Caddo Parish, Louisiana History and Genealogy
Return to Louisiana Main Page
Return to Caddo Parish Main Page

Biographical and Historical Memoirs of Northwest Louisiana Index Including Thirteen Parishes

Page1 Page2 Page3

W. E. Hamilton is the secretary and manager of the Shreveport Gas, Electric Light & Power Company, the works of which were built a number of years ago, but have only been operated by the present company a short time. Their capital stock is $200,000, and the officers of the company are J. C. Hamilton, president; John B. Jones, vice president, and W. E. Hamilton, secretary and treasurer. The latter was born in Bossier Parish, La., August 20, 1864 to W. E. and Virginia (Johnson) Hamilton, the former of whom was born in Macon, Ga., and the latter in Virginia. The father came to Louisiana with his parents when he was about twenty-one years of age, and for many years was a resident of Bossier Parish, where he followed the life of a merchant and planter, but after coming to Shreveport he followed the former occupation principally, but gave considerable attention to planting also. He became the owner and manager of the oil mill, and being a man of enterprise and push he was identified with all the public interests of the city. He died in 1888, and his wife during the yellow fever epidemic of that dreaded disease.

Five of the eight children born to them are living, their names being as follows: Mrs. Carrie Skannal, of Bossier Parish; Mrs. E. J. Bryan, of New Orleans; John C, W. E. and Katie E. W. E. Hamilton was reared in Shreveport and received an education far above the average for, besides attending school in Bossier Parish and Shreveport, he was an attendant of Washington and Lee University of Lexington, Va., and John Hopkins University of Baltimore, Md., taking a special course in the last named institution. He then returned home and worked with his father on the plantation and in the oil mill, after which he began clerking for Hicks & Howell, remaining with them for about one year. He next became a member of the firm of Kerby & Hamilton, mercantile brokers and coal dealers, continuing about one year, and at the same time he was secretary and treasurer of the gas works and was also a partner in the Shreveport Grocery Company. Finding that he had more business on hand than he could properly attend to, he disposed of his interest in the grocery establishment and has since devoted his attention to his present business, for which he seems to be peculiarly fitted, being methodical, painstaking and conscientious. He has tilled this position since April, 1888, and is a gentleman possessed of fine executive ability, as the admirable manner in which the city of Shreveport is lighted abundantly testifies.

The plant occupies half a block of ground and has six buildings with adjoining sheds. Coal gas is made and a largo holder, with a capacity of 20,000 feet is provided and an additional holder will soon be in process of erection, which will hold 30,000 cubic feet. The capacity of the work is 25,000 feet per day and sixteen people are employed. Seven miles of mains are used for distributing purposes, and the gas is of extra quality, never being less than sixteen and one-half candle power. It is in general use in the city, and gives the best of satisfaction. The company keep on hand in a large building set apart for the especial purpose, a large and select stock of gas fixtures and fittings, where a force of experienced workmen are employed. Their charges are moderate, and they also keep on hand a large supply of coke, coal and tar, which they sell at reasonable rates.

Their electric light plant is an excellent one, the arc lights being the Thompson-Houston system and the incandescent the Westinghouse system. The capacity of the former is seventy-five arc lights of 200 candle power, and 650 incandescent lamps of sixteen-candle power. Nine miles of wire are used on the former and ten miles on the latter circuit. The capacity of both will be shortly enlarged. Mr. Hamilton is a member of the Board of Trade, is a director of the Y. M. C. A. and was president of same two years; when the new building was erected, he acted on the committee for the same. He is a director of the Shreveport Building Association, is a stockholder in the First National Bank and is in some way identified with nearly all the business interests of the city. He is quite well to do, and besides owning some valuable city property, has planting interests. He was married in March, 1889, to Miss Myrtle A. Jacobs.

Maj. J. L. Hargrove, attorney, Shreveport, La. Maj. Hargrove was born in Covington County, Hollidays Creek District, Miss., on February 27, 1824, and is one of the prominent legal practitioners of Claiborne Parish. His parents, Reuben M. and Elizabeth (Leggett) Hargrove, were natives of Georgia and of English descent. The ancestors " of both families emigrated to the United States in the fifteenth century, with the pilgrims, and settled in Massachusetts with Timothy Pickering, a noted character. The Hargroves were relatives of the Pickering family. The Hargroves and Leggetts settled in the same neighborhood, but later the Hargroves removed to Fredericksburg and Richmond, Va. There the grandfather of our subject was born and reared. Reuben M. Hargrove was the youngest of his father's family, and was born in Georgia. He was a mechanic and saddler. In 1816 or 1817 he moved to Covington County, Miss., and there his death occurred about 1830. The mother died Rankin County, Miss., in 1802. Their family consisted of four children, one son and three daughters, Maj. J. L. being the only survivor. He was reared on a plantation in the Bayou State, and attended the common schools of the country, completing his literary education at Zion's Seminary of Mississippi. He then taught, school for several years, and in 1847 was elected clerk of the court of Covington County, Miss., holding that position four years. In the same year he began the study of law and attended law school at Jackson, Miss., being admitted to the bar in 1852. He then began practicing at Williamsburg, Miss., and there continued until 1858, when he removed to Brandon, Miss. In 1862 ho enlisted in Company B, Thirty-ninth Mississippi Infantry, and later was transferred to Stockdale's cavalry.

He was soon afterward commissioned captain of Company G, Perrin's regiment, and served in that capacity until the surrender. He was wounded at the battle of New Hope Church, Ga., in May, 1864, by a gunshot through the right shoulder, and was rendered unfit for duty, but although he retired he still retained his commission and pay until paroled in 1865. In 1872 he came to Shreveport, La., and there he has since been in the practice of his profession. He ranks among the able lawyers and first class citizens of Caddo Parish. He was first married January 20, 1848, to Miss Mary A. Lowe, by whom he has six children living: Mrs. Rosa J. Humphrey, Hardy H, Mrs. Isella M. Gather, Zach B., Mrs. Mary T. Moore and Mrs. Jennie M. Marshall. Mr. Harorove was married, the second time, on March 5, 1876, to Miss Narcissa Gardner, and they have no children. He and wife are members good standing in the Presbyterian Church. Maj. Hargrove pays his attention strictly to his profession, and he has a good practice. He has been a Master Mason since 1849, and is now a Council Mason, being recorder of the council of his lodge.

John B Harris, dentist, fruit-grower and planter, of Ward 6, Caddo Parish, La. He whose name heads this sketch was born in Richmond; Va., in 1832, being the son of John H. and Elizabeth (Callahan) Harris, natives of Virginia. His parents moved to Mississippi while he was an infant, afterward coming to Shreveport, where the mother died, about 1850. Dr. Harris was the youngest of the four children born to his parents, and received his educational training in Philadelphia, Penn. After completing his education he journeyed west to California, where he remained until 1851, at which time he came to Shreveport, but after a few years moved to Texas. In the Lone Star State, in Red River County, he married, in 1853, Miss Martha A. Caldwell, who died in 1870, leaving seven children, five of whom are living at the present time. After mourning the death of his first wife, Dr. Harris was again married, in 1873, this time to Mrs. Mariam C. Powell (nee Norman), but death claimed her in the first year of their marriage. September, 1876, he married Miss Ida A. Stallworth, daughter of Calloway J. and Sophronia Stallworth, born in Alabama. To this union were born five children, all of whom are now alive. Dr. Harris, in 1865, returned to Shreveport, and has since continued to make his home here, being perhaps the oldest dentist in Northwest Louisiana, where he still has an extended practice. While in Sacramento, Cal., in 1850, Drs. Wheaton (of Memphis, Tenn.) and Harris established a dental office, being the first one in that, part of California, and had a tine practice. About ten years ago he settled in the woods, three miles west of Keithville, where he owns a plantation, and grows successfully nearly every kind of fruit. He is also raising a line of Jersey cattle that are exceedingly valuable. The Doctor is succeeding admirably, and is now the owner of a comfortable fortune.

Dr. John R. R. Harrison is one of the oldest settlers of Caddo Parish, La., having been a resident of this place since 1846. He was born in Fairfield District, S. C , March 26, 1824, his parents, Willoughby and Elizabeth (Rieve) Harrison, being also born there, the former dying in Lowndes County, Ala., when the subject of this sketch was four years of age. He had been a soldier in the War of 1812, and had moved from South Carolina to Alabama shortly after his marriage. His father, Willoughby Harrison, was a South Carolinian, and was a Revolutionary soldier, taking part in many battles. In the State of Alabama Dr. John R. R. Harrison grew to manhood, but since 1846, as above stated, he has been a resident of Caddo Parish.

