapides Parish, where Mr. Bedsole was engaged in farming until the spring of 1889. He then removed to Lena, embarked in the mercantile business, and this he has since continued very successfully. He is a promising young business man, and will make his mark in the world. He is a member of the Masonic fraternity, N. H. Bray Lodge No. 208. His marriage was blessed by the birth of five children, two sons and three daughters.
George W. Bennett, merchant, Bennettville, La. This prominent business man was born in Rapides Parish, La., on his present plantation, on February 22, 1851, and is the son of Ezra and Sarah P. (Eldred) Bennett. The father was born in New York State, was reared and educated there, and when a young man emigrated to Louisiana, where he taught school for some time. He then moved to Cheneyville, and here his death occurred. Of his seven children three sons were in the Confederate Army, and one son, H. L., was killed by the bursting of a cannon in Alexandria. George W. Bennett, the youngest, of the above mentioned family, and one sister, are the only ones now living, The father died in 1878, at the age of sixty-five years, and the mother received her final summons in 1868, when fifty-six years of age Grandfather Bennett was reared and educated in York State, while Grandfather Eldred was born in North Carolina and was a pioneer of Rapides Parish, The latter cleared the plantation on which our subject now resides, and which was then covered with canebrake. He died here at the age of seventy years. Although the parents of George V. were early settlers of Rapides, at the time that he required an education they could ill afford to educate him, and the principal part of his schooling was obtained by his own efforts. He started out for himself in 1871, on a very limited capital, and in an old shanty, but his good business qualities were soon recognized, and he soon had a good trade.
His honest and upright treatment of his customers inspired all with confidence in him. He now has not only one of the largest, but also one of the safest enterprises in the country. He has a large trade among his tenants, and by an original scheme, furnishes checks to them all with which to buy goods, charging each person with checks and accepting them as money. The checks are valued just is coin, and are virtually plantation money. His system is so perfect he dispenses with at least one bookkeeper by its use. He has erected a spacious store building, and does an annual business of over $30,000, carrying an average stock of $8,000. He also has a fine residence and all the conveniences to make life pleasant and agreeable.
Mr. Bennett received very little assistance from his parents, financially, but he has bought the old homestead and is now occupying it. There stands in the front yard of his old residence a mammoth pecan tree, the nut from which it grew having been planted by Mr. Bennett's mother in years past. Mr. Bennett is now the owner of over 1,000 acres of land. He bought a large tract round Cheneyville depot, which he has blocked out in small farms and lots and sold to good advantage both to himself and to the buyer. This town is called Theoda, after his wife. He stands in the front rank as a good business man of Rapides Parish. He was married in 1875 to Miss Theoda Tower, a native of Chrystal Springs, Miss., and to them have been born the following children: Annie M., Lena M., Emma P., Myrtle T., Fred V. and Virginia M.
Hon. Wilbur Fisk Blackman is a man of more than ordinary energy and force of character, and is now filling one of the most important and responsible offices in the county, that of judge of the Twelfth Judicial District, and is discharging the duties of this position with an energy, efficiency and ability surpassed by few, if any, public officials. His birth occurred in Harris County, Ga., December 10, 1841, being a son of John Calhoun and Achsah G. (Maddox) Blackman, the former a native of the Palmetto State, and the latter of Alabama. John C. Blackmail was a minister of the Methodist Episcopal Church, but also followed planting, and in the capacity of a minister of the gospel, he became well known throughout Northern Louisiana, to which State he had come in 1851, making a home for himself and family at Homer, in Claiborne Parish, where he resided until alter the war. He took an active interest in the political affairs of this locality, and was a man whom all revered, respected and loved, for in every respect he was a true Christian, and at all times endeavored to follow the teachings of the Golden Rule. His death, which took place in his sixty-eighth year. was at Shreveport, in 1873, of yellow fever, and that of Mrs. Blackmail, aged sixty-seven years, in 1884, in Alexandria. They were much regretted by all with whom they had acquaintance. His father was a member id' the Masonic fraternity. I in which respect he followed in the footsteps of his progenitors, and be helped to found Homer College, and was especially active in church and all public enterprises, during the early history of Claiborne Parish.
Of the family born to him, two children survive: Asa Olin and Wilbur Fisk. The grandfather, William Blackmail, was a native of the Old North State, and was married to a Miss Williams, also of North Carolina. The Blackman family in America is traced to the settlement in Massachusetts, of a man by that name who came from Scotland, to found a home for himself in the New World. His descendants were active participants in the War of Independence, and also took part in the War of 1812, members of the Maddox family being in the Seminole War. The former were of large stature, long-lived, and were very tenacious in their religious faith, that of Methodism. The immediate subject of this biography, Wilbur Fisk Blackman, attained to man's estate in Claiborne Parish, La., and completed a fine literary and classical course in Homer College, La. (which his father had helped to found), and was graduated from that institution, leaving the same day to join the Confederate Army, becoming a member of the Moore Fencibles, which was composed of the most talented and noblest young men of Claiborne Parish. He was elected second lieutenant of that company, at the age of eighteen years, and was attached to the Ninth Louisiana Regiment of Infantry, under Col. Dick Taylor, subsequently Maj.-Gen. Dick Taylor, and served until 1862 in the Army of Virginia, after which he resigned and returned home. At the battle of Mansfield, on April 8, 1864, be led his old regiment, the Twenty-eighth Louisiana, in the charge.
The fire from a largely superior force of the Federal infantry was centered on his brigade, and so great was the carnage, that the Eighteenth and Crescent Regiments were staggered, and the Twenty-eighth Louisiana Regiment, with a great loss seemed for a moment to waver, when he ran his horse through the ranks, grasped the colors, and called on his soldiers to follow him. The murderous fire continued. Two hundred and fifty of his soldiers fell, either killed or wounded, in the space of 150 yards behind his colors, but the ranks closed up, and on went the column until within a few yards of the Federal lines, when they gave way before his victorious troops. The colors were riddled and his clothes were rent in many places by the enemy's bullets, but he miraculously escaped personal injury. Gen. Henry Gray, his brigade commander, in his official report of this battle, paid a high tribute to the conspicuous gallantry of Maj. Blackman and Gen. Dick Taylor, in his published reminiscences of the war, pays an equally high compliment to his gallantly and efficiency as au officer.
He afterward enlisted in Company D. under Cheatham, and upon the organization of the Twenty-eighth Regiment, he was appointed adjutant by Col., afterward Gen. Henry Gray, in which capacity he served in the Trans-Mississippi Department, until his promotion to assistant adjutant- general, of Mouton's Louisiana Brigade of Infantry, composed of the Twenty-eighth, the Eighteenth, and the Crescent Regiments, Louisiana Volunteers. After the battle of Mansfield he served as assistant adjutant-general of the brigade until the close of the war. He afterward turned his attention to clerical work, being engaged in n mercantile store in Homer, and during this time read law tit leisure moments, and in October, 1865 as he had always taken an active interest in politics, and was thoroughly posted on all the general topic of the day. he was nominated for the Legislature, and was elected for the years of 1866 and 1867, receiving the highest number of votes on the ticket. This was the last, White man's Legislature in the State. In November, 1865, he entered the law department of the Stale University of Louisiana, and in addition to attending lectures, also faithfully and efficiently discharged his duties as legislator. in March of 1865 he was admitted to the bar by the Supreme Court, at New Orleans, and commenced practicing in Claiborne Parish.
During the reconstruction period, so dark and gloomy, he was actively engaged in keeping his party alive, and in 1868 he was nominated for the State Senate, serving faithfully and in a highly satisfactory manner from that time until 1872, he having the honor of being both terms he served the youngest member of both the House and Senate. In 1868 he was nominated by his party in the New Orleans Convention, as presidential elector for the State at large, and cast the electoral vote for Seymour & Blair, against Gen. Grant. In 1873 he sought a new field of work, located in Alexandria, and commenced the active practice of his profession, and was very successful, and three years later, in 1870, received the nomination for judge of the Twelfth Judicial District, and was elected to that position, the district being composed of the parishes of Rapides, Grant and Vernon, and has served continuously up to the present time, with the exception of two years. He has always been a strong party organizer, is an eloquent and forcible orator, and has been frequently urged to run for Congress, but has always declined. His marriage, which occurred in Rapides Parish, on September 14, 1869, was to Miss Ellen M. Wells, a daughter of Mumfot Wells, by whom he has two sons find two daughters: Wilbur W. Blackman (who married Miss Sallie H. Fish), Jeanette Dent (wife of Julius P. Ariail, attorney at Alexandria), Ellen M. and John Calhoun (who are at the present in school). The family worship in the Episcopal Church, and are highly honored people in the community in which they reside. The wife of Judge Blackmail is connected with several of the oldest and most, respected families in Louisiana. She is an accomplished woman, is domestic in her taste, and her home indicates refinement and culture to a great degree. Our space will not permit a history of her progenitors.
Carey E. Blanchard, planter, Boyce, La. One of the prominent, planters in this portion of the country is Mr. Blanchard, who was born on the same place where he now resides, on December 14. 1846, and is a son of Carey H. and Prances (Grain) Blanchard, the father born in Virginia in 1805, and the mother in Louisiana in 1821. The father received his education in the Old Dominion, and when a young man came to Louisiana with his mother, his father having died some time previous. He was a colonel in the State Militia prior to the war. He was married four times, once after the death of the mother of our subject, she having been his third wife. Both he and his third wife were members of the Episcopal Church, and both died in Rapides Parish, the mother in 1855 and the father in 1861. Carey E. Blanchard supplemented a common school education by a course in the State Seminary of Learning and Military Institute near Alexandria, La. In the fall of 1.804 he enlisted in Company G of a Texas regiment, but was never in active service. The regiment was disbanded on the way to Galveston. At the breaking out of the war the family had 800 acres under cultivation, with about eighty slaves to work it, a cotton gin, sugar mill and saw mill, good buildings, and about 800 bales of cotton on hand, when Bank's Army came through, burning everything. The family was left destitute, and experienced many hardships.
They built a small cabin, cultivated what land they could, and thus kept from want. In 1876 Carey E. Blanchard began farming for himself on the home place, where he has since resided, and where he is well and favorably known. He was married in 1865 to Miss Mary L. Davidson, daughter of Maj. Neal and Martha (Hunter) Davidson, the father born in Georgia in 1810, and the mother in Louisiana in 1823. Mr. Davidson received his education in Louisiana, and was not only a very successful farmer but a very prominent man in both local and State politics. He was tendered the nomination for State Senator, but declined the honor, preferring a private life. His death occurred in 1865. Mrs. Davidson is still living, and makes her home with our subject. She is a very prominent member of the Methodist Church. Mr. and Mrs. Blanchard are also worthy members of that church. They are the parents of four children, two sons and two daughters, all at home. Mr. Blanchard was the eldest of four brothers, and the second, N. C , is now a member of Congress from the Fourth District, having represented this district for twelve years. He is one of the most, prominent, members of the House from the South. The third brother, F. A., is a planter, as is also the fourth brother, C. H.
Hon. G. V. Bolton, of Rapides Parish, is a Georgian, born in De Kalb County, September 15, 1841, coming at the age of sixteen years with his parents to Union Parish, La., where he remained working on a farm and attending such schools as the country afforded until the beginning of the war between the States. It, was his desire to attend college, and take a full classical course, and after ward study law as a profession, but the war prevented the accomplishment of his purpose which has been a source of regret to him ever since. He received a high school education, and at the age of twenty years enlisted in the Twelfth Louisiana Infantry. Confederate Army, served continuously in that regiment in Kentucky, Tennessee and Mississippi, and in the early part of the year 1864 his regiment with the division to which it was attached was transferred to the Army of Tennessee at Dalton, Ga. was in all the engagements from there to Atlanta. After the capture of Atlanta by Gen. Sherman his regiment took part in the campaign into Tennessee under Gen. Hood. He had the bone of his right arm badly shattered by a minieball while on the retreat after the battle of Nashville, and soon after the retreat commenced, and after lying in a private house owned by a widow lady at Brentwood, Tenn., without medical attention for three days, he was taken prisoner and carried to the hospital in Nashville, where he was kept until he had recovered from the wound received in battle. From there he was transferred to prison at Camp Chase, Ohio, and thence to Point Lookout, Md., where he was released on parole after the close of the war.
During the entire term of service in the army Mr. Bolton belonged to that class quite numerous then but very scarce now. He was a private soldier. Returning to the home of his parents in North Louisiana without anything to begin life upon, with maimed arm unfitting him for manual labor, he at the solicitation of his friends taught school for one year, after which he entered the store of Dr. A. Vade in Winnfield, La., as a clerk, was offered and accepted an interest in the business shortly after, and remained there for three years, when the firm decided to extend their business by establishing another house at Pineville, La., and he moved there to take charge of same, leaving the business at Winnfield in charge of Thomas D. Milling, who had been taken into partnership. Dr. Vade died in August, 1870, when the business was continued by Milling & Bolton, which firm successfully wound up the affairs of the old partnership, passed safely through the financial troubles of 1873 and succeeding years, until the death of Mr. Milling, in 1879, when Mr. Bolton closed up the affairs of the partnership, and continued the mercantile business on his own account at Pineville, La. in closing the affairs of this partnership he was very successful, as each one of them only had a few thousand dollars at the beginning, ten years prior, yet so well were its affairs managed that on a final settlement and liquidation he paid to the heirs of his deceased partner over $20,000 for half interest in the partnership. He is now engaged in the mercantile business at the same place, occupying three large rooms stored full of goods, with annual sales of from $50,000 to $60,000, and gradually increasing. His stock is valued at about $15,000, and all his goods are purchased for cash, his invariable custom of late years has been to buy no goods except for cash, and never owes any man without having the money to pay. In all his business transactions strict integrity rules and governs, and to his unswerving devotion to principles of honesty and fair dealing he attributes his success in life.
He was one of the chief organizers of the Rapides Bank, and has been its president since its organization, having accepted the position without previous experience in banking at the earnest solicitations of many of the stockholders, about half of whom lived in New Orleans and knew him personally. This has become to be a solid institution, and though commencing business in September, 1888, is now paying handsome dividends to the stockholders, and the shares though rarely offered for sale readily command a premium. He has never sought political office, but has several times filled important public positions. In 1876 he was elected a member of the police jury of Rapides Parish, at a time when its financial affairs were in great confusion, and parish warrants would not command more than fifty percent of their face value, a heavy debt also existed against the parish. The present excellent financial condition of the parish is largely owing to the reform methods introduced by him and his associates during the time he served as police juror.
His labors at the time in the interests of the parish pointed him out as a proper person for member of the State Constitutional Convention, to which he was unanimously elected in 1879, and rendered valuable service in assisting in the foundation of the present State constitution. He was conspicuous in his efforts to maintain the honor and credit of the State, when so many desired to repudiate obligations that should be considered sacred, his party having previously pledged itself to uphold the credit of the State he felt in honor bound to carry out those pledges. He was likewise conspicuous for his opposition to a renewal of the charter of the Louisiana State Lottery, and opposed incorporating such an article in the constitution. Had his views prevailed then, the State would have been spared the terrible contest now going on in Louisiana, looking to an extension of the charter of the lottery. In 1888 he was again brought forward as a candidate for the Legislature, and having received the nomination by a unanimous vote of the Parish Democratic Convention, he was elected by a large majority of the votes of the people. During the sessions of Legislature in 1888 and 1890 he rendered valuable service in many respects and particularly as chairman of the house committee on appropriations to which position he was appointed on account of his acknowledged financial ability.