He was a student of medicine under Dr. John Hall, in Alabama, and with some additional study after coming to Louisiana, he, in 1854, graduated from the University of New Orleans, and has since practiced in Caddo Parish, nearly half a century, his practice extending over a very large area. He has made a special study of the eye, and during his practice has effected some miraculous cures, a number of his patients being pronounced incurable by New Orleans specialists and the physicians of Shreveport. He has been a very successful financier, and has become the owner of 3,940 acres of fine land, all in Ward 2, and has 600 acres under cultivation. He was married July 4,1845, to Miss Narcissus Barlow, whose father, Thomas Barlow, was a Georgian, moving afterward to Alabama. She was born in Georgia, but was reared in Alabama, and died July 13, 1890, having been a member of the Missionary Baptist Church from girlhood. She became the mother of one son, who died during the war, when sixteen years of age.

Dr. Harrison is a member of, and has been deacon in the Missionary Baptist Church, and socially is a Royal Arch Mason, which order he joined in Alabama, prior to coming to Louisiana. He is a member of the Farmers' Alliance, and is a Democrat, politically. During the late war he was detailed to practice medicine in this parish.

I. L. Helpman, confectioner, Shreveport, La. The manufacture of candies and fruit preserves has come to be one of the greatest interests of our country, and the establishments in this line rank in standing and extent of trade with any class of business concerns. One of the representative houses in this line in Shreveport is that conducted by Mr. Helpman, who engaged in this business in 1888. He was born in Hancock County, Ohio, in June, 1845, and is a son of Martin and Irene (Clarke) Helpman, the father a native of Ohio and the mother of New York State, and of English ancestry. Grandfather ( Helpman was born in Germany and emigrated to America at an early period, locating in Ohio. He was one of the pioneers. He was a farmer by occupation and died in the Buckeye State. The father of our subject was also a farmer. He was a soldier in the Civil War, enlisted in an Ohio regiment, and served until the close of the war. He now draws a pension on account of disability and resides on his farm near Bourbon, Ind., where, although seventy-five years of age, he is still in the enjoyment of comparative good health. The mother died at Kalamazoo, Mich., in 1857. By the first marriage there were four children, two besides our subject now living: D. C. (in Kansas) and Luther (in Philadelphia, president of the International Publishing Company and doing a good business). There were no children by the father's second marriage. I. L. Helpman was reared and educated in Ohio until nine years of age, when he went to Wisconsin with his parents, thence to Iowa and completed his education at Lansing of that State. He was reared to the duties of the farm, and at the breaking out of the war he flung aside his implements of peace to take up the weapons of warfare. He enlisted at Decatur, 111., in Company A, Eighth Illinois Regiment, under Col.

Dick Oglesby, ex-governor of Illinois, and was wounded in the hand and breast at the battle of Shiloh. He served in all the principal engagements, including Corinth, siege of Vicksburg, etc. He was mustered out at Baton Rouge, La., and concluded to remain South. He was in the Government service until May, 1866, as steward of the hospital, and then went to Texas for a short time, working at different places. In December, 1873, he came to Shreveport and here embarked in the grocery business with a capital of 1450. By economy and perseverance he soon accumulated a competency and enlarged his business. He continued the grocery business until 1888, when he changed this to that of a confectioner. He erected a large two-story brick business building and has a restaurant attached. In fact, this is the only first-class establishment of the kind in the city.

He has a soda fountain that was put at a cost of $2,500, and everything is kept in first-class style. Mr. Helpman is a gentleman of energy, perseverance and enterprise, and has established his business upon a sure foundation. He was married, in 1871, to Miss Angie A. Gillispio, of Mississippi, and this union was blessed by the birth of five living children: Irvin L., Jr., Alice F., Beulah I., Martin I. and Neffie Z. He and wife are members of the Baptist Church, and socially he is a member of the Masonic fraternity, Knight Templar, and is a member of the A. L. of H., the A. O. U. W. and Select Knights.

William A. Hondrick is one of the most courteous and popular planters in Caddo Parish, owning a large plantation in Ward 7, and making all the time rapid strides in cultivating his land. He is the youngest child born to John and Nancy (Abernathy) Hendrick, and brother of Dr. Gustavus Hendrick, a leading physician of this parish. His parents came to Caddo Parish as early as !860, and he came with them, continuing to make this his home up to the present writing. His birth took place in Randolph County, Ga., and he received an education in the country schools at Keatchie. In 1868 he commenced a business career tor himself, devoting his attention to agricultural pursuits, and in 1873 married Miss Virginia Nicholson, daughter of Angus and Mary Nicholson, who came to Northwest Louisiana about the year 1836, being among the pioneers of this country, and the father died in 1870, leaving a large and valuable estate. Mrs. Hendrick was born in Caddo Parish, and to her marriage with the subject of this sketch have been born six children, four sons and two daughters.

Since 1877 Mr. Hendrick has had possession of his present property, which embraces about 580 acres, and is situated one mile east of Reisor. He is now serving his seventh year as justice of the peace. He is a member of the A. O. U. W. at, Shreveport, and is president of the Summer Grove Union No. 448. Mrs. Hendrick is a faithful member of the Missionary Baptist Church, and both she and her husband are very popular throughout the community which they reside, and noted alike for courtesy, kindness of heart, and the interest, they manifest in the advancement, of the place in which they make their home.

E. B. Herndon is a prominent attorney of the State, and is a member of the firm of Wise & Herndon, of Shreveport. He is one of the leading citizens of this section of the country in its professional, business and social life, lending eminent strength to her bar, tone to her finance and grace to her society. He was born in Meade County, Ky., on March 12, 1849, and is a son of William and Mary E. (Woolfolk) Herndon, they being natives of the Old Dominion. At a very early day they emigrated with their parents to Kentucky; were there reared and married, but in 1800 removed to the Lone Star State, and eight years later to Caddo Parish, where the father died in June, 1880, having been a farmer by calling.

His wife is still living, and five of the six children born to himself and wife also survive him, their names being: James R., E. B., John W., Jessie M. and C. C. William was killed in a Squamish with the Indians Mexico. E. B. Herndon was reared on a plantation, and after receiving the advantages of the common schools, he finished his education at Waco, Tex. With the desire of making the law his calling through life, he began its study at the age of nineteen years, and in July, 1871, graduated from the law department of the University of Virginia, being admitted to the bar the following year. His first practice was done in Shreveport, and this parish has been the scene of his operations up to the present time. His first duty in a public capacity was as parish attorney, next as parish treasurer, and he is now a prominent, member of the city council. He is well known throughout this section as an able and efficient lawyer. Miss Mary P. Wise became his wife in 1874, and to them two children have been born: Mary W. and E. B. J r. Mr. Herndon has shown his approval of secret organizations by becoming a member of the K. of P. and the L. of H. He is the owner of about 6,000 acres of land in Louisiana, 8,000 acres in Texas, and in the former State has 800 acres of his land under cultivation, the principal product of which is cotton. He and his partner constitute one of the best known firms at the Louisiana bar, are intelligent and substantial men, thoroughly versed in law, and are a standing example of the much-doubted fact that honorable men can be good lawyers.

John R. Herndon, police juror and one of the leading planters and cattle-dealers in the parish, owes his nativity to Meade County, Ky., his birth occurring in 1846. He was reared on a farm, received a good common-school education, and in 1861, when but sixteen years of age, he joined Company A, of Col. Pyron's regiment of Texas Cavalry, and operated in Missouri, Arkansas, Texas and Louisiana. He fought at Oak Ridge. Mansfield, Galveston and disbanded at Eagle Pass on the Rio Grande. After this he worked for the Government as an agent for collecting property, etc., for about a year. He then began tilling the soil, and in 1869 was married to Miss Ellen Robinson, a native of Alabama, and the daughter of William Robinson, who died in Texas when his daughter was but a small child. Of the nine children born to Mr. and Mrs. Herndon, six are now living. Mr. Herndon and family resided in Texas until 1878, and then moved to Caddo Parish, where he purchased his present property in 1883.

This farm now consists of 200 acres, 150 acres of this is cleared, and it needs but a glance over his place to indicate to the beholder the kind of farmer that he is. He is largely engaged in buying and selling cattle, and although he started with nothing, he is now one of the substantial men of the parish. Since 1888 he has been police juror from Ward 7. He is a member of the A. O. U. W. and Select Knights at Shreveport and of the Masonic fraternity at Keithville. He is a member of the Missionary Baptist and his wife a member of the Methodist Church. He was the second of six children, five now living, born to William and Mary (Woolfork) Herndon, and an elder brother, William, who was in the same command with him in the army, was killed in Southern Texas while serving as a scout in May, 1864. The parents were born in Virginia in 1825 and 1828, respectively.

They went to Kentucky with their parents when children, grew up and were married in that State, and remained there until about 1857, when they removed to Cherokee County, Tex. There they made their home until 1870, and then moved to Caddo Parish, where Mr. Herndon died 1878. He was a well to do planter. He was a member of the Missionary Baptist Church, and his widow, who is still living, is also a member of that, church. The paternal grandfather, William Herndon, was born in Virginia, but lived in Kentucky a great many years. He followed farming there and subsequently removed to Missouri, where he died. He was of Irish descent. The maternal grandfather, William Woolfork, was born in Virginia, moved from there to Kentucky, and thence to Texas where ho died. He was a soldier in the early wars.

John L. Hodges. The popular drug store belonging to this gentleman in Shreveport, La., has been in operation since 1885, and although this seems but a short time yet it has taken a place in the popular favor that one might well think belonged to an older established house. Mr. Hodges was born in Bossier Parish, La., September 20, 1864, to Gen. John L. and Jeanette V. (Hamilton) Hodges, natives of Scotland and Georgia, respectively. The father was a general in the State Militia for some time, and was a planter by calling, and one of the honored and respected men of the community in which he resided. He was cut down in the prime of life when his son, John L., was but six months old, and his widow was afterward married to E. D. McKellar, now of the firm of Parker, McKellar & Co. To her first union ten children were born, seven of whom are now living: L. K., Mrs. O. C. Hunter, W. H., Mary P., Marshall, C. B. and John L. The latter received a portion of his earlier education in Galveston, Tex., and was graduated from St. Mary's University in 1882, after which he went to Canada and was graduated from Woodstock College in 1884.

He then returned to his old home in Shreveport, and after studying medicine for some time and being a resident, student of the Charity Hospital for one year, he entered Allen's Infirmary, of which he was superintendent for one year, and was very successful in the discharge of his duties. He next became interested in the drug business in connection with J. H. Calvert, but after this connection had lasted for about one year Mr. Hodges purchased his partner's interest and has since continued alone. The stock of goods which he now carries is only to be found in a well kept, reliable store, and if a thorough knowledge of the business, together with necessary and natural qualifications for its successful carrying on, amount to aught, then surely Mr. Hodges' future career is bright with promise. He owns a plantation in Bossier and Webster Parishes, which he has cultivated each year, and as the land is fertile it yields him a handsome sum annually. He is a member of the Louisiana State Pharmaceutical Association, and during the Louisiana State Pair he took two diplomas, one for having the best display of drugs, and the other for perfumes. He stands as one of the leading druggists of the city, and although a young man he thoroughly understands his business, and is very active and enterprising, being a liberal supporter of all worthy enterprises. Socially he is a Master Mason and a member of the K. of P.

John V. Hughes. In all ages of the world, industry, perseverance and energy where intelligently applied, have achieved a result which could only have been gained by having one object in view, and improving every opportunity to ultimately attain that object. Mr. Hughes is an example of what can be accomplished when the spirit of determination is exercised in connection with the every-day affairs of life, and is now the owner of 1,600 acres of fine river bottom land, of which about 900 acres are cleared and on which he raises over 600 bales of cotton per year, and sufficient grain to properly feed his stock. In connection with his plantation he also conducts a store which brings him in a fair annual income. He was born in Feliciana Parish, La., in 1826, to Samuel and Lucretia (Campbell) Hughes, natives, respectively, of Kentucky and North Carolina, their marriage taking place in East Feliciana Parish, but in 1830 removed to Bowie County, Tex., where' the father died prior to the war, his widow dying during that period, she being a worthy member of the Methodist Church. The father was a blacksmith.

The subject of this sketch was the second of six sons and five daughters, and although he received but little schooling in his youth, ho was naturally intelligent, and at the age of nineteen years started out in life for himself. In 1849 he went, to Claiborne Parish, La., to follow overseeing, and several years prior to the war followed that occupation in the neighborhood of where he now lives. Upon the opening of the Rebellion, being a Southern sympathizer, heart and soul, he joined Company A, Twenty-fifth Louisiana Infantry, and served in the Army of the Tennessee, and was in many hard fought engagements in Georgia, Alabama and Tennessee. Although he was wounded three times, it was not seriously, and after the war he returned to Caddo Parish, where he has since devoted his time and attention to farming. All his property has been acquired since the war, and as it is exceptionally fine and valuable, he deserves much credit for his enterprise and pluck. He is the only one of the family io Louisiana, is unmarried, and socially is a member of the A. F. & A. M.

William J. Hutchinson, farmer of Ward 8, is one of the prominent agriculturists of the county, and is now following a calling that has for ages received undivided efforts from many worthy individuals. He first saw the light of day in Lowndes County, Ala., his birth occurring in 1832, and was the third of four children, three sons and a daughter, born to John B. and Matilda (Walker) Hutchinson, natives respectively, of Georgia and Tennessee. The parents celebrated their nuptials in Alabama, and in 1842 removed to Bossier Parish, La., where the father died in 1840. The mother died in Alabama in 1847, while visiting in that State. Both were members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. Mr. Hutchinson was of Irish descent, and was a planter by occupation. The maternal grandfather was Joseph Walker. William J. Hutchinson early had instilled into his youthful nature all the duties of farm life, and this has ever continued to be his chosen calling.

His educational facilities in youth were more than usually favorable, for after leaving the district schools he finished at Cumberland University, Lebanon, Tenn. He came with his parents to Bossier Parish, La., and was married in New Orleans 1858, to Miss Adaline Strother, a native of Virginia, and the daughter of James P. and Eliza Strother. Mr. and Mrs. Strother were born in the Old Dominion and there spent their entire lives. To the marriage of Mr. and Mrs. Hutchinson were born nine children, seven sons and two daughters, all living. In 1853 Mr. Hutchinson settled in the woods on his present farm, and now has 1,800 acres with about 000 acres cleared, all the result of his own efforts. He raises about 500 bales of cotton annually. He and Mrs. Hutchinson have been honored and esteemed members of the Methodist Episcopal Church for nearly thirty years. This is one of the oldest and best respected families in the neighborhood.

E. Jacobs is the president of the First National Bank of Shreveport, La., and has been so since it was first established in 1877 as the banking house of E. and W. B. Jacobs. It continued to grow and flourish under this name until 1887, when it became nationalized and took the name First National Bank. Although some of the stock in the bank is owned by a number of the most prominent business men of the place, yet Mr. Jacobs and his son, W. B., have ever owned a large portion of the stock, and are now respectively president and cashier. This bank has the patronage of the largest firms, the most prominent and wealthy citizens, and also the surrounding country and their line of deposits runs very high. The capital of the bank is $200,000, and, together with the surplus and undivided profits, will amount to nearly $300,000. The establishment is located at corner of Milan and Market Streets, and is commodious and conveniently arranged, being well supplied with all the modern conveniences, in the shape of vault, safes, time-locks, etc. This bank is in correspondence with the American Exchange National Bank of New York, the National Bank of Commerce, St. Louis, Mo.; the Louisiana National Bank, New Orleans, and is also the United States Depository for this section.

The board of directors comprise the following well-known citizens of Shreveport: F. M. Hicks, R. T. Cole, James P. Utz, E. J. Leman, H. Florsheim, S. G. Dreyfuss, C. H. Ardis, E. Jacobs, W. B. Jacobs and H. Kretz, a capitalist of Reading, Penn. E. Jacobs, the president of this bank, was born in Prussia, and in his boyhood, or about 1842, he emigrated to the United States and three years later located Shreveport, La., where he was engaged in business for a few years, subsequently going to Texas, where he was actively engaged in stock dealing until 1874, but during this time he also conducted a mercantile establishment in Shreveport, and only discontinued' it in 1880. He came to this State with little or no capital, so far as money was concerned, but he possessed an abundant fund of industry, frugality and economy, for which those of German birth are so justly famed, and by his indomitable pluck has become one of the wealthiest men in the State. He has always taken an active part in building up the business of the city, and is also interested in planting, being the largest land owner in Caddo Parish. His residence in Shreveport is one of the handsomest in the place, and his family, which consists of his wife, who was formerly Miss P. L. Cole, a native of Alabama, and his six children, two sons and four daughters, move in the highest social circles of the place.

Mr. Jacobs is not only respected for the success which has attended his efforts, but also for the sterling integrity which has ever characterized his efforts and for his broad intelligence, sound judgment and liberal and progressive ideas. That oft-abused phrase, "self-made man," can with truth be applied to him, for he began the battle of life for himself a poor boy with but few friends or acquaintances, and is now one of the foremost business men of Louisiana, and m especially well known and honored in Caddo Parish, where his friends are almost unlimited. His son, W. B. Jacobs, was reared principally in the town of Shreveport, but was educated in Berlin, Prussia, and after finishing his literary education he traveled for some time throughout Europe, and thus acquired a knowledge which only traveling can give. He afterward returned to his native land and associated himself in business with his father, the firm being, as stated above, E. & W. B. Jacobs. He is a young man of exceptionally fine business qualifications, and has thus far proved a very successful financier. He is a prominent member of the Board of Trade, and is always among the foremost to advance the interests of his city and community. He and his father are the proprietors of the Jacobs' Cotton Compress of Shreveport, and are interested in all and stockholders in many public institutions of this section. Their worth to the community in which they reside is almost inestimable, and they have proved themselves model American citizens, being patriotic, high principled and enterprising, and may well be said to be among those rare gentlemen and princes of men who are seldom duplicated in any community. W. B. Jacobs was married, in 1881, to Miss Frances Abrams, of St. Louis, and their union has resulted in the birth of three bright little daughters.