He at once became one of the prominent, members of the House of Representatives, and the present excellent financial condition of the State is largely due to his efforts in the management of its revenues. During the session of 1890 he was one of the acknowledged leaders in opposition to any action being taken by the Legislature looking to a renewal of the charter of the Louisiana State Lottery. He has never sought political office, and in every public political position his course of conduct has been guided by a sincere desire to discharge duties incumbent on him with the strictest fidelity and integrity. He has always been noted as a very public spirited citizen, doing all in his power to further worthy enterprises, which have been started, and has donated liberally of his means in their support. He was married in Winn Parish, La., to Miss Tennessee Wade, daughter of Dr. A. Wade and Malinda K. Wade, nee Porter. His wife is a cousin of Ex-Gov. Porter of Tennessee, and is a worthy helpmate to the subject of this sketch, her mother being still alive, and aged eighty-three years. To Mr. and Mrs. Bolton have been born ten children, three of whom, Lottie, Albert and George V., are dead, seven living: James W. (assistant cashier in the bank, a bright young man twenty-one years old) George F. (a youth of good business habits and qualifications, who assists his father in his business), Franklin P. (now at college), Porter, Ida and Roscoe (attending the village school), and lastly little Bertha (the pet of the family).
Mrs. Bolton, being a thorough housewife, labors faithfully to rear her children so as to be useful members of society, and to her prudent management of household affairs much of Mr. Bolton's success in life is due. His father is still living in Union Parish, aged eighty-two years, was a school teacher in early days, and raised his children on a farm. He is of English descent, but his wife who died at the age of seventy-nine years was Irish, her mother having come from the Emerald Isle. Mr. Bolton, the subject of this sketch, has long been a member of the Baptist Church, is also one of the charter members of Solomon Lodge, F. & A. M., Keystone Chapter No. 44, R. A. M., also of Summit Council, R. & S. Masters. He was elected senior grand warden of the Grand Lodge, A. F. & A. M., Louisiana at the session February, 1890. In the church and societies he has ever been an active and useful member. In the community generally he is considered one of the most successful business men and financiers in this section, and all the stockholders of the bank of which he is president trust most of the business of the same to him, in fact a reasonable degree of success has attended all his efforts, and he enjoys the unreserved confidence of all who have business transactions with him. He is gentlemanly, accommodating and courteous, and is very popular with all, not only in a business way, but also as au official. As stated in the early part of this sketch, he was prevented from acquiring a collegiate course which be so much desired, owing to the war, the dose of which left him without any means to begin life with, or to carry out his former intentions so that he may be said to be in a large measure as self made man. His portrait graces this volume.
James Borron, planter, Boyce, La. The subject of this sketch needs little or no introduction to the people of Rapides Parish, La., for his mercantile firm in ante bellum days (Ar. Milteuberger & Borron) transacted business with many of the largest planters of Rapides and Natchitoches Parishes, and he has resided thirty-one years in Natchitoches Parish and twenty years in New Orleans, and is one of the most highly esteemed residents of , Boyce, and one whose integrity and honesty of purpose are unquestioned. He was born in Woolden Hall, England, in 1822, and his parents, John A. and Mary (Geddis) Borron, were natives of Lancaster, England and Edinburgh, Scotland, born in 1772 and 1791, respectively. Mr. John A. Borron was educated at Cambridge College, England, and later was largely interested in manufactories in different parts of that country. He was judge of the court of assizes. He received a gold medal from the Duke of Bridgewater for engineering the Bridgewater Canal. Afterward he traveled for two years in the United States, and then returned to London, where his death occurred in 1840, James Borron was educated in New Castle, Northumberland, England, and, in 1839, when about sixteen years of age, he removed to New Orleans. He was seventy-one days in making the trip across the ocean, and after arriving in New Orleans was engaged in the Foreign Commission House Of A. & J. Dennistouu & Co., who did the largest business in New Orleans.
He remained there thirteen years, and then took charge of the business of Aristid Miltenberger, and in 1857 was made a partner. He remained in business there until the breaking out of the war. In 1858 he married Miss Maria L. Bonner, daughter of Maj. Willis Bonner, a native of Rapides Parish, and one of the largest planters in that portion of the State. After marriage and the beginning of the Civil War in 1861, Mr. Borron removed to Rapides Parish and took charge of his wife's plantation. The war disabled him very seriously, financially. He now resides at Ainslie place, near Boyce, about fourteen miles above Alexandria. His marriage resulted in the birth of eight children, five sons and three daughters: James H., Elizabeth, Stella (now Mrs. Kelsoe, of Boyce), Louise (now Mrs. Halliburton, of Rapides Parish), Willis Arthur (of Boyce), William Roscoe, Edward A. and Paul G. (the last three at home). Mr. and Mrs. Borron are members of the Episcopal Church, and are esteemed by all acquainted with them. The family of Borron is one of considerable antiquity in England. A copy of genealogical record now in possession of Mr. Borron dates back A. D. 1634, in the reign of King Charles I., but emblems of the crest of the Borron arms, in the Herald's office, Loudon, lamb and banner, with corona or holy halo above the cross, would indicate a much more ancient origin, probably the Crusades. The pioneer or first member of the family in the country, upon record of history, Gen. Edward Braddock, uncle of John Arthur Borron, commander of the colonial forces, was killed fighting French and Indians, near Fort DuQuesne (now Pittsburgh). Washington was his aide-de camp then, and took command after he fell. John Arthur Borron, nephew of Gen. Braddock and father of the subject of this sketch, was a man of great enterprise and attainments, as well as vast business capacity, who had a cotton mill and glass works in Lancashire, salt and pottery works in Cheshire and Stafford, besides managing lead mines in Scotland for the Marquis of Bute, Becleugh and Hopetum.
When in New York, on his way home to England, he made valuable suggestions to the engineers of the "Croton Aqueduct," which was then under construction, complimentary notices of which were published in the New York Press. Col. Ainslie, C. B., deceased, a nephew of our subject's mother, was thus referred to by the Glasgow Herald: The remains of the late Col. Ainslie, C. B., were interred in Haddington churchyard yesterday in the presence of a large assemblage of mourners, the chief of whom were Mr. E. Ainslie (of Elvinston), Miss Ainslie, Maj.-Gen. Anderson, C. B. and Mrs. Anderson, etc. Col. Ainslie was a child of the regiment, having been born at Futtigur, in the East Indies, in 1811, his father being Col. Ainslie, of the Madras army. He entered the army at an early age, and joined the Ninety-third Highlanders, in which be rose to the chief command, and led the regiment in some memorable engagements, where he distinguished himself by such conspicuous bravery as to gain for himself the commandership of the Bath.
He was in every sense a splendid specimen of the British soldier, full of martial spirit, yet modest and unassuming in all his actions. As a comrade in arms remarked, he never said Go on, boys, but Come on. He led the Highlanders up the 'Heights of the Alma, and later in the campaign it was he who formed his regiment into the historic 'thin red line' at Balaclava to resist the heavy onset of Russian cavalry. He was deeply attached to his regiment, and his men regarded him with devotion and affection, a brother officer having once said that his Highlanders would have followed him anywhere, even to the ends of the earth. He sold out of the army a good many years ago, being succeeded in the command of the Ninety-third by Gen. Burroughs. Since his retirement Col. Ainslie has lived a quiet, and unobtrusive life in Edinburgh. He was a regular frequenter of the United Service Club, of which he was the senior member, having been admitted fifty years ago. It is understood that by his death the life-rent of the property which he enjoyed from his aunt, the late Miss Walker, of Drumsheugh, goes to the trust fund for the benefit of the Episcopal Church in Scotland. Col. Ainslie was married to Joanna, only child of Maj.-Gen. Falls, late of the Ninety-third Highlanders. He is survived by his widow, but leaves no family. The following taken from a Toronto, Canada, paper refers to our subject's niece, Miss Ainslie Borron.
THE GOLD MEDALIST
The work of Miss Borron is arranged by itself, and it was the center of attraction. Miss Ainslie Borron, the young lady who has won the gold medal, is the daughter of Mr. Borron, ex-M. P. of the district of Algoma, and the niece of Mrs. Ainslie, of Ainslie Woods, Hamilton. She has pursued her studies chiefly at the art schools in Toronto and Hamilton. While gratefully acknowledging her obligations to other teachers, Miss Borron attributes the measure of success she has achieved, especially in drawing from the antique, chiefly to the excellent taste and admirable instructions of Mr. Cruikshank, of this city. Born at Sault Ste. Marie, and a resident at various times not only of that rising town, but of Port Arthur and upon the Manitoulin Island, Miss Borron's success will doubtless be hailed with pleasure by a large number of friends and acquaintances in all parts of the district of Algoma, as well as by her fellow students in Toronto and Hamilton, and by the people of Collingwood, where Mr. Borron's family at present reside. The exhibition of pictures will be open free to the public for a week. Of the Ainslie branch of the family, John Ainslie (brother of Col. William Ainslie, of the Ninety-third Regiment Highlanders), married our subject's sister, Mary. He was a barrister or W. S., Edinburgh, Scotland. He was also an author of some note, principally scenes in India, Auren Zeebe, or Tales of Alraschid, Ernest Campbell and Antipathy, being among his works.
He emigrated to Boonville, Mo., about 1836, and was drowned in the Missouri River. His sons, George Ainslie, ex-member of Congress for Idaho, and Mark Ainslie, both now reside in that State, and their grandchildren in Ohio and Tennessee. The children are wealthy, their uncle, Col. William Ainslie, having left them a large estate. Our subject took no part, in the Civil War, regarding it as a most cruel fratricidal strife, in which he as an alien had no right to interfere. The war brought financial ruin to himself and house. He was robbed and plundered of a large amount of valuables, including marriage presents to his wife, family souvenirs, etc., to say nothing of the loss of all mules, horses, and about 270 bales of cotton burned to ashes, for which he got no compensation. Shortly afterward he saw in New Orleans August, 1864, that cotton sold at $2.05 a pound, or about $1,000 a bale in greenbacks. He passed through the lines of both contending armies at this time in order to make claim against the government for indemnity, and to oblige a friend, conveyed in a belt around his body $42,000 in United States treasury notes, for parties in New Orleans, an undertaking that might have cost him his life, but he delivered it safely. The longevity of this family is remarkable. John Arthur Borron attained the age of seventy-two years, the aggregate of his six children now living (two dead) is 588, total of the eight children 660 years. Of these six surviving children one lives in Missouri, one in Ohio, one in Louisiana, two in Canada, one in London, England. The sons of the latter are mostly in Australia. Though their lots are cast in different portions of the earth, far apart, may their career be onward and upward, carrying aloft the standard of Christianity and a good name. Our subject is the youngest of his father's sons living, and will be sixty-nine years July 9, 1891, fifty-one years of this period in Louisiana, including twenty years' permanent residence in New Orleans, 1839-59, passing safely through many terrible visitations of yellow fever and cholera. He is now hail and hearty, without ache or pain, and can follow active pursuits on the farm with little fatigue, although exposed to the blaze of the sun. His five boys are also stalwart and active, working with him on the farm. This explodes the assertion that the South is not adapted to White labor.
Ira Bowman, M. D. Although a young man, Dr. Bowman is already quite well known to the people of this section, for since entering the practice of medicine in 1886, he has made many noted cures, and his practice at all times has been successful. He was born in Clinton, La., in 1861, but the principal part of his literary education was received in Baton Rouge, under the able instruction of Prof. McGruder, after which he entered the pharmaceutical department of the Vanderbilt University of Nashville, Tenn., from which he was graduated. After working as a pharmacist for two years, he once more entered Vanderbilt University, this time graduating from the medical department in 1886. He soon after came to Lecompte, and here has built up a paying practice, owing to his strict attention to business, his ability and intelligence.
Dr. Bowman is much in love with his profession, aside from the money which it brings in, for his practice extends among the poorer classes as well as the wealthy. He is reasonable in his prices, courteous and gentlemanly at all times, and may truly be said to be the rising physician of this locality. He is a member of Alexandria Lodge of the A. F. & A. M. His parents, E. J. and Cornelia (Germany) Bowman, were born in South Carolina and Georgia, respectively, but the former received the principal part of his rearing in Louisiana. He studied law in the city of New Orleans, becoming an able practitioner. He built the house in Lecompte and is also the owner of other valuable property.
Daniel Brewer, of New York nativity has, from the date of his birth in 1824, resided in a number of different States, but the most of his time has been spent in New York and Louisiana, his residence in the former dating to 1848, the common schools, of which favored him with a good education. His first removal from the place of his birth was to Wisconsin, thence to Illinois, from which he started to Texas in 1851, but after reading Alexandria, La, his finances were at such a low ebb that he was compelled to remain here, and begin working at his trade, that of a wheelwright. A liter following this calling until 1852, he began overseeing for C.C.C. Martin, remaining with him until 1835, when he began working in the same capacity for Ralph Smith, working on the R. R. R. R, from Alexandria to Lecompte, continuing eight years. He was not in active service during the war, but was a receiver of tithes for the Confederate Government in Texas. He returned to this State after the close of the war and settled near Lecompte, engaged in farming but had very hard luck, got discouraged, and went to the hills, where he lived fourteen years, being engaged in the raising of cotton, corn and stock. At the end of this time he returned to Lecompte, and purchased 100 acres of land which he has since been engaged in cultivating. He was married in 1856, to Miss Esther S. Moore, who was born near Cheneyville in 1832, and to them seven sons find seven daughters have been born: Kenneth (who died at the age of twenty-eight years), Jester (who also died at that age), Mary (who died after becoming grown). Alice (who died in Indiana), and Daniel (who died at the age of five years). Those living are Susie, Ralph, John, Eunice, Hull, Lillie, Evie, Octavia and Arthur. Mr. Brewer became a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, when eighteen years of age at Schenectady, N. Y., and has reared his children to be a credit and honor to the community. He is a son of Lewis find Mary (McClure) Brewer, both natives of New York, and the former au old-line Whig.
Dr. F. N. Brian, physician and druggist, Boyce, La. It is to the skill and science of the druggist that suffering humanity looks for alleviation of pain. The physician may successfully diagnose, but it is the chemist who prepares the remedy. When, therefore, as in the case of the gentleman whose name forms the subject of this sketch, the two professions, namely that of the physician and druggist, are combined, how doubly important becomes the establishment conducted by Dr. F. N. Brian. This gentleman was born in Caldwell Parish, La., on March 7, 1860, find is a son of Francis and Saloma E. (Cesser) Brian, natives of South Carolina and Mississippi, and born in 1805 and 1822, respectively. Mr. Brian was well educated in South Carolina, and in 1838 removed to Louisiana, where he engaged in planting on quite an extensive scale. He was the owner of seventy-five slaves at the beginning of the war, and was quite wealthy. He was a Royal Arch Mason, and was a member of the Missionary Baptist Church. He died on February 25, 1860.
Mrs. Brian, who is a member of the same church, is still living and makes her home with her son, Dr. F. N. Brian. The latter completed a classical education at A. & M. College, at Baton Rouge, La. After leaving school he went in a drug store for two years at Winnfield, La., and then attended the medical department of the University of Louisiana (now Tulane College), at New Orleans for three years, completing his course and receiving a diploma in March, 1884. After this he continued to practice at Winnfield three years, or until April, 1887, when he removed to Boyce, where he has since resided. He is now considered the leading physician of this section, and has a lucrative practice. In the whole list of professions there are no two usually kept distinct that admit of more satisfactory blending than that of the physician and druggist, and Dr. Brian, in his dual capacity, has been very successful. He is medical examiner for the New York Mutual Life Insurance Company, and also for the K. of H. at this place.