Captain T. E. Jacobs, postmaster, Shreveport, La. Captain Jacobs, who is numbered among the esteemed and representative citizens of Shreveport, La., was born in Shelby County, Mo., in May, 1830, and is a son of John W. and Mary .(Thatcher) Jacobs, natives of the Old Dominion. The parents emigrated to Missouri in 1836, located in Shelby County, and there the father carried on merchandising until his death, which occurred in 1845. The mother had died two years previous to this. They had eleven children, five now living, one son and four daughters. Captain T. E. Jacobs left Missouri in 1849, when thirteen years of age, and came to Shreveport, La., where he had an uncle living. Here he attended school and received a very fair education. In 1850 he began steam boating and followed the river for years. He ran a number of steamers of his own of which he was master, and plied between Shreveport and New Orleans.

He gave up the river in 1887, but still holds a large interest in the business between Shreveport and the coast. He is the agent for the Red River and Coast Line, and has filled that position for some time. In 1801, when the threatening war cloud broke over the nation, Mr. Jacobs enlisted in Caddo Rifles, of Shreveport, and served until the close of hostilities. He was made postmaster in May, 1890, and is holding the office at the present time to the satisfaction of all. He is the owner of some good real estate in Shreveport, and is a stockholder in the Electric Street Railway and the Red River and Coast Line. He is a member of the Masonic fraternity and the Ancient Order United Workmen, is a thorough business man, and has been a resident of the city for many years. He has made many warm friends, and has the confidence and esteem of all acquainted with him, and socially is a member of the Confederate Veterans' Association.

Thomas C. Johnson, brick maker and contractor, Shreveport, La. Among the active enterprises of a city like Shreveport the business of brickmaking and contracting occupies, necessarily, an important place, and foremost among those engaged in this business is Mr. Johnson, who was born in Wheeling, W. Va., in 1823. His parents, John and Mary (Shrow) Johnson, were born in Virginia, in 1795, and Lancaster County, Penn., respectively. They were married in the former State, and in 1834 removed to Louisville, Ky., where Mr. Johnson died from a fall, about 1850. He was a brick maker and mason by trade. The mother died soon after the war in Louisville, Ky. She was a member of the Presbyterian Church.

The paternal grandfather, John Johnson, was born in England, and served seven years the Revolutionary War. He died Virginia, when about eighty-eight years of age. The maternal grandfather, John Shrow, was born Lancaster County, Penn., and in that State received his final summons. Thomas C. Johnson, one of nine children, started out to fight life's battles for himself when quite young, learned the brick trade, working for his board and clothes for eight years, in Louisville. He then served eleven years as foreman for a man in Louisville for 11,200 per year, and then worked as a contractor, in Memphis, two years. From there he went to New Orleans, remained there one year, and during the winter time worked on a steamboat plying between. Louisville and New Orleans. As early as 1837 Mr. Johnson made a trip up Red River, and since 1855 has made his home in Shreveport, where he has been engaged in the manufacture of brick and in contracting and building. He has made millions of brick and built some of the best buildings in the city, including the Phoenix Hotel, etc. Mr. Johnson was married in Kentucky, in 1852, to Miss Phoebe Stoddard, a native of Utica, N. Y., who was left an orphan, daughter of Amos Stoddard, who died in Indiana.

She died in 1870, leaving four children, three now living. Mr. Johnson's second marriage occurred in 1873, to Miss Rebecca, daughter of Capt. William Holmes, who ran a steamboat on Red River for a number of years. He was an early settler of Shreveport, coming here in 1837, and here he passed the remainder of his days. His daughter was born here, and by her marriage became the mother of three children, two daughters and one son, the latter deceased. Mr. Johnson has a tine Red River plantation of 812 acres, and good property in town, all the fruits of his own industry. In 1861 he joined the Twenty-fifth Louisiana Infantry, but was soon detailed to do work at the arsenal, where he remained until the close of hostilities. He is a member of the A. P. & A. M., Caddo Lodge No. 177, Shreveport Chapter No. 10 and Council. He is a man with a wonderful constitution, and in spite of the hard work he has done, he has never been sick a day, and is active and very strong. Mrs. Johnson is a member of the Presbyterian Church.

John R. Jones is the proprietor of one of the largest lumber mills in the State, which was established by the present proprietor in 1870, and took the name of Caddo Mills. The mills, yards, etc., cover an area of five acres of land along the river, and the value of the plant is estimated at $250,000. This mammoth concern is the outgrowth of a small business started by Mr. Jones at the abovementioned date, and he now is an extensive dealer in all kinds and sizes of rough and dressed lumber, sash, doors, blinds and shingles. He has a trade that extends throughout all sections of the West and Southwest, and even into Mexico. Its capacity is 50,000 cubic, feet per day, and sixty-five hands are given employment the year round, but besides this establishment Mr. Jones is the owner of an extensive mill eighty miles south of Shreveport, on the New Orleans Pacific road, the value of this plant being $200,000, and the capacity 75,000 feet per day. In connection with this mill there are twelve miles of railroad, which is used to convey logs from the interior of the forest to the mill, and in this concern a tree can be taken at the stump, and when done with put into a first-class building in any shape or size that is required. Pine wood is cut exclusively here, eighty hands are employed, and the product of both mills per year is about 20,000,000 feet of lumber.

 The mention of Mr. Jones' name in lumber and building circles carries with it, for obvious reasons, a prestige and confidence seldom enjoyed by any firm, and this is in a large degree owing to the pluck and business capabilities always shown by Mr. Jones. He is now in a position to meet all competition, and makes prices as low as the lowest, and although he started in the business in a humble way, he has, through his own exertions, built up a trade second to none. The lumber trade of this section has given Shreveport an importance in this branch of business, and one which has added much to her commercial reputation, and Mr. Jones has been largely instrumental in bringing about this desirable result. He was born in Wales, but when very young left his native land to come to America, and in 1865 he settled Shreveport, La., commencing his business career as a clerk. He is interested in a number of enterprises besides his mills, being a director in the Building Association, the Gas Works Company, Belt Railway, besides other concerns.

Capt. William Kinney, proprietor of the marble works of Shreveport, La., is another of the many representative citizens of foreign birth now residing in the parish, his birth occurring in County Limerick, Ireland, August 25, 1836. His parents, Dennis and Ellen (Callopy) Kinney, were natives of the Emerald Isle, and the mother received her final summons there. The father sailed for America in 1848, located in Columbus, Ohio, and there his death occurred in 1886. He was a carpenter by trade. He was twice married, four children being the fruits of the first union and four also of the second. Capt. William Kinney was left an orphan at an early age and when about twelve years of age, in company with his brothers and sisters, he sailed for America, taking passage at Queenstown. He landed in New York City, but went direct to Columbus, Ohio, where he learned the trade of marble cutter. He also attended school there and there remained until twenty years of age, when he came South. He worked at Yazoo City, Miss., then went to New Orleans, and in 1860 came to Shreveport. In ISO! he enlisted in Company P, Third Louisiana Infantry and served until the surrender. He entered the ranks as a private and came out as captain. He was captured at Vicksburg, but was shortly afterward paroled and joined his regiment at Alexandria. He surrendered at Shreveport. Afterward he engaged in his present business and has carried it on until the present time, meeting with good success. He has never sought office, but has attended strictly to his business. He is a member of the Confederate Veteran Association, of which he is recording secretary, and also holds the same position in the Catholic Knights. In 1870 his nuptials with Miss Clara G. Geisse, a native of Pennsylvania, were celebrated, and the result of this union was five children: William B., Leonard E., Paul G., Frances B. and Anna C. Mr. Kinney is the owner of about 900 acres of woodland in Texas and considerable property in Shreveport.

John Lake, sheriff and collector of Caddo Parish, has been a resident of the same since thirteen years of age and the confidence which the people have in him is therefore intelligently placed, for they have had every opportunity to judge of his character and qualifications. He was originally from South Carolina, his birth occurring in Edgefield County, June 12, 1840, and is the son of Elias and Eleanor (Henderson) Lake, natives of South Carolina. In 1853 the parents emigrated to the Creole State and located in Caddo Parish, where the father died in 1858. He was a planter by occupation. The mother is still living and is now residing in Marshall, Tex., in her eightieth year. She was the mother of thirteen children, has never in her life weighed over ninety pounds, and is rarely sick. There are two sons and four daughters now living. John Lake was but a lad when he came to Caddo Parish, and he subsequently returned to South Carolina, where -he attended Furman University at Greenville, graduating in 1861. He made a speech at the close and then enlisted immediately in Company A, Hampton Legion, serving two years. He received but one slight wound during service.