He is also local surgeon for the Texas & Pacific Railroad. On December 25, 1882, he was married to Miss Geneva Dickerson, daughter of W. H. and Elizabeth (Jackson) Dickerson, natives of South Carolina and Louisiana, respectively. Mrs. Brian died in July, 1885, and the Doctor was married the second time on July 5, 1888, to Miss Clemie Jones, daughter of Matthew and Cecelia (McElroy) Jones, who were born in Tennessee and Louisiana, respectively. Mr. Jones was a planter and stock raiser; he died in 1863. Mrs. Jones is still living in Boyce. Dr. Brian is a member of the Masonic fraternity, Eastern Star Lodge No. 151 but is also a member of the K. of H , Enterprise Lodge No. 3552, at Boyce. He is a member of the Missionary Baptist, and his wife a member of the Episcopal Church.
Robert Wilton Bringhurst a lifetime of hard, earnest endeavor, in pursuing the various occupations in which he has been engaged, coupled with strict integrity, honesty of purpose and liberality, has tended to place Mr. Bringhurst among the highly honored and successful men of Rapides Parish. He was born in Alexandria, La., December 13, 1840, and was a very sedate and precocious youth during his early years. At the age of nine years he was put to school and was taught the rudiments of his education in his native town, but at, the age of twelve years he was enrolled as a day scholar in the Rapides High School, under the tutorship of Luther Fay Parker, and at fourteen years of age, in company with an elder brother, he was sent to Alexandria, Va., High School, which was under the able management of Caleb S. Hallowell, a Quaker of much erudition and strict discipline. His career in this institution was marked by rapid progress, for he not only applied himself diligently to his studies, but, he possessed an active mind, quick to grasp new ideas, and a retentive memory, and although he was sufficiently mischievous not to be termed a mollycoddle, he was not in the least vicious, and was consequently a favorite with his instructors. From this school he was graduated and sent to Union College, Schenectady, N. Y., where he entered the sophomore year in the civil engineering department under the immediate instruction of Prof. William M. Gillespie, and at the age of nineteen years, in his second term, he graduated as a civil engineer. He then returned to his native home and State and was at once appointed assistant engineer on the New Orleans, Opelousas & Great Western Railroad (now the Texas & Pacific), then under construction, the building of which was soon put, a stop to by the opening of the Rebellion. The beginning of a life full of ambition and impatient to enter upon the real duties of life was nipped in the bud, and the hardening scenes of four years' service as a soldier totally changed the plans of his life. Although repugnant to his nature to become a soldier, in 1861 he enlisted in the Confederate service in the Army of Tennessee, at Corinth, Miss., and very soon after became attached to the engineers' corps under Gen. Ruggles.
In 1863 he was assigned to service in the engineers' department west of the Mississippi River as second lieutenant of engineers in the Red River Valley, afterward becoming first lieutenant of engineers with Gen. Sterling Price, and was acting chief of the engineers' department, of Arkansas at Camden. Notably among his engineering accomplishments were the Sugar Cooler pontoon bridge across the Atchafalaya River over which Gen. Taylor's army crossed, Yellow Bayou and Boota Bayou bridges, Cane. River pontoon bridge, the fortifications at Doolie's Ferry and at Fulton, Ark., and the pontoon and equipage for Gen. Price's march to Missouri. Mr. Brinhurst's military career closed at, Navasota, Tex., after which he returned home and was commissioned parish surveyor almost immediately, a position he filled with satisfaction to all. He engaged in planting, but has also been United States deputy surveyor and real estate agent. In 1869-70 he owned and operated a saw mill, but this occupation not proving at all remunerative he abandoned it and. has since given his attention to the above mentioned calling. His life, up to the present time, has been very active, therefore a healthy one and although he is now forty-nine years of age he is in full vigor of manhood, and is blessed with a fair amount of this world's goods, fully sufficient to keep the wolf from the door. He always indorses every word and act that leads to progression and civilization, is a man of very superior natural endowments, which have been strengthened and enriched by the highest culture. His mind is dear, concise and well poised, and being of quick perception, what might cost others hours of study he reaches at a bound, and the reasons for his views are always clear and well defined.
He is highly esteemed in social circles, and being kind, generous and hospitable, he wins many friends and rarely loses any. At the age of twelve years, his father, Augustus L. Bringhurst, who was born in Germantown, Penn. (now Philadelphia), died, and was buried with Masonic honors. He possessed a wise Christian mother, who was Mary E., daughter of Capt. William Waters, one of the early pioneers to Louisiana from Mason County, Ky., who devoted herself to the education of her five sons, and nobly did she I fulfill every duty. She died in 1880, in full communion with the Methodist Episcopal Church.
The Bringhursts are of German descent, a member of the family coming from Germany to this country many years ago and settling in Pennsylvania. The family are noted for their excellent constitutions, their longevity and morality. The subject of this sketch was married in New Orleans November 25, 1865, to Miss Judith Taliaferro Leckie, and their happy union thus far has been blessed in the birth of nine children, eight of whom are now living. Mr. Bringhurst's motto is, "Be true to God, to his fellow-man and to himself. Be sure you fire right and then go ahead." Capt. William J. Calvert, a grandson of the late Gov. Joseph Walker, of this State, is the superintendent of the city schools of Alexandria. La. His entire life has been passed in Rapides Parish, for here he was born June 11, 1840, and he has always enjoyed the reputation of being honest and upright in every respect, fully deserving the good opinion with which he is regarded by all who know him. His parents, William J. and Minerva M. (Walker) Calvert, were also born in this State, and the former was a planter by occupation, and an active man in public matters. At his death, which occurred in the latter part of 1839, he was serving in the capacity of parish sheriff. His father, Anthony Calvert, was a Mississippian, a planter, and was a lineal descendant of Leonard Calvert (Lord Baltimore).
Capt. William J. Calvert first acquired a thorough knowledge of the common branches in the schools at home, but afterward supplemented this with a regular collegiate course at Emmetsburg, Md., in Mount St. Mary's College, but while attending this institution, the mutterings of war began to resound through the land, and he immediately returned to his home, and joined the Confederate Army, serving throughout the entire war. He entered as a private, but the year following his enlistment be was made captain of a company he assisted in raising. After the war he followed clerking for some time, and also acted as bookkeeper with different firms, but afterward turned his attention to planting, and still later began teaching school. He made a wise and successful educator, and was a strict disciplinarian. He is a member of the A. O. U. W., and for two terms has been a police juror, a portion of the time acting as president of that body. He was married in Baton Rouge, to Miss Lavinia Rentrop, of St. Mary's Parish, daughter of Valsin and Henrietta (Knight) Rentrop, and of their union three sons have been born: William J., Elmer Z. and Charles M. Mr. and Mrs. Calvert are regular communicants in St. Francis Xavier Church.
J. B. Carnal, general merchant, Lecompte, La. Mr. Carnal is au example of the success attending hard work and honest dealing, and his trade is solidly established and reaches over the surrounding country. He carries an excellent and select stock of general goods, and is pleasant and agreeable to his patrons as well as to all with whom he comes in contact. He is a native of Lecompte, La., his birth occurring in 1857, and received his education at Pass Christian College, Miss. After this he went to Baltimore, Md., and was first engaged in a stationery and then a shirt-house for some time, and then came to Lecompte, where he remained on the farm with his father. He first became connected with mercantile pursuits in his father's plantation store and in the store of Mr. Hardy. He continued in this store, getting a share of the profits, and then purchased a store, which he carried on for five years. He then moved his stock of goods to Lecompte. He started with limited means and has built up his present business by his own exertions, doing an annual business of $60,000. He keeps a bookkeeper, three clerks and a porter besides himself. He does a good jobbing trade with the county merchants. He is a good business manager and is competent in every way to take charge of the large trade which he now enjoys. He is a son of Reuben H. and Louisa (Brunat) Carnal, the father born in the same house as our subject, and the mother in Baton Rouge. Reuben H. Carnal was reared in Rapides Parish, was a largo slave owner before the war and an extensive sugar planter. He was a heavy loser during the war. but managed to raise his family in a comfortable manner after the war. He was a graduate of the Philadelphia Medical College, and during the war he served as a physician. After inheriting his father's plantation he did not practice his profession again until the time of the war, and through that period only. The mother of our subject is living and resides on the plantation.
Of the nine children born to their union. our subject is the eldest, and all but one tire now alive. The main store building in which our subject does business is 65x25 feet, one warehouse of the same size, and two other warehouses. He carries a stock of goods valued at about $15,000. He is an instance of a truly progressive Southern gentleman, public spirited, enterprising and has made all he has by his own individual efforts. In polities he is Democratic.
Daniel C. Clark is a general merchant of Lecompte, and although he has had to make his own way in the world, and is now only in the prime of life, he has done well financially, and is now in independent circumstances. He was born in this parish in 1855 to Dr. Kenneth M. and Martha T. (Carnal) Clark, and in this parish received his early education and roaring, afterward entering the Christian Brothers College of Mississippi, in which institution he remained for over two years. He remained with his parents until he was grown, at which time he entered the mercantile business, a calling he is still successfully pursuing, employing one clerk. He owns the building in which he does business besides other property, and is a gentleman who has always supported the men and measures of the Democratic party, although he does not aspire to office. His mother was born in Rapides Parish, La., in 1827, and received her education in Baltimore, Md., and in New Jersey. At about the age of seventeen, her education being completed, she returned to Louisiana, and here met and married Dr. Kenneth M. Clark, their union taking place in this parish in October, 1852. Dr. Clark was born, reared and educated in the Old North State, but after his removal to Louisiana he began practicing medicine in the pine wood for several years, continuing for several years after his marriage. In 1872 he removed to Lecompte and being a physician of much merit he soon acquired a wide spread reputation and a very large practice, accumulating thereby an excellent property. He was left at home to practice his calling during the war, and was following this as his life work when death overtook him May 8, 1882. A family of eight children in time gathered about their hearthstone, their names being as follows: Walter, David, Betsey, Reuben, Smith, Kenneth, Clane and Rosa.
The mother of these children is residing in Lecompte, La., and is a daughter of Reuben and Elizabeth (Williams) Carnal, both of whom were born in North Carolina, moving to Louisiana after their marriage and making their home here the rest of their lives, the father being a successful agriculturist. The grandfather, Carnal, died before Mrs. Clark was born, and her mother's father, Gen. William Williams, was au extensive slave owner and cotton planter of North Carolina and was of Scotch descent. The Clark family are members of the Episcopal Church.
C. C. Cleveland, of the firm of Cleveland Bros., general merchants of Lena, La., is a successful business man, and one who is making great headway in mercantile affairs. He was born in Rapides Parish, La., in 1854, and is a son of Benjamin and Martha Carosca Cleveland, natives of the Bayou State. Benjamin Cleveland removed with his parents to Rapides Parish, La., while young, and followed agricultural pursuits for a livelihood. He died in 1864, but his widow is still living, and makes her home at Lena. C. C. Cleveland received a good liberal education in Rapides Parish, and in 1886 entered into partnership with his brothers, Thomas and Eli, in the mercantile business in Lena. This they have since continued, and are meeting with great success, their annual business being about $25,000. They carry a large and fine stock of dry goods, groceries, queens ware and general supplies, and have built up a prosperous trade. They are considered the shrewdest business men in this section, and no business men have a better reputation for fair dealing and honest goods. C. C. Cleveland was married in 1876 to Miss Mary Sneed, daughter of Clinton Sneed of this State. and to them has been born one child, a daughter. Both Mrs. Cleveland's parents are deceased.
A. G. Compton, a prominent citizen and a successful planter of Rapides Parish, is a native-born resident of this parish, his birth occurring in 1832. His parents, John and Amelia (Baillio) Compton, were natives of Maryland and Louisiana, respectively, the former born in 1769. The father left his native State in 1799, came to Louisiana, and was engaged in planting the remainder of his days. At the time of his death, which occurred in 1850, he was one of the most extensive and wealthiest, planters in the parish, being worth fit least $1,000,000. He was in the War of 1812, and participated in the battle of New Orleans. The mother died in 1859. A. G. Compton was educated principally in Virginia and Kentucky, and graduated from Center College at the dose of 1853. After completing his education he returned to Louisiana, and devoted his time to the management of his estate. In 1855 he was married in Harrodsburg, Ky., to Miss Bettie, daughter of Maj. Joseph Taylor, a native of Kentucky, an eminent lawyer and a man of State reputation. Her mother's maiden name was Georgiana Timberlake. Mr. Compton is a public-spirited citizen, but is averse to mixing up with political squabbles. He is a member of the Farmers' Alliance at Alexandria, and is a man of sound practical judgment. His marriage resulted in the birth of two children, a son and daughter. Mrs. Compton died in 1860, and nine years later Mr. Compton married Miss Martha, daughter of Dr. Thomas H. Maddox. Three children were the fruits of this last union. Mr. Compton is deeply interested in educational matters, and his children are all favored with every advantage for a good schooling.
J. L. Connella. Personal popularity, it can not be denied, results largely from industry, perseverance and dose attention to business, which a person displays in the management of any particular branch of trade, and in the case of Mr. Connella this is certainly true, for whatever work he had to do he did with fill his heart. He was born in Montgomery County, Ala., on February 14, 1840, to Levin M. and Sarah A. (McQueen) Connella, who were born in Maryland and South Carolina in 1800 and 1815, respectively. The father was born in Chestertown, Md., on February 20. 1800, and the mother in Montgomery County, Ala., on September 23, 1815. He was left an orphan in his early boyhood, and when about fifteen years of age he removed to South Carolina, in which State he received the most of his education, marrying there, on March 19, 1818, Miss Sarah A. Cooper, of South Carolina, who died on February 15, 1834. That year he moved, with his three children, to Montgomery County, Ala. On July 25, 1837, he married Miss Sarah A. McQueen, and in 1847 came to Ouachita Parish, La., where he raised a large family, and died on November 7, 1871, his widow passing from life in Ouachita Parish on September 13, 1870, both being members of the Baptist Church. While a resident, of South Carolina his attention was given exclusively to farming, but after his removal to Alabama be conducted a mercantile establishment in connection with his agricultural pursuits. J. L. Connella obtained the greater part of his education in this State, and completed his knowledge of books in Howard College, Marion, Ala. After leaving college he began pedagogue in Louisiana, and, in June, 18(51, he enlisted in Company A, Third Texas Cavalry, Confederate States Army, and served in the Trans-Mississippi Department taking part in the battles of Wilson's Creek (Mo.), August 10, 1861, and Chustahnahlah (Ind. Ty.), on December 26, 1861, being wounded by a gunshot, and being unable to participate in the battle of Pea Ridge, which occurred a few weeks later.
He was so seriously disabled that he was discharged. He had recovered sufficiently, however by 1864 to re-enlist in the service, and was assigned to duty in the quartermaster's department, in which he served until the war was over. He was at Marshall, Tex., at the time of the surrender, and was paroled at Alexandria. After his return home he resumed teaching, which he continued until 1869, when he was married to Mrs. Jessie B. Jones, a daughter of Alexander Edgar. At the time of his marriage he was a professor in Soule's Commercial College at New Orleans. Mr. Connella is a well known man throughout this section, for he has taken a deep interest in public affairs, and is ever ready to help in a deserving cause. He has several times, declined a nomination to the State Legislature, at the hands of the Democratic party; is one of the foremost and active leaders of that party in Rapides Parish, and is considered a splendid orator by those who have heard him on the stump. He has au enviable reputation as a moral, straightforward man, and he may well be proud of the position he occupies in the estimation of the citizens in this locality.