 In the winter of 1802 he returned to Shreveport, La.-, and was on detached service. Later he was engaged in planting, lumbering, merchandising and speculating for many years. In 1879 he was elected sheriff and collector, and so great was his popularity that he has been elected twice since. The first time he had seven competitors, the second time one, and the third time none at all. It is but saying the truth when the statement is made that no more capable man for the position could be found than Mr. Lake. He is popular with all, kind and courteous in his intercourse with his fellow men, and is always willing to aid any enterprise which tends to the interests of Caddo Parish. He owns a large cotton plantation, and is very successful in this pursuit. His wife was formerly Miss Josephine Wood, a native of South Carolina, whom he married in 1862, and eight children have been the fruits of this union: Elias, Isaac W., Nellie H. (wife of W. A. Mabray), Lizzie L. (wife of W. B. Figgers, an attorney of Jefferson, Tex.), Joseph R., Thomas H., John and Mattie J. Socially Mr. Lake is a member of the A. F. & A. M., the K. of P., A. 0. U. W., K. of H. and K. of St. J. Mr. Lake is one of the well-known and popular spirited citizens of Northwest Louisiana. He stands at the head in a social point of view and is in every sense of the word a gentleman.

Hon. John R. Land, attorney-at-law and representative of Caddo Parish, La., owes his nativity to Lexington, Miss., his birth occurring July 9, 1862, and is the son of Judge Thomas T. and Mary E. (Dillingham) Land, natives of Tennessee and Mississippi, respectively. Judge Land was born in Rutherford County, December 7, 1815, and is the eldest son of Charles and Sarah (Bass) Land. His father, who was a planter, was a native of South Carolina, and his mother, who was the daughter of a planter, was a native of North Carolina. Both were of English descent, their ancestors having emigrated to the Southern colonies prior to the Revolutionary War, in which Capt. John Land, the great-grandfather of Judge Land, was killed battle in South Carolina. While Judge Land was still an infant his parents moved from Tennessee to North Alabama, and after a residence there of ten years emigrated to Yazoo County, Miss., where Charles Land died in his early manhood, in 1834. Afterward his wife resided in Tchula, Holmes County, Miss., for many years, and there died in the summer of 1862, at an advanced age. Judge Land was thoroughly educated in the University of Virginia, and also attended the law school there. In those far distant days there were no railroads, and Judge Land made the journey on horseback from Yazoo County, Miss., to the University of Virginia, a distance of not less than 900 miles, during the first two months of 1833. He was married September 25, 1839, to Miss Mary E. Dillingham, of Washington County, Miss. Mrs. Land, who is a lady of culture and refinement, is still living. She numbers among her distinguished relatives the late Gov. Runnels and the late Gov. Humphreys, of Mississippi.

The same year of his marriage Judge Land was elected a member of the Mississippi Legislature from Holmes County, and was re-elected at the expiration of his terra. At the end of his four years' service in the Mississippi Legislature he declined a nomination for the State Senate, tendered him by the Whig party, of which he was a member. In 1840 he came to Shreveport, La., where he established his permanent domicile and commenced the practice of law. In 1854 he was elected judge of the judicial district, composed of the parishes of Caddo, De Soto and Bossier to fill a vacancy. At the end of his term Judge Land declined re-election.

In 1858 the Judge was elected associate justice of the Supreme Court of Louisiana, to fill the unexpired term of Judge Henry M. Spofford, who had resigned. After his election Judge Land purchased a home in the city of New Orleans, and resided there with his family until the second year of the war. In 1861 he was re-elected associate justice of the Supreme Court, without opposition, for the full term of ten years, and remained on the bench until the end of the war in 1865. He then resumed the practice of law in Shreveport. In 1879 he was elected a delegate to the constitutional convention, and was appointed chairman of the judiciary committee, which was composed of twenty-one able and experienced lawyers, to whose painstaking labors the people of Louisiana are indebted for their present judiciary system. Judge Land has never been a politician nor office-seeker, and it may be most truthfully affirmed of him that the offices which he has had the honor of filling have sought the man and not the man the offices.

While his heart is filled with the milk of human kindness toward all men, Judge Land is instinctively an aristocrat his ideas, thoughts and manner of life, which are exclusive and conservative in a marked degree. The marriage of Judge and Mrs. Land was blessed by the birth of fourteen children, seven children and eighteen grandchildren now living. Three sons, Alfred D., David T. and John R. Land, reside in Shreveport, and follow their father's profession of the law. The fourth son, Charles A. Land, is a planter residing in Caddo Parish. The three daughters are married: the eldest, Sallie, to Gen. Leon Jastremski, of New Orleans; the second, Maggie May, to the Hon. George A. Wilson, of Lexington, Miss., and the third, Carrie, to Col. James H. Hollingsworth, of Kosciusko, Miss. In 1884 Judge Land retired from the practice of law, and his two younger sons succeeded him in the law firm of Land & Land. Since then he has supervised his planting interests.

On December 7, 1890, Judge Land reached his seventy-sixth birthday, and is still jn the enjoyment of good health, with the love of a devoted wife, children and grandchildren to brighten and cheer the sunset of his life. His son, Hon. John R. Land, was educated at Washington University, Lexington, Va., and at an early age began the study of law, being admitted to the bar in 1884. He has gained an honorable place among his brother practitioners, and the prosecution of his professional duties is meeting with encouraging success. He is the junior member of the firm of Land & Land, which is one of the prominent legal firms of Shreveport. In 1888 he was elected to represent Caddo Parish in the Legislature, and the same year he was a member of the State convention to nominate delegates to the presidential convention, and a member of the congressional convention. He is one of the prominent young men of Caddo Parish, and his career thus far has been both successful and honorable. He is a member of the Elks.

P. A. Leonard, district deputy clerk, Shreveport, La. Mr. Leonard was born in Campbell County, Ky., on April 1, 1842, and was but seven years of age when his parents moved to Shreveport, La. He had the advantages of a good common school education while growing up, and in 1861, when but nineteen years of age, he donned his suit of gray, shouldered his musket, and enlisted in Company B, Eleventh Louisiana Infantry. He served over three years in the Trans-Mississippi Department, and was in all its engagements. Returning to Shreveport after the war he was made city comptroller, holding that position in a satisfactory manner for two years. After this he was engaged the real estate business for about fourteen years, and was parish assessor most of that time. He is still engaged in the real estate business to some extent, and as a real estate and land agent he stands deservedly high in commercial circles. He has been district deputy clerk for about a year, and is peculiarly qualified for this office. Socially he is a member of the K. of P., the K. of H. and the L. of H . Mr. Leonard was married in 1869 to Miss Josephine Wilder, by whom he has five children: Nettie, Josephine, Willie, Adaline and Mattie. Mrs. Leonard is a member of the Presbyterian Church. The parents of our subject, Adam and Ann (Harris) Leonard, were natives respectively of Pennsylvania and Tennessee. The Leonard family is of German origin, the paternal grandfather having emigrated from Germany to the United States, and settled in Pennsylvania at an early day. There his death occurred. He was a soldier in the War of 1812.

Adam Leonard emigrated to Kentucky in 1840, located Campbell County, and there made his home until 1849. He then moved to Shreveport, La., where he died in 1866. He was a planter. The mother died in 1884. They had six children, only one (A. H.) besides F. A. now living. Col. R. H. Lindsay is a general commission merchant and real estate agent of Shreveport, La., but was born in Montrose, Scotland, in 1832, and is a son of William and Mary (Hume) Lindsay, the latter being a niece of the celebrated Joseph Hume. The father died in his native land after serving as a Government officer for forty-eight years, but the mother is still living. They were the parents of twelve children, of whom Col. R. H. was the fifth order of birth. He was educated in Scotland, served an apprenticeship in the Glasgow Apothecary Company, but in 1851 left home and friends and started for the United States to seek his fortune, taking passage at Greenock on a sailing vessel, and landing at New York after a forty-four days' ocean voyage. He soon after went to Milledgeville, Ga., where he passed an examination before the medical board, then went to New Orleans and secured employment as a clerk in a drug store. After remaining in that city until December, 1851, he came to Shreveport, La., under engagement for John W. Morris, who died of yellow fever in. 1853.

He subsequently embarked in the grocery and cotton business, and was interested in both these enterprises at the breaking out of the Civil War. He then abandoned his business and helped to raise the Caddo Fencivals, going out as a third lieutenant, but for faithful, efficient service and gallantry he was promoted to the rank of captain, then to major, and finally to lieutenant-colonel, having command of the Sixteenth Louisiana Regiment, and served as such until the final surrender. He was in nearly all the principal engagements of the war, and at the close of hostilities returned to Shreveport and took control of three stores belonging to some northern parties, afterward going into the cotton business, and securing an interest in a cotton compress. He is now president of the Morris Compress Company, is president of the board of health, and has been for three years, and is the present assessor of Caddo Parish. He is a member of the Masonic fraternity, the K. of P., the K. of H., and is commander of the L. of H. He was married in 1875 in Nashville, Tenn., to a daughter of Rev. Dr. Blake, and to them two children have been born: Nannie B. and Mary H. Mr. and Mrs. Lindsay are members of the Presbyterian Church, and he is an elder in the same. He is a man whose honor has never been questioned, and, as he has ever had the interests of his adopted country warmly at heart, he does all in his power to promote her interests and gives liberally of his means to enterprises of a worthy nature.