Thomas Crawley, mayor of Alexandria, La. The above name is familiar to the people of Rapides Parish, for it is borne by a man who has taken a prominent interest in her affairs, who has been honest and upright and whose life has been without reproach in his intercourse with his fellowmen. He was born in the parish of Drogheda, August 28, 1849, and is a son of James and Anne (Boylan) Crawley, who emigrated from their native land of Ireland to America about 1850, the father dying while en route. The widowed mother finally drifted to Rapides Parish, La., and here the subject of this sketch grew to mature years, his early educational advantages being not of the best. While still a lad he entered the office of the Bed River American and began learning the printer's trade, completing his knowledge of the work in the office of the Constitutional, afterward becoming identified with the Democrat. His ability, intelligence and executive ability soon began to be recognized, and in 1870 he was elected to the office of city marshal and collector, a position he held about eight years, discharging his duties in a manner that showed that the people's confidence in him was not misplaced. Between 1880 and 1884 he conducted the We the People for some time, but in January, 1885, was elected to the position of mayor of Alexandria and has held the office continuously since, a fact that speaks louder than words can do as to his popularity and executive ability. He served as chief of the fire department for some time, and was a delegate to the last gubernatorial convention at Baton Rouge. At present he is a member of the executive committee of the parish, and it can with truth be said that no man takes a deeper interest in the progress and development of the same than he.
Dr. James A. Cruikshank is a practicing physician and planter of Rapides Ward, and was born in this parish in 1839, being a son of Dr. Robert and Martha E. (Texada) Cruikshank, who were born in Maryland and Louisiana, in 1810 and 1821, respectively. The father was a graduate of Washington College, Maryland, and also graduated from the medical department of the university of that State, and after completing his course, came to Rapides Parish, La., and devoted his time to the practicing of his profession, and also to planting.
He was a member of the Episcopal Church, and died in 1.880, his widow still surviving him, making her home with the subject of this sketch, who graduated from the same literary and medical institutions that his father had. He has been one of the leading practitioners of Rapides Parish since that time, and his success has been acknowledged by all, his home being sixteen miles west of Alexandria. During the Rebellion he was assistant surgeon in the Crescent Regiment, and after his return home, was married, in 1866, to Miss Isabella, daughter of Josias and Elizabeth (Cruikshank) Ringgold, both of whom were born in Maryland, the former being an extensive farmer in Kent County. Mrs. Cruikshank died in 1883, and in 1890 the Doctor was married to Julia, a daughter of Frank and Cecelia (McIntosh) Dunnam, both natives of the Creole State. Dr. Cruikshank has, for many years, served as a member of the school board, and is now a member of the Parish Democratic Executive Committee. Of his first union two sons were born: Robert J. and James A. Judge Henry L. Daigre, attorney at law, abstractor and land agent of Alexandria, La. The magnitude of the business in which Mr. Daigre is engaged, and the activity of the market, has enlisted the services of many of the most responsible men in this section, and among the number is Mr. Daigre, of whom it is but just to say that his good name is above reproach, and that he has won the confidence and esteem of all who know him.
His life, like that of the truly self-made man, has been quite interesting, and a few facts connected with his early career will not be out, of place. He was born in Pointe Coupee Parish, La., December 23, 1832, to Louis and Isabella (Jewell) Daigre. the former of whom was born in Paris, France, about 1807, and the latter in Virginia, about 1812. The father was educated in his native city, and shortly after he left school and before be arrived at years of maturity, he came to the United States and settled in Louisiana, and the remainder of his life was devoted to planting. The maternal grandfather of the subject of this sketch was a native German, aid both his parents were Catholics, his father dying in Louisiana, in 1839, and his mother in 1852, Judge Henry L. Daigre received his education in La Grange College, Oldham County, Ky., and after leaving school he read law with Alfred Hennen, of New Orleans. He was admitted to the bar before the Supreme Court of that city in 1857, and practiced his profession until the opening of the Rebellion, when he organized Company H. Col. John Scott, First Louisiana Cavalry, was assigned to the Tennessee Department, and was in many important and bloody battles, serving faithfully until the close of the war, being mustered out as captain, although he had entered as second lieutenant. He received two quite severe wounds, one in the groin, and the other in his right hand, but was unfitted for duty for about only two mouths.
He was paroled at Baton Rouge, in the spring of 1805, and the following year removed to Alexandria, where he has since resided. He was married in October, 1866, to Miss Sarah Corinne Einggold, a daughter of Jacob and Harmeline (Baillio) Ringgold, the father being a cousin of the distinguished Maj. Ringgold, of Mexican War fame. In 1871 Mr. Daigre was appointed parish judge, to fill au unexpired term, and the following year he was elected to this office, and has served six years. Since that time, however, he has devoted his attention exclusively to the practice of his profession, coupled with real estate, and has met with well deserved success. He is a member of Oliver Lodge he remained for eight months. He then joined Gen. No. 84, of the A. F. & A. M., of Alexandria, and ' Taylor, and was honorably discharged at the close.
P. V. David is a grocer of Pineville, and does a large annual business, his trade, although now very large, being continually on the increase. He was born in this parish in 1855, was reared here, and as a result be is known over a wide extent of territory, and as a man of business not a shadow has been advanced derogatory to his reputation. In his early youth he attended the common schools, acquiring a good practical education, and continued to make his home with his father until the death of the latter in 1883, when he started out in be and his family, which consists of his wife and ten children, six sons and four daughters belong to the Catholic Church.
Andrew David, postmaster at Pineville, La., and one of the representative citizens of the place, is a native of Rapides Parish, La., his birth occurring in 1842, and is a son of John and Sarah A. (Bradley) David, the father a native of Bordeaux, France, and the mother of Tennessee. The father came to America about 1825, located first in Natchitoches Parish and subsequently in Rapides Parish, where he received his final summons. He was a life for himself, opening up a grocery establish merchant and was engaged in this business at the time of his death. He opened his present business house in time of his death. His wife, whom he married in August, 1889, and his establishment is well fitted this parish, is still living, and resides with her sons, and his stock of goods large and select. He in this place. Her children, nine in all, three daughters and six sous, seven now living, the eldest boy and girl both deceased. Andrew David attained his growth in Rapides Parish, received his education in the common schools, and has been engaged in merchandising from early boyhood. About 1880 he engaged in business for himself and runs a general store. He is also the owner of a farm near the city. He was married in New Orleans, October 24, 1800, to Miss Ann Hyman, a native of Rapides Parish, born in December, 1849, and died in 1882. Seven children were the fruits of this union, six now living: Dolores, John W., Thomas E., Gertrude, Robert A., Julia M. and Agnes (deceased). Mr. David's second marriage was to his sister-in-law, Miss Elizabeth Dorothy Hyman, and to them have been born four children, as follows: Elizabeth D., Hyman P., Lydia A. owns two good business houses and one dwelling house in Pineville, and also has an interest in the old family estate. He has established a safe and remunerative trade, find by dose attention to business, together with the reasonable prices at which he disposes of his goods, has built up his present commercial standing. He was reared a Catholic, is a Democrat in politics, and takes an active interest in the different affairs of this parish. For a history of his parents see the sketch of Andrew David.
George Dorman has, during life, followed a number of different occupations, but since 1874 his attention has been devoted to planting and stock-raising on the land on which he is now residing. He has adhered closely to this calling, has given strict attention to every detail, and is now considered one of the representative men of (who died September 3, 1890, at the age of three in the parish. He was born in Connecticut in 1830, years, one month and nine days), and Nellie Sibina. to James and Mary (Towville) Dorman, both of Mr. David and family are members of the Roman whom were also born in the Nutmeg State. The Catholic Church. Mr. David was made postmaster father was a farmer. He died in 1870, and his of Pineville, La., in August, 1885, during President wife in 1869. George Dorman was a bright and Cleveland's administration, and he still holds that enterprising youth, and at the early age of four position to the satisfaction of all. In 1861 he in teen years he left the State of his birth and entered the Confederate Army, and served until the grated westward, but after a residence of one year close, participating in two engagements during in Iowa, he removed to the Lone Star State, where that time: Belmont, Mo., and Shiloh. After the last named battle he returned to his home, where he remained five years. At the end of this time he came to Rapides Parish, La., and at different times has engaged as engineer on steamboats, also in saw, sugar and grist, mills, etc. As above stated he has been a planter since 1874, and as this calling is quite congenial to him it will no doubt be his future occupation. His marriage was celebrated in the year 1859, to Miss Ellen Wilson, a daughter of David Wilson. and a family of ten children have been born to them, four of whom are living, three sons and one daughter. Mr. Dorman is president of the Farmers' Union, Neighbors Lodge.
Blakeley C. Duke, merchant, is a native of Georgia, his birth occurring in Heard County on June 18, 1830, his parents, Bailey Clack and Elizabeth (Burgess) Duke, being also born in that State. The father was a planter and trader by occupation, and a soldier in the Indian War. The ancestors on both sides were prominent people of Georgia, and it is presumed were of Scotch Irish descent, and Protestants in religion. in 1842 Bailey Clack Duke removed with his family from Memphis, Tenn., and made a home for them in Avoyelles Parish, La., where he died in 1848, his wife having borne a family of two sons and three daughters. Blakeley C. Duke grew to manhood on his father's plantation, but at the age of eighteen years engaged in mercantile pursuits as clerk in a store in Marksville, and completed a tine knowledge of the business. In 1852 he came to Alexandria, and after clerking for several years for other firms, he engaged in business for himself in 1882, and his subsequent career is au example of the success attending hard work and honest dealing. His trade is solidly established, and reaches far over the surrounding country. He served throughout the Rebellion, in the Confederate Army, and after the war was over he returned home without a cent with which to commence anew, but, as above seen, he succeeded, and is now far beyond the reach of want. He was married here to Miss Harriet Leckie, a daughter of William Leckie, Esq., and by her is the father of two sons and one daughter: Charles Scott, Leon and Susie. The family worship in the Episcopal Church, and he has been a member of the school board of Alexandria, was police juror, and is the present city treasurer. He was one of the original stockholders of the Rapides Bank.
Wen. Herman Cope Duncan, Alexandria, La., is descended from along line of illustrious Scotch ancestry, his paternal great-grandsire being a leading promoter of the scheme to place Charles Edward, the last, of the Stuarts, on the united throne of England and Scotland, and because of his prominence, after the disastrous battle of Culloden, he was banished and his estates confiscated. Upon reaching America he settled in Massachusetts, and while there took part in the "Boston Tea Party." Subsequently he removed to Central Pennsylvania, and afterward to Washington, Mason County, Ky., several of his sons becoming distinguished in the Black Hawk War. His son, David Duncan, at one time resided near New Madrid, Missouri Territory, and here Greer Brown Duncan, the father of the subject of this sketch, was born, his birthplace being afterward annexed to the State of Kentucky by the violent earthquake of, 1811, which changed the course of the Mississippi River. Greer Brown Duncan was educated in Augusta College, Kentucky, and upon completing his course he studied law with Judge A. Kinney, of Terre Haute, Intl., and was admitted to the bar of that place in December, 1830. Subsequently he removed to New Orleans, and, owing to his tine mental qualities, he obtained a high rank in the social and political circles of that place.
His universally successful defense of the property owners against the claims of the celebrated Myra Clark Gaines, and his advocacy of the rights of the cities of New Orleans and Baltimore in the matter of the McDonough estates, tended to add greatly to his distinction. Daniel Webster said, in addressing the Supreme Court of the United States in the former suit, that the argument used by Mr. Duncan was so exhaustive that he could add nothing to it. Mr. Duncan was a prominent member of the vestry of Christ Church of New Orleans, a prominent organizer of the diocesan councils, and a representative of the diocese in the general (national) convention. On October 1, 1845, he was married to Mary Jane, daughter of Herman Cope, of Baltimore, who was for many years treasurer of the general (national) convention of the Protestant Episcopal Church. Their only child is the subject of this sketch, who was born August 12, 1846. He was left an orphan at an early age, his mother dying January 9, 1856, and his father June 25, 1858. He was prepared for college at the Episcopal Academy of Philadelphia, Penn., and graduated with honors in the University of Pennsylvania in 1867.
Having given up the profession of law, for which calling he had begun to tit himself, he decided, in his junior years at college, to prepare himself for the ministry, but deferred his application to be received as a candidate, however, until the latter part of 1867, entering the Philadelphia Divinity School in September of that year. He soon discovered that he could make greater progress by pursuing his studies in private, and he accordingly applied for and received an honorable discharge, and by diligence succeeded in passing his examinations nearly two years ahead of his class. He was ordained deacon by the Bishop of Louisiana, J. P. B. Wilmer, D. D., in the Church of the Transfiguration, New York City, October 25, 1868, and the same year was placed in charge of Emmanuel Church, New Orleans, where he officiated fifteen mouths.
During this time he succeeded in paying off a large debt of the parish, his congregation also rapidly increasing in numbers. In 1870 he was made secretary of the diocesan council, to which position he was elected each subsequent year until he left the diocese in 1875, and on his return, in 1881, was once more elected, and is still holding that position. After one of his elections the council adopted resolutions declaring That the thanks of this council are eminently due and are hereby tendered to Rev. Herman C. Duncan for the faithful and able manner in which he has discharged his duties. In December, 1870, he took charge of Calvary Church, New Orleans, where he had to face another large indebtedness, which he also greatly diminished during his ministrations. In this parish, on January 22, 1871, he was ordained priest by the bishop of Louisiana, and in April of the same year he was elected registrar and historian of the diocese. As to his administration while in this office, the following resolutions were adopted by the diocesan council in 1870, after he had left the diocese, which will speak for themselves: Whereas the Rev. Herman Cope Duncan, late registrar and historian, obtained and arranged a most complete and valuable collection of historical documents, to be placed among the archives of this diocese, Therefore he it Resolved, that this council tender to its late registrar and historian its sincere thanks for his long, efficient and untiring service in that capacity.
In 1877 he resigned the charge of Calvary Church, and entered upon a missionary life in the Florida Parishes of Louisiana, spending twenty months in this work, filling eleven appointments each mouth. During this time he was instrumental in causing to be built three churches in Tangipahoa Parish. Grace Church at Hammond being one of the most, ornate, rural churches in the State, was the result of a stimulus of $500 procured by him from an unknown lady friend of New York City. Previous to this the people had felt unable to accomplish anything, but with this help they succeeded in raising a sum sufficient to build a church valued at $3,500. His mission work at this and other places was successful in laying the foundation for that permanent growth of the church which is now being largely realized. In 1873 he was elected a director of the Protestant Episcopal Association, the diocese board of endowment funds. He was at once elected secretary of the board, and while holding this office succeeded in inspiring a renewed zeal in the conduct of the board where before (here bad been so great a want of it that a meeting had to been held for several years.
In 1874 he returned to his old field of labor in the Sixth District of New Orleans. In the meantime a new parish, called St. Mark's Church, had been developed from Emmanuel Church, find of this he took charge. The parish was overwhelmingly in debt, but he succeeded in reuniting the two parishes under the name of St. George's Church, and He left it, at the time of his resignation in October, 1875, unencumbered. In April, 1875, Mr. Duncan was elected trustee of the Church Education Society of Louisiana, and in the same year a member of the board of missions of the general (national) church. In November, 1875, he removed to Illinois, becoming rector of the Bishop Whitehouse Memorial Church of Chicago, which position he held for some nine months, when he returned to New Orleans and took temporary charge of Christ Church, the parent parish of the southwest.
Here he remained during the summer, and was then called to the rector ship of Grace Church, of Kansas City. He was personally unknown to any of the parishioners of this charge, and was elected entirely upon the ground of his reputation. He accepted the invitation and entered upon his duties in October, 1876, and was almost immediately thereafter appointed by the bishop of the diocese, dean of the Missionary District of Kansas City, embracing the counties of Jackson, Platte, Clay, La Fayette, Cass and Johnson. He organized the Convocation January, 1877. Grace Church enjoyed a great degree of prosperity during his administration. Mr. Duncan was elected trustee of St. Paul's College, Palmyra, Mo., September 26, 1878. He resigned the rector ship of Grace Church, Kansas City, March 3, 1880, and entered on his duties as rector of St. James Church, Alexandria, La., April 17, 1880. This church comprehends, besides the congregation of the parish church property, Chapel congregations at, Pineville (Mount Olivet), Lamothe's Bridge (St. John's), Kanomie (Bishop Wilmer Memorial), and Boyce (St. Philip's). During Mr. Duncan's rectorate, a large debt has been paid off St. James Church, a rectory built, a tower to the church erected and many other improvements made, the church consecrated. Mount Olivet Chapel has also been enlarged and consecrated; St. John's Chapel rebuilt, the Memorial Chapel rebuilt and both consecrated; St. Philip's Chapel built, the latter after designs of Mr. Duncan's own drafting. To date, September 15, 1890, there have been, during Mr. Duncan's rectorate, 615 baptisms; 200 persons have been presented for confirmation; 313 persons have been added to the communicant list, and the number of confirmed persons in the parish has been increased from 198 to 347. In 1881 he was elected secretary of the diocese, which office he still holds, and in 1883 was elected to the triennial general convention of the church, being re-elected continuously up to the present time. On the division of the diocese in archidiaconal districts in 1889, he was elected one of the four archdeacons of the diocese.
In 1886 he was appointed secretary of the Commission on Christian Unity of the National Church, and as such is charged with the conduct of the negotiations to that end, with the several Christian bodies of the land. in 1888, after about twenty years' work in collation, he published the history of the diocese of Louisiana. In 1870 he was elected a fellow of the New Orleans Academy of Sciences, and subsequently was made chairman of the scientific section of philology, in which position he filled the usual lecture requirements. He is past master of Jefferson Lodge No. 191, of the A. P. & A. M., of New Orleans, and is past most eminent high priest of Kansas City Chapter. He organized, and was thrice illustrious master of Palace Council No. 21, Royal and Select Masters, of Kansas City, and prelate of Kansas City Commander No. 10, and past grand prelate of the Grand Commander, K. T., of Louisiana.
He has held the office of grand chaplain of the Grand Council of the State of Louisiana, and subsequently also the same position in Missouri. He was elected grand principal conductor of the works of the Grand Council of Missouri in 1879, was appointed chaplain of the Grand Lodge of Louisiana in 1881, and has continued in that office to date. He organized, and was elected high priest of Keystone Chapter, Alexandria, in October, 1887. He was grand scribe of the Grand Chapter of Louisiana in 1880; deputy grand high priest in 1887, and grand high priest in 1888, to which he was reelected in 1889 and 1890. He organized, and was elected master of Summit Council, R. & S. M., in 1888; grand principal conductor of the work of the Grand Council of Louisiana in 1886, and grand master in 1889, being re-elected in 1890. He was elected junior grand warden of the Grand Commander of K. T. of Louisiana, in 1889, receiving his re election in 1890. He was elected chancellor commander of Alexandria Lodge of the K. of P. in 1885, and first master of Pelican Lodge of the A. O. U. V. in 1884, to which latter office he has been continuously re-elected up to date. During the existence of the McEnery government, from 1872 to 1870, Mr. Duncan was chaplain of the Senate of Louisiana. in 1878 he was elected chaplain of Company A, Jackson County (Mo.) National Guards. He was married January 9, 1883, to Miss Maria Elizabeth Cooke, in St. John's Church, Washington, La., and the issue of their marriage has been two children, a daughter (who died fit birth, in 1884), and Greer Assheton (who was born March 31, 1887)-. Mrs. Duncan is the daughter of the late Thomas Alfred Cooke, M. D., and of Frances Pannill. Dr. Cooke was a son of Thomas and Catherine Byrd (Didlake) Cooke, of Gloucester County, Va., find Mrs. Cooke was a daughter of David and Frances Assheton (Wikoff) Pannill, the latter being the grand-daughter of Ralph Assheton, a provincial councilor of Pennsylvania, and the first lawyer to settle in that province. He was a descendant of Sir John de Assheton, of Assbeton under Lyne, Salford Hundred, Lancashire, England, who was made a Knight of the Bath at the coronation of Henry IV.
The mother of Frances Assheton Wikoff was a daughter of Frances Assheton and Stephen Watts, who was fifth in descent from Sir Thomas Watts, Lord Mayor of London in 1600. Mr. and Mrs. Vatts removed to Louisiana in 1774, and Mr. Watts was afterward recorder of deeds of the "English Settlement," on the Mississippi River. In character, Mr. Duncan displays much individuality, and it is self evident that he copies from no one, but hews out his own path. The legal acumen necessary to abstruse investigation, he has evidently inherited from his distinguished father, and tenacity of purpose and boldness of enterprise he possesses in an eminent degree, his record showing that he has remarkable executive ability. His power to achieve great things lay in his power to concentrate his thoughts, and to his intense resoluteness, which made him proof against all confusing and diverting influences. He formed at the outset of his career a solemn purpose to make the most and best of the powers which God had given him, and to turn to the best account possible every outward advantage within his reach. This purpose has carried with the assent of the reason, the approval of the conscience, and the sober judgment of the intellect.
M. L. Dunnam, planter, Boyce, La. Mr. Dunnam is one of the most successful agriculturists of the parish, and his career is a fair example of what may be accomplished when a determined will is brought, to bear on any desired object. He started out in life seventeen years ago with very little besides about thirty acres of unimproved land, and is now the owner of 200 acres of excellent land, all under a good state of cultivation and well improved. Few men in this section have been more successful as planters. He is progressive and thorough in the management of his farm, and it needs but a glance over his possessions to indicate to the beholder the quality of farmer that he is. Mr. Dunnam was born in Rapides Parish, La., in 1840, and is the son of Francis J. and C. A. (McIntosh) Dunnam [for further particulars of parents see sketch of Mr. J. Dunnam. He received a common school education in his native parish, and since leaving school has been deeply interested in agricultural pursuits. In 1863 he was taken prisoner by a party of jay hawkers and turned over to the Federal officers, who sent him to New Orleans, where he was in prison six months. After being liberated, he enlisted in the Third Louisiana Cavalry, and served on detached duty until the cessation of hostilities His marriage to Miss A. E. Shaw, daughter of John and M. O. (Laird) Shaw, took place in 1874. Her parents were born in Scotland and Mississippi, respectively, and Mr. Shaw is now farming in Rapides Parish. Both Mr. and Mrs. Dunnam are members in good standing in the Methodist Church. They are the parents of seven children, two sons and five daughters.
Dr. M. E. Fisher, a well known dentist of this section, was born near Evergreen, Avoyelles Parish, La., on February 12, 1850, to J. W. and Mary E. (Peyton) Fisher, who were born in Louisiana and Florida, respectively. The father attained manhood in this State, and was given the advantages of Granville College, of Ohio, but afterward devoted his attention to planting, continuing until the opening of the war, at which time he left the plow to take up arms in defending the Southern cause, serving throughout the entire struggle. Like most other planters of the South, he suffered immense losses during this time, and after returning home he began teaching school, a calling he followed for some years in St. Landry Parish, proving himself an able educator. His wife died in Evergreen in 1871, and in 1880 Mr. Fisher removed to Texas, in which State he was married to Mrs. Clampitt, of Melican. Tex. He continued the occupation of teaching school in this State until his death, which occurred in 1884. The early education of Dr. M. E. Fisher was received in the private schools of Louisiana, but after attaining his fourteenth year his attention was given to planting in Avoyelles Parish, to which occupation be devoted his entire time until 1882, when he began private studying of dentistry, with the intention of making it a profession, but continued to operate the plantation until 1887. He then entered the Pennsylvania Dental College of Philadelphia, from which institution be was graduated in the month of March, 1889, with high honors. He then practiced his profession at Big Cane, La., until June, 1890, when he removed to Alexandria, where he has built up a practice which is very flattering to his ability. He is a man of remarkably fine physique, a fact which is, no doubt, owing to the active life he has led, as well as to inheritance. He is remarkably handsome, and his countenance bears the impress of that intellectual and social refinement that marks the true gentleman. He has acquired a State reputation as a dentist, and is a man whom all delight to honor.
Joseph Fitzpatrick, manager of Luneburg plantation, Lloyd's Bridge, La. This excellent and much esteemed citizen is of foreign birth, having first seen the light of day in the Emerald Isle in 1842, and he came to the United States when but a lad. He was reared to manhood in Alexandria, and at the breaking out of the war he enlisted in the Confederate Army, serving four years and two months in the Second Louisiana Brigade. He participated in the battles of Malvern Hill and Richmond, all of Gen. Lee's campaigns and was at Appomattox Court House. He enlisted as a private, but so faithful was he in the discharge of his duties that he was first made second sergeant and later second lieutenant. After the war he was engaged in the saw milling business for some time, was then overseer of a plantation near New Orleans for Morris Tasker & Co., of Philadelphia, and carried on this plantation until 1882. He then took charge of Luneburg plantation near Lloyd's Bridge, has 800 acres of sugar cane and cotton, and is a man one can trust and rely upon. He was married in 1880 to Miss Laura Miller and the fruits of this union are four children: Eloise, Joseph, Jr., Mary E. and Laura. The excellent business ability of Mr. Fitzpatrick is recognized by all who know him, and his integrity, expediency and push have placed him in the front ranks as a business man. He is sober and industrious and an American in all his ideas of life. In politics he affiliates with the Democratic party, and takes an interest in county affairs.
James W. Garrett, merchant, Lena, La. Mr. Garrett is one of the prosperous merchants of Rapides Parish, and by his superior management and rare business ability and efficiency he has done not a little to advance the reputation the county enjoys as a commercial center. His parents, William O. and Marinda Lamden Garrett, were natives of Tennessee and South Carolina, respectively, the father a planter of Alabama, and both members of the Missionary Baptist Church.
The mother is now residing in Winn Parish, La. James W. Garrett was born in Alabama in 1832, and when twenty years of age removed to Mississippi, where he was engaged in carpentry for some time. He removed to Louisiana in 1861, and one year later enlisted in Company P, Twenty-seventh Louisiana Regiment Infantry. He operated principally at Vicksburg, Miss. In October, 1862, he was injured in a railroad accident and sent home on thirty days' furlough. He was at home at the time of the surrender on expired furlough. After this he taught school for a short time and from 1869 to 1886 was engaged in planting, four miles west of Lena, in Natchitoches Parish, where he remained until the last mentioned date and then located in Lena, where he has since been successfully engaged in mercantile pursuits. He is a Mason, a member of Robertsville Lodge. In 1850 he married Miss Susannah, daughter of Elijah and Tolitha (Phillips) Edwards, and the result of this marriage was ten children, three sons and seven daughters, one son and five daughters now living. The parents of Mrs. Garrett were born in Georgia and died in Mississippi. Henry Stewart Gossens. The occupation which is now receiving the attention of Mr. Gossens has been his chief occupation the greater part of his life, and it is but the truth to say that, he is thoroughly posted and well informed, and his labors in this direction have contributed very materially to the reputation Alexandria has as a business center. He was born in this city on June 10, 1857, to Louis and Sarah (Stewart) Gossens, who were born in Belgium and Mississippi, respectively.
In early life the father was a printer, which trade he learned in this city, but he subsequently turned his attention to merchandising, and was giving his undivided attention to this occupation, when his death occurred in 1882, at the age of fifty-seven years. He had always been interested in the progress and development of this section, and was also quite active, politically, and tilled many municipal offices in the city. He was a keen, practical man of business and succeeded eminently in getting a large share of the business and the solid confidence of her leading men. Socially he was a Mason. His widow and two sons, Louis F. and the subject of this sketch, survive him. The latter grew to manhood in this section, receiving his scholastic advantages in Alexandria, and his knowledge of mercantile life was acquired in his father's store, he taking entire control of the establishment upon the death of the former. It has greatly advanced in standing and patronage since being under his management, and he has built up an enviable reputation for safe, thorough and reliable transactions in the affairs of every-day life, and has added much to the commercial standing of the place. He has followed in his worthy father's footsteps, and has ever taken a prominent part in public matters, and has served his ward as one of the city aldermen for several years, and has also been marshal and collector of the same. He is a member of the Stonewall Hook & Ladder Company of the fire department of the city, and hits in many other ways shown his interest in the welfare of the place. Miss Julia Sterkse, a native of Alexandria, became his wife, she being a daughter of Joseph and Theresa (Hagendornk) Sterkse.
Personally Mr. Gossens is liberal, generous and high-minded, and be is undoubtedly the soul of honor and kindness of heart. His life has been full of kind and generous deeds, and it can be truly said of him that he never violated a friendship nor forgot a kind action done him. Gen. G. Mason Graham is a well known and highly successful planter of Rapides Parish, and as a man and citizen has not his superior throughout this section of the country. He was born in Fairfax County, Va., on August 21, 1807, to George find Elizabeth (Hooe) Graham, the former born in Prince William, and the latter in King George County, Va., in 1761 and 1759, respectively. The father graduated from Columbia College, New York, and after leaving college practiced law in Prince William County, Va., until his marriage, after which he devoted his whole time to his farm in Fairfax County. In the War of 1812, he was captain of the Fairfax Light Horse Company of State Militia, on the close of which James Monroe, Secretary of State, and acting Secretary of War under James Madison, called him to his assistance in the War Department as chief clerk, in which capacity he served with the principal burden of the War Department on his hands until the inauguration of Monroe as President. He was then made acting Secretary of War under a special act of Congress for that purpose, and served until succeeded by John C. Calhoun. In 1818 Monroe appointed him a commissioner to wait upon Gen. Lallemand, who had a French colony armed and under the French flag in Texas, to ascertain his reasons for such actions. Mr. Graham started upon this journey accompanied by a single servant in June of the same year, from Washington City, and reached the Saline River, where he learned that Gen. Lallemand had removed to Galveston Island. At the Calcasieu River he met with two men in command of a small schooner engaged in smuggling supplies from Latitte into Louisiana.
He engaged them to take him to Galveston Island, where he negotiated with both Gen. Lallimand and Latitte, inducing them to break up their respective establishments and retire from the territory within a reasonable length of time, during which they were each, and their respective followers, to be granted the protection of the United States Government. He returned to Washington in the autumn of the same year, and was made president of the branch of the United States Bank in Washington City, and in 1823 was appointed by President Monroe, commissioner of general land office, and while in this position he died on August 10, 1830. Gen. G. Masson Graham, the immediate subject of this sketch, attended school in Washington City, until 1823, when Mr. Calhoun, Secretary of War, gave him a warrant as cadet at West Point, where he remained until April, 1826, when he resigned to attend the University of Virginia, remaining in this institution till January, 1828, when he removed to Rapides Parish, La., to take charge of a cotton plantation owned by his father, in partnership with Judge Josiah Johnston, on the Bayou Boeuf at the mouth of Bayou La Mourie, now the property of Mrs. Snowden, daughter of Ex Gov. Madison Wells. Gen. Graham was in control of the farm, as partner with Judge Johnston, as his father's administrator until 1833, when the Judge lost his life by the blowing up of the steamboat "Lioness," on Red River, after which the former existing partnership was dissolved, and the property divided. Mr. Graham sold his portion and the same year purchased a farm on the river below Boyce, about two miles, October 2, 1834, he was married to Miss Esther B. eldest daughter of Richard Smith, cashier of the branch of the United States Bank at Washington, and after his marriage resided on the farm until the death of his wife in December, 1835, when he sold out, and the following six years were spent in traveling around. In 1842, in partnership with the late Gen. Horatio S. Sprigg, he purchased 1,500 acres of land where he now resides, and in 1847 was married to the eldest daughter of Capt. Nathaniel and Georgiana (Blanchard Wilkinson, of Rapides Parish.