James B. McCain is one who has lived in Caddo Parish, La., since 1851, but was born in Perry County, Ala., February 27, 1824, being a son of John and Mary Ann (Brown) McCain, the former a native of South Carolina, and the latter of Kentucky. They were taken to Perry County, Ala., by their parents in their youth, and were there reared and married, and after the birth of the subject of this sketch, who was the eldest of their six children, and the only one' now living, he was brought by them to Caddo Parish, La., and here both parents died, he in 1869, when over seventy of age, and she in 1863, when sixty years of age, both being members of the Baptist Church, of which he was a minister. On first starting west, it was with the intention of going to Texas, but on reaching this parish he was so pleased with the aspect of affairs that here he determined to pitch his tent, and for that time eventually became a wealthy farmer. He was of Scotch descent, and in his political views a Whig. James B. McCain was given fair educational advantages, and upon reaching a suitable age he began assisting his father on the home plantation, and being thoroughly familiar with every detail of the work, he has since made it his chief calling, and although he lost all he had accumulated during the war, by energy and good management, he has since become the owner of 1,800 acres of land, a goodly portion of which is under cultivation, and well improved with buildings, fences, etc.

In 1886 he purchased a steam cotton-gin, which he has since operated, and in this, as well as all his other enterprises, he has met with good success. Before the war he was captain of a company of militia, and during that time he joined the Confederate service, and was detailed to help operate the iron works in Cass County, Tex., being under Capt. Robson during the last two years of the war. In 1847 he married Elizabeth lies, who was born in Louisiana, and came with her father to Caddo Parish in 1838, and in this parish she died, in 1848, when seventeen years of age. His second marriage took place in 1854, his wife being Miss O. A. Cole, a daughter of Noah A. Cole, of this parish. She was born in Alabama, and died in 1860, leaving, besides her husband, four children to mourn their loss, two now living: J. R. (a farmer of this parish), and Wealthy (wife of William Vaughn, who also resides here). One child died in infancy, and John was four years old at the time of his death. July 29, 1868, Mr. McCain's third marriage took place, the maiden name of his wife being Fannie Parnell, a daughter of John Parnell, her birth occurring in this parish in 1848. To them ten children have been born, six living: E. S., Hearsey, J. P., Ruth, James B., Jr., and Katie. Those deceased are George N., Mary, Fannie and Will. Mrs. McCain is a member of the Primitive Baptist Church, and he is a Democrat in his political views, and is one of the leading and enterprising citizens of this section. Col. S. B. McCutchen, president of the Commercial National Bank, at Shreveport, and one of the oldest and most substantial citizens of that city, was born in Columbus, Georgia, in July, 1834.

His father, Mark McCutchen, was a native of Georgia, and his mother, whose maiden name was Miss Pamelia Brown, was a native of Florida. The parents emigrated to Caddo Parish, Louisiana, in January, 1848, locating twelve, miles from Shreveport, and there the father followed planting up to the time of his death, which occurred in 1858. The mother died in 1872. Of the four children born to their marriage, only one besides our subject is now living, Mrs. Hagood, of Texas. When about thirteen years of age, Col. S. B. McCutchen came with his parents to Louisiana, and here he received the principal part of his education the common schools, which were considered very good. He remained on the farm until nineteen years of age, and then began book-keeping in Magnolia, Tex., remaining there for five years. After this he returned home, and took charge of his father's plantation for one year. In 1860 he came to Shreveport, and kept books for Walters & Elder, until the threatening war-cloud broke over the Union. In 1862 he enlisted in Company I, Twenty-seventh Louisiana Regiment, and was subsequently made a lieutenant.

He filled the position of Act. Assist. Adjutant-General, and was in Gen. Allen Thomas' brigade. He was captured at the siege of Vicksburg, but was paroled soon after. He participated in all the engagements of his regiment, has as good a war record as any man in the State, and commanded a very fine set of men. Returning home after the war, he kept books for a private bank until 1868, and after this was engaged in the commission business, continuing at this until 1884, since which time he has been connected with the Commercial National Bank. He was made president of the same January, 1890. He was president of the Cotton Exchange for six years, and is president of the board of trustees of Thatcher Institute. He is a member of the Masonic fraternity, and a charter member of the commandery, and is eminent commander of the latter. He is connected with the Electric Railway Company, of which he is president, and is a member of the Shreveport Gin Company. He is also the owner of considerable real estate. He was married, in 1869, to Miss Amelia, daughter of Judge J. M. Ford, and they are the parents of four children: Marcus A., Bessie, Mertis and S. B., Jr.

Mr. and Mrs. McCutchen are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South. The Commercial National Bank, of which Mr. McCutchen is the president, is the outgrowth of a private bank established as far back as 1852. It was nationalized in 1887, and has a paid-in capital of $100,000, with a surplus of $21,000, and undivided profits of $24,000. A general banking business is done, and the concern is looked upon as one of the strongest and safest financial establishments in this section of the country, the officers and directors being men of large means and sound business judgment. The officers are S. B. McCutchen, president; J. P. Scott, vice-president, and T. L. Stringfellow, cashier, who, together with the following gentlemen, constitute the board of directors: J. G. McWilliams, Jos. Boisseau, N. Gregg, H. F. Doll, Jacob Dillinger and R. N. McKeller. The correspondents of this bank in other cities are the Importers & Traders' National Bank of New York; Hibernia National Bank of New Orleans, and the Commercial Bank of St. Louis. Mr. Stringfellow, tho cashier, has been with the bank eleven years, and is an able financier.

R. N. McKellar is one of the leading cotton factors in this section of the country, and since 1879 has carried on the work which his father so successfully established in 1873. He was born in Anderson County of the Lone Star State, but his parents, E. D. and Susan (Miller) McKellar, were born in Alabama, and are now deceased. The father was married twice, and by his first wife became the father of R. N. and Mrs. T. O. Townsend, of Pueblo, Col., his second union being to Mrs. J. B. Hodges, by whom he became the father of three children: Virginia H , Hattie and Learline.

R. N. McKellar was reared in his native State, a portion of his education being also received there, and in 1869 came to Shreveport, La., with his parents and here finished his education, his vacations being spent in clerking in his father's store. He became associated with his father in this business in 1873, and continued with him until the latter's death in 1879, when he assumed entire control of the business, which he conducted under the old firm name until 1882, then changed the style to his own name and has successfully conducted affairs up to the present time. He handles between 10,000 and 12,000 bales of cotton annually, and is looked upon as authority in matters pertaining to the cotton interests. In connection with this he does an extensive commission business, and during 1880-87-88, he was president of the Cotton Exchange. He is a leading citizen of Caddo Parish, in all that the term implies, and there is no measure of importance to the welfare of the general public in which Mr. McKellar is not interested. He is an active member of the city council, is now serving his third term, and is a director in the Commercial National Bank. He is a stockholder in the Merchants & Farmers' Bank, and has been president of the Board of Trade. He is a Knight Templar the Masonic fraternity and is a member of the order of Elks. His marriage, which was consummated in 1882, was to Miss Theo Hamilton, a daughter of Dr. D. B. Hamilton, and to their union two children have been born: Edwin D. and Mary B. Mrs. McKellar is a lady of intelligence and culture, and is an earnest member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. Mr. McKellar is a man who manifests excellent judgment in the management of his business affairs, but is unassuming in his manner, and is a genial and social gentleman to meet.

Marion McMillan, planter, of Ward 7, Caddo Parish, La., was born in Rapides Parish in 1832, being the son of Archie B. and Lucinda (Vines) McMillan, natives of North Carolina and South Carolina, respectively. His parents were married in Alabama and moved from there at an early date to Rapides Parish, and in 1837 settled in Caddo Parish, where the father died in 1870; his widow died in 1879. The father was a planter by occupation, and his father, Archie McMillan, was a Scotchman by birth, and breathed his last the State of North Carolina. Andrew Jackson Vines, grandfather of the subject of this sketch, was born in South Carolina, and died Sabine Parish about 1860. He was of Scotch-French descent. Marion McMillan was the fourth in number of the ten children born to his parents, and passed his early life on the plantation, receiving a good education at private neighborhood schools. In 1856 he married Miss Georgiana Gray, daughter of Charles and Louisa Gray, who was born Alabama. To this union have been born two sons and four daughters. After his marriage, the subject of this sketch lived in several different places, but came from Texas to Caddo Parish, and has continued to make this his home. He is the owner of about 1,500 acres of valuable land, which is divided into two plantations, the home place being only about eight miles south of Shreveport. During the late war, Mr. McMillan served about a year, being detailed by Kirby Smith to do teaming from Shreveport to Houston. Mr. McMillan is one of the most thoroughly progressive planters in this prosperous State, and has accumulated all his " worldly goods " by means of his industry and ability. Everywhere it is a generally conceded fact that Southern gentlemen are, as a rule, unusually courteous and generous in their opinion of others, and Mr. McMillan belongs to this class, being a most hospitable and elegant host and a kind neighbor.

Thomas A.. Miller, planter, of Ward 7, Caddo Parish, La., was born near Spring Ridge in 1851, being the son of John Isaac and Susan (Blakely) Miller, who were married in Caddo Parish. He is the eldest of the six children born to his parents, and passed his youth on his father's plantation, receiving in the meantime a moderately good education. When only fourteen years of age he commenced a business career for himself, and first took charge of the home place. In 1874 he married Miss Sallie Burke, daughter of William and Sarah Burke, and born in De Soto Parish. To this union have been born three sons and one daughter. Mr. Miller, after marriage, settled on his present farm, which is situated near Keithville, and contains about 280 acres of land. He has accumulated a comfortable fortune by his own exertion and energy, and is a gentleman of most, courteous and agreeable manners. He served one year as constable, and now holds a contract for carrying the mail between Keithville and Springfield. He is a member of the Farmers' Alliance. Both Mr. and Mrs. Miller are closely identified with the Methodist Church. The Miller family is an old and honored one through the South, many of the ancestors being famous for bravery in defending their country. George Miller came to this parish many years ago, and served as a soldier in the Confederate army. He was of Irish descent. Grandfather Blakely came to Caddo Parish about 1839, and was killed by a horse, when the subject of this sketch was a small boy. The South has at all times been noted for the kindness of her people, and Mr. Miller is a worthy representative of the Southern gentleman, and he merits great praise for having taken up the scattered threads of his life and weaving them into a pleasing whole.

Judge John C. Moncure, judge of appellate court, Shreveport, La. With an equal scale He weighs the affairs betwixt man and man; He is not so soothed with adulation, Nor moved with tears to wrest the course of justice Into an unjust current to oppress the innocent; Nor does he make the laws Punish the man, but in the man the cause. These words, written by one who is now among the foremost lawyers of this country, describes most truly the even-handed justice administered in the court of this honest and upright magistrate. Judge John C. Moncure is not unknown to the people of this portion of Louisiana, for he has held many positions of trust and honor since first coming here in 1800. He was originally from the Old Dominion, his birth occurring in Stafford County on January 5, 1827, and is the son of Judge R. C. L. and Mary W. (Conway) Moncure, natives also of Virginia, of Huguenot origin. The ancestors were French Protestants, and during the Revolution were driven out of that country. Col. William Washington, of Revolutionary note, was a relative of Mrs. Mary W. (Conway) Moncure.

The paternal grandfather was a farmer on the banks of the Potomac River in Virginia. He died at Summerset. The maternal grandfather was clerk of the circuit court for a number of years, and also died in Virginia during the Civil War when in his ninetieth year. The father of our subject was chief justice of Virginia for a number of years, being put on the bench in 1851, and holding that position continuously until 1882, except during the reconstruction period. He died on the bench in the last-named year. He was a member of the Virginia Legislature for three sessions, 1827, 1849 and 1850, and was a member of the constitutional convention of the latter year. He was a distinguished man in his profession, and was well known throughout the country. His family consisted of twelve children who grew to maturity, and Judge John 0. Moncure was the eldest. He was reared in his native State, and supplemented a common-school education by a course at the Military Institute at Lexington, Va., graduating in 1847. Soon alter attaining his twenty-first year he began studying law and was admitted to the bar in 1849. He practiced his profession in Fredericksburg, Va., and was State prosecuting attorney, being three times elected to that position. In the winter of 1860 he came to Shreveport, La., and early in the beginning of hostilities he enlisted in Capt. Nutts company, serving until the surrender. He was promoted to the rank of major on Gen. C. J. Polignac's staff, commanding the Second Louisiana Division. After the war he again engaged in his profession.

In 1870 he was elected to the Legislature, re-elected in 1872, and was counted out by the returning board, but served in what was known as the McHenry Legislature and was its speaker. While holding this position he was, arrested and put in prison by the Kellogg police. In 1874 he was nominated by the Democratic Convention at Baton Rouge for State treasurer, was elected, but again counted out. In 1878 he was again elected to the Legislature, and elected unanimously as the speaker. In 1880, under the new constitution, he was elected to his present position with great unanimity, and has held that office continuously since, being re-elected in 1888. It may be seen that the Judge has had political honors showered upon him since his residence in Shreveport, having been almost continuously in office. The Judge was married in 1850 to Miss Fannie D. Tomlin, of Virginia, by whom he has two children living: Conway (who is in the wholesale saddlery and harness business at Shreveport), and Fannie. The Judge is a Knight Templar the Masonic fraternity. C. Moncure is a member of the firm of Moncure & Price, manufacturers of saddlery and harness at Shreveport, La., which firm is the successors of Looney, Moncure & Co., the present style being adopted in January, 1889. Mr. Moncure was born in Stafford County, Va., in July, 1852, his father being Judge J. G. Moncure, whose sketch appears in this volume.

The subject of this sketch came to Shreveport, La., with his parents when seven years of .age, and here grew to manhood, receiving the advantages of the common schools. In 1808 he entered a harness shop, and after serving an apprenticeship of nearly four years he was promoted to a clerkship in the establishment belonging to Horan & Looney, and served with them in the above-named capacity until 1883, when he became interested with Mr. Looney the same business, and due course of time the present partnership was formed with T. S. Price, their business the last year being very much larger than that of the old firm during the preceding year. All kinds of harness, saddles and bridles are manufactured, and being the largest and most complete establishment of the kind in this section of the country, they do a large and paying business in Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi and Texas.

The salesroom and manufactory is at 124 Texas Street, the building occupied being two stories, measuring 25 x 150 feet. Twenty hands are employed, and enormous quantities of Texas saddles are turned out each season. The members of this firm are young men of push, enterprise and industry, and are building up a trade of which they may well be proud. They are interested in the Merchants & Farmers' Bank, besides other enterprises, and Mr. Moncure is the owner of considerable real estate in the city, and, gives every promise of becoming a man of wealth. Mr. Moncure's father has been known to say that his son has not had the help of a dollar since he was thirteen years of age, and for this reason he deserves much credit for the admirable manner in which he has surmounted the many difficulties which have strewn his pathway. He has the satisfaction of knowing that what he has has been earned by his own industry, pluck and perseverance, and by the manifestation of these traits his future success is assured. He was married in 1884, to Miss Effie Jones, of Shreveport, and to them have been born two daughters: Fannie and Kate. Mr. and Mrs. Moncure are worthy members of the Episcopal Church. For a number of years past he was president of the fire department.

Robert F. Moore. The South has from time immemorial been noted for the hospitality and courtesy of her citizens, and while this is general it is nowhere more pronounced than in the State of Louisiana, where the people are genial and kind as can be. Agricultural pursuits are among the chief avenues for reaching success, and prominent among those who are successfully pursuing this occupation is Robert F. Moore. He was born in Oglethorpe County, Ga., in 1830, being the son of Francis H. and Priscilla (Holmes) Moore, born in Alabama and Oglethorpe County in the latter part of 1807, and married in the State of Georgia. The father died 1848 and the mother in 1873, being at the time of her death a faithful member of the Methodist Church. The former was of Irish descent, and the grandfather of Robert, William Holmes, settled in Oglethorpe County many years ago, and there passed his life, and passed to his final resting-place. Robert Moore is the youngest of the four children born to his parents. He spent his childhood and youth on the plantation, receiving only a common-school education, but learning habits of perseverance and industry that have contributed greatly to his success.

After reaching his nineteenth year he took charge of the estate, which he managed most satisfactorily. He moved to Caddo Parish in the year 1857, and in 1802 was united in marriage to Miss Sallie P. Collier, daughter of F. P. and Daridley Collier, both of whom died in Georgia. To this union were born eight children, three sons and five daughters. Immediately after coming to Caddo, Mr. Moore purchased his present estate, consisting of 720 acres of valuable land, and situated seven miles southwest of Shreveport. There is nothing more to a man's credit than the fact of having accumulated a comfortable fortune by means of his own efforts, and without assistance of any kind, and this can truthfully be said of the subject of the present sketch. In 1802 Mr. Moore, true to the instincts of his nature, which prompted him to give his services in behalf of his native country, enlisted in the war, joining Benson's squadron of cavalry of Louisiana troops, and took part in the battles of Arkansas Post, Mansfield and Helena, and numerous skirmishes. He served as orderly sergeant, and just before the close of the war was made captain. He belongs to the class of gentlemen who labor for the good of their homes, States and the Nation, trying in every way to advance both religious and educational causes. Mr. Moore is a member of A. F. & A. M., Land Mark Lodge No. 214. Thus as the world grows older and the age of progress becomes stronger, each day furnishes examples of the good results brought about by honesty, energy and strict integrity of purpose.