Mr. Graham was so unfortunate as to lose this wife also, her death occurring in 1855, and Oct. 2, 1807, he was married to Mrs. Stich, of King George's County, Va., who is living on her farm in that State and county. Gen. Graham was in command of Company E, Third Louisiana Regiment, in the Mexican War, but when this regiment was disbanded, after three months, he was invited to join a brigade of the regular army, as volunteer aide-decamp on the staff of Col. John Garland, and with this command was in the battle of Monterey. Mr. Graham's cousin, Richard Graham, who in the Fourth United States Infantry as first lieutenant, received a mortal wound in this battle, and Gen. Graham remained with him till after his death, when he returned home to look after his interests on his farm. This calling received his attention until the war between the States which resulted in a complete wreck of his property, since which time he has not been engaged in any business. In 1800 he was appointed adjutant-general of the State by Gov. Wells, holding this position until the fall of 1808, when, being partially paralyzed from injuries received from a fall of his horse, he resigned the position, and has since lived a retired life. He is the father of four children: Duncan J. (who is engaged in farming in Rapides Parish, with whom the General makes his home), Fergus R. (clerk in a wholesale and retail agricultural and mining machinery and hardware store in Durango, Colo.), Amy B. (wife of David T. Stafford, present sheriff of Rapides Parish), and Caroline H. (who resides with her father and brother in Rapides Parish). In 1853 Gov. Herbert appointed Gen. Graham a member of the board to superintend the building of a seminary of learning and military academy opposite Alexandria, provisions for which had been made by the United States Congress, and of this board he was elected vice-president, Gov. Wells being president ex officio. After the building of the institution, a board of supervisors for the purpose of putting the school in operation, and for its general government was appointed, and of this Gen. Graham was also made vice-president, and through his influence the present Gen. W. T. Sherman was made its superintendent.
The General continued a member of the board until July, 1883, when, feeling the encroachments of age and its attending disabling effects, he resigned. His efforts for the advancement of learning in his State while holding this position were manifest, and he considers this the most beneficial work of his useful public life. Being a man of indomitable willpower and splendid physique, he bore the hardships and privations of war well, and no braver soldier or officer ever trod the crimson turf of a battlefield. His many admirable qualities of heart and head have endeared him to many, while his brilliant mind, and many other superior natural endowments, ranked him as the peer of the majority with whom he came in contact. He at once impressed one as a man of great strength, depth and grasp of mind, and his leading characteristics are extreme frankness, honesty of purpose, indomitable will and integrity. Such men as Gen. Graham are model American citizens. J. E. Grissom, planter, Boyce, La. Mr. Grissom, another prominent planter of Cotile Ward, has followed this occupation for some time, and has accumulated considerable property. To the Creole State he owes his nativity, having been born here in 1852, and his parents, William and Catherine (Norrell) Grissom, were both born in Mississippi, the father in 1820, and the mother in 1819. Mr. Grissom received a common school education in Mississippi, and was married there in 1838. In 1851 be removed to Louisiana, and there followed agricultural pursuits for years. He is at present living with his son, our subject. He is a member of the Methodist Church, of which his wife, who died in 1889, was also a member. J. E. Grissom received the educational advantages of the common country school of Louisiana, and from 1878 to 1887 'Was engaged in merchandising at different places in Rapides Parish. Since that time he has farmed on the place where he now resides near Boyce. in 1878 he was married to Miss Ida M. Neal, daughter of William J. and Annie B. (Werlein) Neal, both natives of Louisiana. Mr. Neal was sheriff of Rapides Parish for twelve years, and to the satisfaction of all. He is still living in Boyce. Mrs. Neal was a finely educated lady, and a graduate of South Hadley Female Institute, Mount Holyoke, Mass. She received her final summons in 1873. Both our subject and wife are members of the Methodist, Church, find are the parents of four children, all girls.
Adolph Hartiens is a prosperous, substantial citizen of this parish. He was born in Alexandria, in 1848, to Charles A. and Mary C. (Gossens) Hartiens, the former having been born in Hamburg, Germany, and the latter in Belgium, about fifty miles from Antwerp. After coming to Alexandria. La., Mr. Hartiens was engaged at different times in merchandising and bookkeeping, and for some years he tilled the position of constable with credit. He died in December, 1849, his widow surviving him and residing in this parish. Adolph Hartiens was fortunate enough to secure a common school education in Rapides Parish, and after assisting his mother until 1862, he went on board a steamboat as assistant engineer, and in 1867 took charge of an engine, and in this business continued until 1887. In this year he was married to Miss Mary C., daughter of William and Mary (Duval) Osborn, the father being surveyor of this parish for several years. He died in 1865. His wife is a niece of Capt. M. Welch, who was born in Ohio, in 1804, and came to this parish in 1819, making the journey from Natchez to Alexandria in a keelboat. He was for some time in an extensive mercantile business at this point, but afterward became captain of a boat on Red River, and its tributaries for nine years, in 1846 purchasing the place on which the subject now resides, on which he was engaged in sugar-making until the opening of the war. From Banks' invasion he suffered a complete loss of property, and is now living on the Welch plantation, which is conducted by Mr. Hartiens. Both the latter and his wife are members of the Catholic Church. They are the parents of two children: Sidney and William Welch. Mr. Hartien's mother is now a Mrs. Mace, and is residing near her son.
Edwin Gardner Hunter, attorney at law of Alexandria, La., was born in this parish September 16, 1852, being a son of Robert Alexander and Sarah Jane (Ford) Hunter, the former of whom was born in Mississippi and the hitter in Kentucky. Robert A. Hunter was, in his earlier life, a planter by occupation, and was a man of much intelligence and was thoroughly posted on all the general issues of his day. He served all through the Mexican War, coming out as colonel of his regiment, and upon the breaking out of the Civil War he entered the service of the Confederate Government and did active and honorable service in the ranks, having declined a commission. He was wounded and captured at Baton Rouge, and was kept a prisoner in New Orleans for eleven months. After the war he completed the study of law, to which he had previously paid some attention, was admitted to the bar and practiced successfully for several years. He was born at Natchez December 20, 1812, and died in Alexandria July 5, 1882, being buried in Pineville Cemetery, his death being lamented by, not only his immediate and sorrowing family, but by all who knew him. He was always active in political matters, and served as a delegate to all the conventions of his time, being a delegate from his district to the famous Baltimore Convention. He represented his district in the Senate also, subsequently became State treasurer, and filled other responsible official positions with marked ability. His leading characteristics were extreme frankness, honesty of purpose, indomitable will and energy, and being full of generosity and charity he rarely suspected others of sordid or improper motives. He was outspoken and bold in his denunciations of what he considered to be wrong. There was no compromise in his nature.
He formed his opinions deliberately, and when they were formed nothing could change him. His wife was born December 9, 1815, died in October, 1852, their marriage having taken place March 10, 1831. The paternal grandfather, Pleasant H. Hunter, was born in Virginia, and after a sojourn of a few years in Mississippi, he came to Louisiana, this being about the year 1815, and here he followed merchandising and planting. The mother was a daughter of Jesse and Dula (Price) Ford, the former a Kentuckian and a farmer by occupation, who settled in Louisiana about 1816. The immediate subject of this sketch is the youngest of three sons and one daughter, the brothers being Benjamin K. and Robert P., and in the parish of Rapides he obtained a good practical education, which he afterward supplemented by a collegiate training, after which he studied law in the State Law School, from which be was admitted to the bar in August, 1873. He served ten years as district attorney, and has also practiced his profession since 1884. He was married here to Miss Lucy Texada, daughter of Louis and Pleasant (Hunter) Texada, pioneers of Louisiana, and to them the following family has been born: Edwin Ford, Allen Texada, Sarah Eliza, Pleasant (who died in youth), Thomas Frith, Louis Hall and Minnie Mag. Mr. Hunter is a member of the Methodist Church and belongs to the A. O. U. W. His wife is a member of the Episcopal Church.
D. V. Hynson is one of the residents of Rapides Parish, La., and he is now industriously and intelligently engaged in looking after his plantation. This parish has always been his home, for he was born here in August, 1845, to Robert C. and Mary (Hunter) Hynson, the former of whom was born in Maryland, in 1795, and the latter in this parish about 1811. In the State of his birth the father grew to manhood and received a good business education, and for several years thereafter was engaged in a counting-house in Baltimore. Becoming tired of the East, he determined to seek a home for himself elsewhere, and in 1817 came to Alexandria, La., where, very soon after his arrival, he began merchandising, as a member of the firm of Wright & Hynson, but his partner was killed in 1827, in the famous Sand Bar duels, in which Mr. Hynson's father-in-law, Dr. Thomas H. Maddox, was also a principal. Subsequently Mr. Hynson became cashier and manager in a branch of the Bank of Louisiana, located at Alexandria, and after severing his connection with this bank he purchased a valuable plantation, on a portion of which the subject of this sketch is residing. Mr. Hynson held many positions of trust in this parish, and in 1845 was elected a delegate to the State Constitutional Convention. In 1875 he made a tour north visiting relatives, but in October of that year he died very suddenly in St. Louis, his widow passing from life on March 24. of the following year, both having been devoted members of the Methodist, Church. in 1863 D. V. Hynson left school to respond to the call, and for some time was a member of the Second Louisiana Calvary, after which he was in Squires' Battalion of Artillery, and served for two years. In 1869 he first began to follow the occupation of planting for himself on the place where he now lives. Miss Delia Maddox became his wife November 21, 1877, and to them two children have been born: Mary Elise and Robert C. Mr. Hynson belongs to Oliver Lodge No. 84, of the A. F. & A. M., of Alexandria, and also the A. O. U. V. of that place. His wife is a member of the Protestant Episcopal Church, and is a daughter of Dr. Thomas H. and Delia (Miller) Maddox, the former of whom was a distinguished physician of this parish, having received his medical education in a college of Edinburg, Scotland. He was born in Maryland in 1792, and died in this parish January IS, 1888.
Pin H. Hynson, planter, Alexandria, La. Mr. Hynson was born in the house where he now resides in Rapides Parish on April 21, 1853, and is a son of Robert C. and Mary (Hunter) Hynson. He attended school for a year in St. Louts, but the principal part of his education was received in Louisiana, having attended school in New Orleans for two years, and the Louisiana State University for three years. Of the seven living children born to his parents he is sixth in order of birth. After leaving school in 1872, he began planting on the place where he now resides, the homestead of the old Hynson plantation, and here he has continued ever since. He was married in 1885 to Miss Sallie Brady, who became his wife on September 22, of that year. Her father, John C. Brady, was born in Ireland and came to New Orleans when a young man. He married Miss Sallie Lacy, mother of Mrs. Hynson, at Bayou Sara, and was at the time engaged on a steamboat on the Mississippi River, as captain. Mrs. Brady was born in Albany, N. Y., and when a child removed with her parents to Louisiana. Pin H. Hynson is a public-spirited man, and is always ready to help a deserving cause. He is a member of the K. of P., at Alexandria, and the A. O. U. W., Pelican Lodge No. 16, of Alexandria. Both Mr. and Mrs. Hynson are members of the Episcopal Church.
R. H. Irvine, of Alexandria, was born in Bastrop, Tex., in 1862, find remained in that State until 1865), when he came with his parents to Shreveport, La., in the fall of that; year. The parents located in Shreveport, La., and there our subject remained in the public schools until nearly grown when be returned to Texas. He first, went to Gonzales and kept a hotel there find at Harwood, Tex., his sister being with him in this business. After this be commenced trading in horses, and as he had followed this business from the time he was nine years of age, he was well posted on all matters pertaining to it. He paid license to trade all the time he was in Shreveport, and after quitting the hotel business he again returned to the stock business as an employee. Later he went to the Black Hills, followed the stock business for four consecutive years, and was the leader in any hazardous undertaking. He had many narrow escapes from death during his career as a cowboy, and has been over the plains four times where Gen. Custer was massacred. He shipped cattle to different companies in Chicago, and was in the stock business nearly five years, becoming thoroughly familiar with the whole western country. After this he was in the saloon business at Provencal, La., for two years, and then went to Boyce, where he kept saloon and hotel for three years. While there he was married to Miss Maggie Barbia, a native of Pineville, and of French descent. After marriage Mr. Irvine abandoned the saloon business and embarked in the grocery business, which he still continues. He owns town property in Boyce and Alexandria, and with his wife owns a 320-acre plantation, forty acres of land joining the town, and besides valuable city property. In politics he is a stanch Democrat. Mrs. Irvine is a member of the Roman Catholic Church. The parents of Mr. Irvine, Capt. E. and Harriet E. (Watson) Irvine, were born in County Tyrone, Ireland, and Tennessee, respectively. The mother was a church member all her life, and was a Christian in every sense of the word. The father was a ship carpenter by trade, and followed steam boating on the Mississippi River and tributaries for thirty years. He was the second or third man of the Red River with a steamboat. He built the Old Mohawk steamer in St. Louis, Mo. The mother is still alive, and visits among her ten children now living. She is young and spry for her years, and has twenty-one grandchildren.
Jacob Irving is now living retired from the active duties of life, but formerly kept an extensive and well-patronized meat market. He was born near Loch Maben, Dunifrieshire, Scotland, July 17, 1814, and although the sons of Scotland are fairly well represented in Rapides Parish, they, with characteristic modesty, do not assume to brilliancy on the forum, yet hold conspicuous places in many pursuits, which makes Rapides Parish a substantial star in the galaxy of Louisiana's many interesting parishes. His parents were David and Mary (Wright) Irving, and on both sides of the family tree there are to be found people of good size, hardy constitutions, long-lived, and tenacious of their religious faith, that of Presbyterianism.
Jacob Irving was the eighth child of a family of six sons and seven daughters. David, a son of the family, came to America and settled at Chillicothe, Ohio, about 1830, and there left a family. William, another member, came here about 1825 or 1826, but eventually located in Rapides Parish but left no family. Jacob came thither in 1831, and after spending one year at Natchez, Miss., he came to Rapides Parish, La., and began life as a butcher, following it successfully until about 1880, when he retired from that business. He was married in 183(5 to Miss Martha Besan, a native of Louisiana and of Rapides Parish and a daughter of John Besan. To them seven sous and eight daughters have been born: Mary (who married Alphonse Cazabat, both being now deceased, leaving one son and three daughters), Stephen (who was married, died in 1807, and left three daughters), John (the father of a son and daughter), Judith (wife of William Cruikshank, of Alexandria, by whom she has three sons and four daughters), Elizabeth (deceased, was the wife of J. J. Broom, of Rapides Parish, and left four sons and four daughters), David (who is married, and has five sous and two daughters), Jeanette (who married James Daniels, and has six daughters and one son), Margaret (who married Louis Abordie, of Pineville, by whom she has one son and two daughters), Jacob (who has a son), and Robert (at home, unmarried). The other members of the family are deceased. Mr. Irving is one of the substantial citizens of Alexandria, and has served as alderman of his ward for eleven different terms.
E. H. Kelsoe, of the firm of Kelsoe & Sandidge, at Boyce, began business at this place in 1887 as one of the firm of J. H. Dawson & Co. In the spring of 1888 they dissolved partnership, and our subject bought the other partner's stock, the latter retiring. In June of 1889 he formed a partnership with Mr. John T. Sandidge, and this firm has continued ever since, under the title of Kelsoe & Sandidge. E. H. Kelsoe, like many of the prominent citizens of Rapides Parish, owes his nativity to Alabama, his birth occurring in 1800, and is a son of James A. and Sarah (Presley) Kelsoe, born in Georgia in 1832, and Alabama in 1830, respectively. The father followed the life of a planter in Alabama, and removed to Grant Parish, La., in 1875, where he now resides. He is a member of the Masonic fraternity, and Mrs. Kelsoe is a worthy member of the Baptist Church. E. H. Kelsoe secured a fair education in the common schools of Alabama and Georgia, and after finishing, began clerking in a general mercantile house in Montezuma, Ga. From there he went to Montgomery, La., farmed one year, and again clerked in a store from 1877 to 1879. He then came to Boyce, where he entered the employ of the firm of which he afterward became a partner. He spent the summer of 1885 in Georgia, but returned in December of the same year. In March, 1885, he was married to Miss Mary A. Borron, daughter of James and Maria (Bonner) Borron, natives of England and Louisiana, respectively. Mr. Kelsoe has served as town council for some time, and is a prominent citizen. He is a member of the K. of H , Enterprise Lodge No. 3552.
Mrs. Kelsoe is a member of the Episcopal Church. Their family consists of three children, all daughters. D. E. Knight. Jr., is a member of the general mercantile firm of W. J. Knight & Bro., of Lecompte, and was born in the parish of Wernon, La., in 1866, in which place he remained until fifteen years of age, at which time he removed to Texas', entering school at Burkville Blum Male and Female College, which institution he attended three years, his time while in that institution not being idly or uselessly spent. He then began clerking in a mercantile establishment belonging to his brother at Elmwood. La., and after remaining with him one year and saving his means, he was again enabled to enter school, this time being an attendant of Robeline Literary School in Natchitoches Parish, attending one year. The following six months he taught the young idea but at the end of this time, after another term of school, he determined to enter business, and in 1888 established himself at Lecompte with a stock of goods valued at, $609, the room he occupies being 20x50 feet. His stock is now valued at some $4,000, and he at all times employs a clerk. His business is established on a cash basis and amounts to about $10,000 annually.
He is also extensively engaged in buying cotton, which be ships chiefly to St. Louis and New Orleans markets, and it will thus be seen that, he is a shrewd and capable business man, with a bright future before him. He owns two lots, two separate buildings, a restaurant being conducted in one of them. Both lots are well situated, the one which he occupies being in the most central part of town. Politically he is a Democrat. His parents. J, C. and Ann (Stevens) Knight, were born in Alabama, the father dying in that State when the subject of this sketch was a child. He was of English descent and a merchant, planter, cotton ginner and miller by calling.
Joseph Levin. In detailing the leading pursuits which are carried on in Alexandria, and which together combine to make up the town's commercial importance, it would be an error to omit, mention of the establishment conducted by Mr. Levin, which was founded in 1884. Mr. Levin was born in Minck, Poland, April 19, 1850, to Leon and Etta (Halpirind) Levin, worthy people of that, place, who reared their children well. Joseph received his scholastic training in his native land and afterward engaged in the manufacture of tar and turpentine, and this occupation continued until his removal to the United States in 1874, first, taking up his abode in Philadelphia, after which he sought the city of New Orleans, where it had been his intention to settle from the first. He engaged in business immediately, and carried on a successful work throughout the country, but from 1875 until 1884 was engaged in the general merchandise business at Jeanerette, La. He then sold his interests there on account of the yellow fever, and came to Alexandria, where he has managed his present business with very satisfactory results up to the present time. He was married in Kenneyville, La., in 1880, to Miss Agnes Levy, a native of that place, and a daughter of Leopold and Dora (Ball) Levy, natives of Posen and Berlin, Germany, respectively, their marriage being consummated in New York City. Mr. and Mrs. Levin have a son and daughter: Lillie and Lazar Joseph. He and his wife are members of the Hebrew Church, find are worthy citizens of the town in which they are now residing. Mr. Levin's father was a wine manufacturer and distiller, and was a man of ample means, becoming prominent in the locality in which he resided.
Julius Levin is a native of Prussia; he was born at Regenwalde July 7, 1833. His parents are Jacob and Fannie (Dans) Levin, worthy people of the same place. He comes of a mercantile family, his sire and grandsire having been successful and extensive merchants. He grew to manhood in his native city, and upon reaching a suitable age, he was placed at school at Deush Crone, West Prussia, where he completed his literary training. He left school in his sixteenth year. The sterling principles of the better class of citizens of that country had been well and deeply inculcated in him, and when he entered mercantile life, he determined to follow the honest and lofty traditions of his race. He first entered a dry-goods establishment at Stolp, and completed his knowledge of that calling at Hamburg. In 1852 he came to the United States, spending one year in Galveston, Tex., and Mississippi. In 1853 he came to Alexandria, La., he at once went into business, in which he was successful as well as popular, and when the Civil War broke out, he had accumulated a handsome competency. At his adopted country's call, he laid aside all personal interests and joined the Confederate Army. From the dose of the war until 1880, he carried on a prosperous mercantile business, when He retired and invested his means in lumber milling. in this new business he again applied that dose attention and active mind which had always made all his undertakings a certain success, and today He has his place in the front rank of the lumber manufacturers and dealers of the State, He has an extensive yard and plane mill in Alexandria, supplied by his saw mills on the north side of Red River, and connected by switches to the main track of the Texas & Pacific Railroad. He is a large railroad supplier, as well as exporter of Texas and the Indian Territory.
He was married in this city, to Miss Christine Dupuy, a native of Louisiana, and a daughter of Nomine and Mary Dupuy, also natives of this State; one son and four daughters have been born to them: Julia (wife of Charles Goldenberg), Fannie (wife of Augur Suss), Jacob, Flora and Johanna (cricket). Mr. Levin and family are followers of the Jewish faith. Mr. Levin has risen to the council of the Masonic fraternity. He has been a member of the city council, was president of the school board, and he has always been identified find one of the leaders in all moves and organizations tending to improve and extend Alexandria. He is one of the original stockholders of the Rapides Bank.
Jacob Levin, Jr., manager of Lemourie Shingle Mills at Lemourie, La., is a native of Louisiana, born in Rapides Parish in 1804, and the son of Julius and Christina (Dupee) Levin. The father was born in Germany, but came to America when quite young. He is now an extensive property owner and mill man of Alexandria, La. Jacob Levin was educated in the University of Louisiana, The father does not agree with the son in the spelling of this name, and after returning from school he remained with his father at Alexandria until 1889. He and his father then located the Lemourie Shingle Mills at Lemourie, Rapides Parish, La., and here they have since continued. Mr. Levin is a bright and successful business man, and all his operations are con ducted with dispatch and decision. He is a man of education, of high literary taste, and his home is made pleasant by many of the best books the times offer. As he is very fond of reading, his library is filled with all the standard works. The Lemourie Mills turn out 110,000 shingles per day and ship to all parts of the country, although Indian Territory gets most of them. The firm owns about 16,000,000 feet of cypress timber, and is enlarging the Lemourie Mills to greater capacity. They are wide awake, thoroughgoing business men, and have all the requisites necessary to make a success of whatever they undertake.
Harold V. S. Lund. Among the best known mercantile houses in Alexandria, La., is that belonging to Harold W. S. Lund, which was first established in January, 1884, as Lund & Warren, J. D. Warren continuing with him until February, 1890, when Mr. Lund purchased the entire stock and conducted the business tor his own account. Mr. Lund was born in the city of New Orleans, La., on March 25, 1856, being a son of Neil H. and Mary Ann (Seller) Lund, the former a jeweler by trade, and a native of Denmark. When a young man he came to America, and spent some time in New York City, but subsequently settled in New Orleans, where he married and reared one son, the subject of this memoir. The grandfather Lund was a sea captain, and commanded and owned vessels in the Danish merchant marine. During the many years he traversed the ocean he made a number of voyages to the United States, but eventually died in his native land. The wife of Neil H. Lund, Mrs. Mary Ann Lund, was born in New Orleans, and is now making her home with her son, H. V. S. Lund, in Alexandria. She is a daughter of Antony Seller, a German of Wurttemberg.
H. W. S. Lund grew to manhood in the city of his birth, completed a good education there, after which he engaged in clerical work in a wholesale grocery house, on a commission basis, and there spent six years, from 1873 to 1879. After spending the following year clerking in other towns, he, in 1880, opened up a general store in Covington, La., which he conducted with good results until December, 1883. In the month of January, 188-1, he had come to Alexandria, as above stated, and here he has since been. He carries an excellent and select stock of general goods, and his trade is solidly established. Mr. Lund was married in New Orleans, in July, 1890, to Miss Isabella Bain, who was born in that city, a daughter of George Bain, Esq., a native of Scotland. Mrs. Lund is a member of the Presbyterian Church, and he is a member of the K. of P., and presiding officer of Alexandria Lodge No. 3410, of the K. of H.
Edgar Hammond McCormick, editor and proprietor of Town Talk of Alexandria, La., was born near St. Louis, Mo, October 0, 185(5, to Augustus G. and Jane E. (Hammond) McCormick, the former of whom was born in Ohio and became au editor by calling. He was a son of John McCormick, a native of Pennsylvania. The early history of the McCormick family in America dates back prior to the Revolutionary War. The male members of the family were noted for their large stature, hardy constitutions and longevity. Jane E. (Hammond) McCormick was a daughter of Joseph K. Hammond, a Pennsylvania!! and a resident of Mauch Chunk, where he was actively engaged in the lumber business. Edgar H. McCormick spent his youth and early manhood in St. Louis, and at an early day adopted the printing business as his calling through life, graduating from the case in the office of Barnes and Benyon, of that city, after which he worked as a compositor for several years in St. Louis, and was also proprietor of a printing office there for two years.
He remained in that city until 1882, at which time he came to Alexandria and started the Town Talk, which is a breezy, spicy and interesting journal, the editorials especially commanding universal attention. He is vice dictator of Alexandria Lodge No. 410, of the K. of H , and is looked upon as one of the most enterprising citizens of Rapides Parish. He was married in Now Orleans in May, 1879, to Mrs. Sophie Carnal. Col. N. L. McGinnis is the proprietor of a livery stable, wagon shop and feed store in Alexandria, and in the management of his affairs has shown excellent judgment and keen business foresight. He is a Tennessean, born August 3, 1829, to C. H. and Malinda (Moore) McGinnis, natives, respectively, of Virginia and North Carolina, their birth occurring in 1799 and 1804. Mr. McGinnis was taken to Grainger County, Tenn., when a boy by his parents, but he subsequently went to Monroe, and from there to Hardin County. Later he went to North Carolina, and while in that State, clerking in a store belonging to an uncle, he was married in 1820. In 1839, as he had always interested himself prominently in polities, he was elected a member of the Lower House of the State Legislature of Tennessee, and served continuously until 1847. when he removed to the State of Mississippi, in which State he was engaged in farming for four years, after which he went to Bastrop County, Tex., where he gave his attention to farming and made his home until his death, which occurred in 1884. His widow survived him until 1889, when she, too, passed away. N. L. McGinnis received au academic education in Tennessee and Texas, and after leaving school he was engaged in farming for some four years, then began merchandising in Lexington, Tex., where he continued in business until the breaking out of the war. He then organized Company H, Second Texas Infantry, of which he was captain in Mississippi and Tennessee, taking part, in the battles of Shiloh, Iuka, Farmersville, Corinth (In which battle he was promoted to the rank of major for gallant conduct), Grenada and Chickasaw Bayou (where he was promoted to lieutenant-colonel, but had commanded his regiment continuously from the battle of Corinth until the close of the war).
He was taken prisoner at Vicksburg, was paroled, returned home and was afterward exchanged. His regiment was then reorganized at Houston, Tex., and he was in command of the city of Galveston at the time of the surrender. After the war Col. McGinnis returned to Texas, and for some time was engaged in farming and trading in stock. He has been a resident of Alexandria since 1868, where his attention has been given to mercantile operations in connection with the above mentioned callings. He was married here, in 1872, to Miss Val McKinney, a daughter of Jesse McKinney, a native of Alabama, now deceased. He has had six children by this and a former marriage: Laura (wife of H. Huckaby, of Lee County, Tex.), Ada (wife of' J. S. Keat, also of that place,) and James H. By his present wife: Albert Lee, Robert J. and Mollie W, (at home). Mr. McGinnis is a member of Oliver Lodge No. 84, of the A. F. & A. M.. of Alexandria, and he was at one time deputy grand master for the State of Texas in the I. O. O. F. He also belongs to the K. of P. at Alexandria, and he and his estimable wife are worthy members of the Methodist Episcopal Church South. He has served as a member of the town council of Alexandria for six years, and now belongs to the parish school board, Louis Victor Marye was born in Fairfax County, Va., April 7, 1836, a son of Augnste and Octavia (De Geueres) Marye, the former of whom was a banker by occupation, and a son of Pierre Auguste Marye, a native of Rouen, France, and a refugee from San Domingo at the time of insurrection.
After coming to the United States he settled in Baltimore, Md., where he reared a family of two sons and one daughter, by his second wife, Miss Renand De Chateandun, who also refuged from San Domingo during the Revolution of 1759. Auguste Marye grew to maturity in Baltimore, and after reaching manhood, came south, as far as Virginia, where he married and reared a family. He then left his adopted State, and located in New Orleans, where he occupied a position as clerk in a bank, but subsequently came up Red River, and in 1840 located in Avoyelles Parish, where he established a bank, and where he passed the rest of his life, dying in 1846, in full communion with the faith of the Roman Catholic Church, the religion of his forefathers. He left a family of five sons and two daughters, of whom four sons and a daughter survive, their homes now being in Rapides Parish, Auguste (the son deceased, died at Corinth, as a soldier of the Confederacy), and Constance (the daughter who is dead, was the wife of B. P. Abut, a merchant, of New Orleans). The children that are living are: Angelica (wife of Dr. R. L. Luckett).
Edward Vincent, Armand De Brues, Octave Charles and Louis Victor. The latter was reared and educated in the city of New Orleans, his knowledge of books being acquired in the Jesuit College, after which be entered mercantile life, as a clerk in New Orleans, and when about twenty-four years of age, became a cotton factor. He was married in January, 1861, to Miss Zepheriue De Generes, a daughter of Henry and Nora (Dulany) De Geueies, by whom he has three sons and six daughters: Henry F., Louis V., Jr., Zulime, Lena, May. Lelia, Alice, Zepheriue and George. January 10. 1886, Mrs. Marye was called to her long home, having been an earnest member of St. Francis Xavier Church at Alexandria, La., for many years prior to her death. She is now sleeping her last sleep in Rapides Cemetery. In 1872 Mr. Marye came to Red River, and engaged in business in Alexandria, as notary public and insurance agent, and has been successfully occupied with these callings ever since. He assisted in organizing the Alexandria Compress Company, and also organized the bank at this place, serving as its cashier for the first twelve months. He has been a leading spirit in bringing railroads to the town, and has aided in many other ways in the advancement and development of his adopted city and parish. He has lately given some attention to real estate, and gives every promise of becoming wealthy in that, calling, for he is a keen and practical business man, and an excellent financier. He has held the office of justice of the peace, and has always been a member of the Roman Catholic Church. He, like nearly all the members of his family, possesses an excellent constitution, and is dark complexioned, these being characteristics of his French ancestors. They are also decidedly musical in taste.
S. P. Meeker, M. D., is a native of Vest Feliciana Parish, La., where his birth occurred in the year 1836, but when a child he left his birthplace with his father, and was reared to manhood near the city of Baton Rouge. His advantages were excellent in his youth, and he was graduated from Oakland College, Miss., in 1856, and in the fall of the same year began the study of medicine under Dr. Day, of Baton Rouge, and Dr. Natt, of New Orleans. He then attended three courses of lectures in the University of Louisiana, at New Orleans, and graduated with the degree of M. D. in 1859. The same year he made a trip north, but in the fall of 1860 located in Rapides Parish, near Lecompte and from this place joined the Confederate Army in May, 1861, becoming a member of Company H, Eighth Louisiana Regiment, and remaining on active duty until June 6, 1865. He went out as a private, but was examined after the battles around Richmond, and was assigned to the Seventh Louisiana as assistant surgeon in time to participate in the battle of Chantilly. He served in the capacity of assistant surgeon until September, 1864, when he was appointed surgeon on Gen. Hayes' staff, after which he was transferred to the Trans-Mississippi Department, and was at Natchitoches until the close of the war. The four following years he was engaged in planting in Rapides Parish, but has since devoted his time to the practice of the healing art, in which he has met with flattering success. He was elected a member of the State Legislature in 1884, serving in so admirable and capable a manner that he was reelected in 1888.
He was married in 1866 to Miss Elizabeth Compton, a native of this parish, and of a family of eight children born to them, six are living: Matilda, Elizabeth, Joseph H., John, Howard and Louise. Dr. Meeker is a son of Moses L. and Matilda (Flower) Meeker, the former of whom was born in Elizabeth, N. J., but upon reaching manhood went west and became associated in business with Longworth & Smith, produce dealers of Cincinnati, Ohio, the latter being the first United States Senator from Ohio. Mr. Smith, of this firm, used some money belonging to the company in the interest of Aaron Burr, and so repugnant were the Burr sentiments to Mr. Meeker that he sold out and came to Louisiana, taking up his abode in West Feliciana Parish, where he met and married Mrs. Matilda (Flower) Finley. In 1857 they settled near St. Louis, Mo., where they made their home until after the war, then returned to Louisiana, and here Mr. Meeker passed from life at the age of eighty-two years. The mother's father was a native of Beading, Penn., and removed to Louisiana in 1770, and was one of the pioneer physicians around Baton Rouge. The maternal great-grandfather of the subject of this sketch. Richard Carpenter by name, was from Providence, R. I., and was a Quaker. He resided twenty miles below Baton Rouge, and died there, having been engaged in planting, at, which he acquired considerable wealth. Dr. Meeker inherits English, Scotch and Welsh blood of his ancestors and is a man of strong characteristics. Although he is no office-seeker, he is very popular with all, and was put in office in order to carry a point in legislation, which He has accomplished.
Joseph H. Meeker, brother of Dr. S. F. Meeker, member of the legislature, of Rapides Parish, La., although a man of middle age, is well preserved, and is a representative citizen of the parish. Though reared and educated elsewhere (see biography of Dr. S. F. Meeker), he is a genuine Southern gentleman and Louisiana by adoption. He is a man whose face at once indicates his true American breadth of conception find consequent liberality. He will command the respect of his associates regardless of the situation, and has many strong personal friends. In Louisiana, the home of his adoption, he has become one of the well to do sugar planters of Rapides Parish. He was married in Louisiana. They have one child, whom they have taken great care to educate. Mr. Meeker takes practical charge of the sugar mill and of the sugar, of which they make a large amount. He is liberal in his religious views, is a member of no church, but is a strong supporter of Christianity and education. He is liberal and open-hearted in all worthy movements, and extends a helping hand to all public enterprises that tend to better the welfare of his parish. His family are members of the Roman Catholic Church.
Rev. Father L. Menard is the present pastor of the St. Francis Xavier Roman Catholic Church, and was born in the city of Rennes, Brittany, France, in 1854, in which place he obtained excellent scholastic advantages, and prepared himself for the ministry in St. Martin's College. Thus becoming thoroughly equipped for the noble work he had in view, he decided to come to America, which he did in 1875, and in 1877, he received his ordination from Archbishop Perche, of New Orleans, and was put in charge of his present flock, but for the first five years served as its vicar, but has since been its priest. He has done untold good in his present capacity, is a truly able divine, and has the full love, confidence and respect of his parishioners.
Theus Norvello Miles, the superintendent of the Alexandria Compress & Warehouse Company, is an active and progressive business man. He was born at Jackson, Miss., March 18, 1850, being a son of Gen. William R. and Frances (Mayrant) Miles. His father's ancestors came to this country from England, with Lord Baltimore, many of their descendants being now in Maryland, Kentucky and Missouri. His mother's ancestors were French Huguenots, who settled in South Carolina before the Revolutionary War. There the family now reside. Theus Norvelle Miles was educated at Spring Hill College, Mobile, Ala. Upon leaving this institution he turned his attention to cotton planting. Afterward he went into the compress business, and has, since 1887, followed the latter calling, in Alexandria, which has proved remunerative, and has added much to the reputation which Alexandria enjoys as a place of business. He was married in the city of New Orleans, to Miss Alice Herrick, a daughter of Richard Herrick, Esq., and Mary (Newman) Herrick, of that city, and to them two daughters have been born: Frances Mayrant and Mary Newman. Mr. Miles and his wife are members of the Roman Catholic Church. Mr. Miles has ever shown himself to be a wide awake and enterprising business man, and one of the directors of the Rapides Bank, and was also one of its organizers. He is vice-president of the Alexandria Street Railway Company, is a stockholder and director in the Daily Times, and has otherwise done all in his power to promote the interests of the tow. He is a member of the Alexandria Rod and Gun Club.
Isaac Carol Miller, is a prosperous hardware merchant of Alexandria, and is a man whose earnest and sincere endeavor to. succeed in life is well worthy the imitation of the rising generation. He was born in the Keystone State, August 31, 1833, being a son of Henry and Elizabeth (Levan) Miller, the former of whom was a native of Pennsylvania and removed to Ohio when the subject of this sketch was about six months old, and later settled in Delaware County, Ohio, where he carried on farming until his death, which took place in 1848, leaving, besides his widow, seven sons and one daughter to mourn their loss. The mother died in 1889. The subject of this sketch grew to manhood in Ohio, and at. the age of fifteen years began learning the tinner's trade in Delaware and there completed his knowledge of the business. He left Ohio at the age of seventeen and went to New Orleans and in that city worked at, his trade until 1850, when he came up Red River and spent a year and a half at Mansfield and about the same length of time at Natchitoches, at the end of which time he came to Alexandria, working for a number of years as a journeyman, but the coming clash of arms caused him to throw aside his tools, and for three years be aided to the best of his ability the Confederate government, proving himself to be a trusty and efficient soldier. After the war was over he returned to Alexandria, and in 1800 engaged in business as a tinsmith and subsequently added hardware to his original stock, also agricultural implements, and has since done a lucrative business. He was married in Natchitoches in 1855) to Miss Levinia Rowlson, a native Louisianan, by whom he has four sons and four daughters: Ambrose (in the saw milling business in this city), Laura C. (wife of Joseph Fitzpatrick, a planter), May E. (wife of Emil Tasted, of New Orleans), James, William, Josephine, Levinia and John. Mr. Miller and his family worship in the Episcopal Church. He has served in the city council and has been a member of the school board, proving painstaking and zealous in the discharge of his duties.
T. G. Morgan, planter, Boyce, La. Georgia has given to Louisiana many prominent citizens, but she has contributed none more worthy of respect and esteem than the subject of this sketch. He was born on November 21. 1824, and is a son of Thomas Morgan, who was also a native of Georgia. The father spent his whole life engaged in farming in Georgia, and was one of the largest and most prominent farmers in Chattooga County, He was a member of the Missionary Baptist Church and died some time before the Civil War. T. G. Morgan received the ordinary education of the country boy in Georgia, and when nineteen years of age he began working for himself, raising the first year two bales of cotton, which he hauled 150 miles to Wetumpka, Ala., and sold for 4.5 cents per pound. After coming back he hauled his bacon to Rome, Ga., and sold it for 4.5 cents per pound. He afterward operated a jug factory, and in connection with it continued his farming operations.
In this be was quite successful, and accumulated considerable property. He was married in 1845 to Miss Arminda, daughter of John Martin, of Cherokee County, Ala. Mrs. Morgan died in 1875. In 1862 Mr. Morgan enlisted in a Tennessee Cavalry Regiment, Capt. Pagan, of Col. McKinzey's regiment, of Scott's brigade, and was principally engaged in guarding Cumberland Gap. He was in no battles, and surrendered near Lafayette, Ga. He returned to Louisiana in 1872, and shortly afterward purchased the farm where he now resides on Red River, about fifteen miles above Alexandria. He is now justice of the peace. His family consists of five living children, three sons and two daughters.
Mat. C. Moseley, attorney at law, of Alexandria, La. It can not be expected, in a work of this kind, where but brief biographical sketches of prominent citizens of the parish are presented, that a lengthy laudatory article of each one should be written, and yet at times there are some who have been so intimately and closely identified with the parish, and whose names are so familiar to all that it is only just to dwell upon what they have done, and the influence of their career upon others, not as empty words of praise, but the plain statement of a still plainer truth. Mr. Moseley, who is a talented young lawyer of this section, is one of these gentlemen.
He was born near Cedartown, in Polk County, Ga., January 26, 1853, and, although his father died when he was young, his mother was an intelligent and accomplished woman, and possessing sufficient means, wisely kept her son at school, giving him the advantages of some of the finest educational institutions of which the State of Georgia could boast. Until he attained his seventeenth year he remained in his native State, but at that time he came to Louisiana, and- has since prominently identified himself with the State of his adoption. After coming to this State he taught school for a short time in Webster Parish, but the following year commenced the study of law in the office of that eminent jurist, Judge A. B. George, of Minden, La., and after three years of faithful study was thoroughly fitted to be admitted to the bar. Owing to the fact that Louisiana did not allow a license before one had attained his majority. Mr. Moseley was advised by his distinguished preceptor to review and further perfect himself in his studies, which advice he faithfully followed, after which he took a course of lectures in the law department of the University of Louisiana, at New Orleans, from which institution he was graduated with the degree of LL. B., in 1874. During this time he received the inestimable benefit of the library and council of Hon. E. John Ellis. After graduating, with the independence that bad ever characterized his actions through life, he returned to Minden, opened a law office, and there, amidst able and experienced competition, he passed through the hardest ordeals incident to a lawyer's life, ordeals that would have discouraged a less indomitable will. With him a resolution once formed is a fixture, and he kept steadily at his desk, and in the management of the cases that came in his way, showed such a high order of talent and ability that he soon won a widespread reputation, and is now enjoying the reward of his close application and the diligent pursuit of his studies.
While in this place he became distinguished by winning some very difficult and intricate cases, handling them with ease, grace and power, and made his case perceptible and plain to the most ordinary understanding by his smooth, logical and convincing reasoning. He is an. eloquent and pleasing orator, and won golden opinions for himself in the estimation of all by the delivery of one of the most ornate and brilliant speeches ever given in the. town of Minden, on the occasion of a Knights of Pythias celebration. After remaining in Minden until 1883, he became possessed of a desire to seek a more lucrative field for his labors, and accordingly came to Alexandria, where be has since made his home, and here, as at Minden, has made a reputation for ability, zeal and earnestness. His success in several cases of homicide is well known to most of the residents of the State, and in the management of other important, cases he has been very successful. At present he is one of the attorneys for the Texas & Pacific Railroad Company, but does not confine himself alone to railroad eases, enjoying a large practice at several bars. He has held only one office, that of attorney, for Webster Parish, to which position he was appointed in 1877, by Gov. Francis T. Nicholls, in the discharge of which duties his usual zeal and earnestness were brought to bear. In appearance Mr. Moseley possesses a tine physique and is handsome and distinguished. He comes of one of the most brilliant families of Georgia, two of his maternal uncles achieving distinction in the world of letters, Richard Malcolm Johnson, now of Baltimore, Md., being the author of the life of Alexander H. Steffens. His paternal uncles also acquired a name and fame in the literary world, his father also possessing a deep and scholarly mind. His manners are easy and engaging, and this, coupled with a mind of undoubted brilliancy, and with unquestioned integrity and strict morality, nothing seems to be wanting to make his life a brilliant success in legal, political or social circles. His father, Hon. Benjamin Thomas Moseley, was born in Greene County, Ga., and there, in later years, became a member of the bar. He graduated from the University of Georgia, at Athens, and also graduated in law from the University of Virginia.
For a number of years, during the latter part of his life, he abandoned law and accepted a professorship at Covington, Ga., and tilled the chair of mathematics for several years with distinction. While practicing law in Greensboro, Greene County, Ga., he was chosen to represent the citizens of that county in the General Assembly of the State, and proved himself a capable, zealous and competent legislator. His father, Thomas Moseley, was a Virginian by birth, and a planter by occupation. The family are noted for their large statures, hardy constitutions and strong will power. Many became eminent in the different professions. The wife of the Hon. Benjamin T. Moseley, whose maiden name was Mary Ann Callaway, was a Georgian by birth, and a daughter of James Madison Callaway and Catherine Rebecca (Johnson) Callaway, tin old Georgian family. Mrs. Moseley is now a resident of New Orleans, making her home with a son, Dr. Benjamin T. Moseley, an eminent physician of that city. She is a true Christian in every sense of the word, and possesses kind and pleasing manners.
L. V. Murdock. of the general mercantile firm of Lecomrite, La., is a native of Avoyelles Parish, his birth occurring there in 1856, also attaining manhood there, the rudiments of his education being obtained in the country schools. Upon attaining his majority he left the home plantation and engaged in mercantile pursuits as a clerk in Avoyelles Parish, his attention being given to this calling here and in St. Landry Parish for five years, engaging in the business on his own responsibility in the latter parish in 1883. In January, 1886, be came to Lecompte with his stock of goods, and opened his present establishment with a small capital, and has since done business on a strictly cash basis, as he had previously lost money by doing a credit business. Although he rented the building in which he did business the first year, he purchased au establishment of his own the second year, and for some time was in partnership with a former partner in St. Landry Parish, W. C. Scott. Since the fall of 1888 he has been sole proprietor. He is a keen and practical business man, and the stock of goods he now carries is valued at from $15,000 to $18,000, his annual business amounting to from $70,000 to $75,000. His store is 47x87 feet, his goods occupying two floors, and four clerks are given employment during the summer months, and about six during the winter. His trade is rapidly on the increase, which fact speaks louder than words can do to the quality of goods he keeps, and to his honesty and fair dealing with his customers. His success is remarkable, for the most, of his property has been acquired in the last few years, and he is now the leading merchant of Lecompte. He was married in Cheneyville, this parish, to Miss Clara Ewell, their union taking place in January, 1888. He inherits Scotch and French blood from his father and mother, William H. and Alzena (DeMont) Murdoch, the former born in Louisiana, a planter, and died while serving in the Confederate Army, in Virginia, in 1803. The mother died when the subject of this sketch was born.
Go to next page
Typing and Format by C. W. Barnum