George W. Musser, planter of Ward 8, Caddo Parish, La., is the subject of the present sketch, and a gentleman well liked both by his friends and neighbors, and also popular with the visitors who have occasion to partake of his hospitality and kindly welcome. His birth occurred in Bedford County, Tenn., 1844, being the son of Ewing and Mary (Wade) Musser, natives of the Blue-Grass State, and Shelby County, Tenn., respectively. They were married many years ago, and in 1858 moved to Newton County, Mo., where the father was killed by the bushwhackers in 1862, and thee mother had breathed her last the year previous. Mr. Musser's paternal grandfather, George Musser, was of German descent and died Kentucky. His maternal grandfather Wade died in Shelbyville, Tenn..

The subject of this sketch was the eldest of the six children born to his parents. He passed his youth on a plantation, and received only a very moderate amount of educational training. In 1861, when only seventeen, he joined Company D. of Gordon's regiment of Pagan's division of Arkansas Cavalry, and took part in the battles of Prairie Grove, Mark's Mill, and was in the Price raid, in Missouri. He was severely wounded at Poison Springs and surrendered at Shreveport when peace was once more restored throughout the country. He first settled at Bossier Parish, and in 1879 married Miss Nancy C. Moss, daughter of J. C. C. and Emily Moss, natives of Alabama and Arkansas, respectively. Mrs. Musser was born in Alabama, and to her union have been born two sons. In 1879 Mr. Musser crossed the river into Caddo Parish, near Robson, P. O., and here owns a fine plantation of 200 acres of highly cultivated land. His present plantation is about sixteen miles from Shreveport, and he is showing good judgment in the cultivation of his land, and is meeting with truly wonderful success in all his agricultural undertakings.

Arthur J. Newman, assistant cashier of the Merchants & Farmers' Bank, Shreveport, La., is a thoroughly capable and experienced accountant, and has been in the banking business for fifteen years. He was originally from England, his birth occurring in Exeter on August 11, 1843, and is a son of John F. and Caroline (Newcomb) Newman, both natives also of that country. The father was a professor of music for a number of years, or until he went entirely blind, and he and wife are still residents of Exeter. Their family consisted of nine children, four now living: Mary S. (in England), Frank T. and Katie (wife of Frank Quick of England). Arthur J. Newman, the second in order of birth of the four children now living, was reared in his native country and received a thorough education in the very best schools, taking both a classical and scientific course. He also received an excellent musical education at the hands of his father, and this has not been entirely lost, for he has been for years prominent in amateur musical circles of Shreveport and has been at different times organist of St. Mark's Church. He frequently participates in concerts, and more than once in opera, indeed he directed the Confederate Concert, one of the finest ever given in the city. In the year 1858 he received a certificate that he had passed the University of Oxford (England) examination, of those who are members of the University.

The same year he sailed for America and landed at New Orleans on January 10, 1859. He came direct to Minden, now Webster Parish, and entered the employ of Chaffe & Co., remaining with this firm until January, 1861. After this he was with Hamilton & Fillmore until April, 1862, when he enlisted in Company B, Nineteenth Louisiana Infantry Volunteers, and served until the surrender at Meridian, Miss., on May 10, 1805. He was ordnance sergeant of the regiment and served in that capacity until cessation of hostilities, nearly all of his service. He holds his certificate of service dated but one day before the surrender of his command. It is as follows: " I certify that A. J. Newman, ordnance sergeant of my regiment, has been present with his command in the faithful discharge of his duties during the entire term of service, which includes the battles of Chickamauga, Missionary Ridge, Jackson, Mississippi, Georgia and Tennessee campaigns and Spanish Fort. CAMP FLOUBNEY, Major "Commanding Nineteenth Louisiana Regiment. "MERIDIAN, MISS., May 9, 1805."

Soon after the surrender of his command, hoping to return to England, Mr. Newman obtained from his brigadier-general, now United States senator, a letter, a copy of which is subjoined: NEW ORLEANS, LA., May 25, 1865. "I have much pleasure in expressing my high sense of the worth of Sergt. A. J . Newman, Nineteenth Louisiana Infantry, who for the period of the war has served, with the exception of brief intervals, under my command. I know him to be a good soldier and a good man. I commend him to the favorable attention of all of my acquaintances, and can assure his friends that they have just grounds to be proud of the part he has taken in the great American war.

"R. S. GIBSON, Brigadier-General." Mr. Newman started for England, but only got as far as Cairo, Ill, when the Government ordered not to issue any more transportation. At that time he had but $2.50 in gold. He returned to his former employers and came to Shreveport with Hamilton & Co., with whom he remained until March, 1868. After this he went with Col. B. M. Johnson, banker, and kept books until January 11, 1874, when he engaged in the tin business under the firm name of Cook & Newman, selling out in September, 1875. He subsequently went back with Hamilton & Co., remaining with this company until December 1, 1879, and then was with E. & B. Jacobs, afterward E. & W. B. Jacobs, who organized the First National Bank, and was with them until October 1, 1889. After this he was with the Merchants & Farmers' Bank, assisting greatly in opening the business, and has since been assistant cashier. No man has better business qualifications or is more capable to fill the position than Mr. Newman, for he is one of the finest financiers in the city. Public spirited, liberal minded and generous in disposition, he is one of the city's most prominent citizens and has a host of warm friends. Personally Mr. Newman is a most genial, jovial and agreeable man. Broad and liberal in his views of life and of human nature, he loves his friends and is loved by them. He is a member of the B. A. C. V., Shreveport, La., and was its financial secretary for several years. He is a member of the Masonic fraternity, Caddo Lodge No. 179, and was secretary for this organization for some time. Mr. Newman was married on December 14, 1869, to Miss Lizzie Brantley, a native of Caddo Parish, La., and to them have been born three children: Arthur B., Caroline N. and Fannie G. He and his estimable wife are members of the Protestant Episcopal Church.

John B. Newton is police juror of Ward 3, Caddo Parish, La., but was born Robertson County, Tenn., in 1833 (February 1), being a son of Robert and Rhoda (Byrns) Newton, their native birthplace being York District, S. C. They were both taken to Tennessee by their parents when children, where the father died when the subject of this sketch was a very small boy, his age being about forty-eight years. He had been a farmer and whisky distiller, and was one of the men who helped to make the famous Robertson County whisky, it being noted for its purity. He was the owner of two establishments. He was highly educated, was a soldier in the War of 1812, being present at the battle of New Orleans, and was also in one of the early Indian wars. He was a Whig, politically, and held different official positions.

After his death his widow moved with her family to Fayette County, West Tenn., and there remained until 1844, when they went to Harrison County, Tex., and in 1857 to Hopkins County where she died in 1864, at the age of seventy-one years, having been a worthy member of the Methodist Episcopal Church for many years. She had been married twice, her first husband being Isaac Henley, a native of South Carolina, who died in Tennessee.

Mr. Newton's father was also married twice, but the name of his first wife is unknown to the subject of this sketch. His second union resulted the birth of three children: Ann E. (widow of George White, now residing in Delta County, Tex.), Robert J. (who was in the Third Texas Cavalry, and died at Saltillo, Miss.), and John B. (who attended the schools of Payette County, Tenn., and McKenzie College, in Red River County, Tex.). Upon the eve of graduating he turned his attention to teaching school at Marshall, and was assistant principal, occupying the chair of mathematics. During this time he was engaged in studying law, but the opening of the war caused him to give up his studies, and in May, 186.1, he went to Dallas and joined the Third Texas Cavalry, being a member of Company A. The first battle in which he participated was Oak Hill, but from that time until the close of the war he was in a number of battles and skirmishes, among which maybe mentioned Hominy Greek, Elk Horn, Corinth, Iuka, Second Corinth, Franklin, Big Black, Jackson and Holly Springs, where he was promoted to captain and put on the staff of Gen. J. W. Whitfield and Gen. Ross, serving in this capacity until the close of the war.

Although he was not wounded during his service he had several horses shot from under him. He was a true and tried soldier, and made a faithful and efficient officer. At the close of the war his command did not surrender, but simply disbanded and returned home! He almost immediately went to Washington County, Tex., and for one year farmed on the Brazos, but in 1867 he came to Caddo Parish, La., and located on the plantation where he now resides. In 1865 he was married to Miss Mattie E. Hood, who was born in Texas and died in Waco seven months after their marriage. In 1868 he took for his second wife Miss Sarah L. A. Bickham, a daughter of B. R. Bickham. She was born in this parish in 1850, and is the mother of eight children, all of whom are living: Robert, Mande, John and May (twins), Alf, Wilkes, Wave and Frank. Mr. and Mrs. Newton are Methodists, and from a youth up he has taken an active part in church matters, and has been steward and secretary. He is a Mason and Democrat, and has served as magistrate two years, and the last two years as police juror. His son, Robert, recently married Miss Sudie Compton, a daughter of Dr. Compton, of this parish.

William E. Noel is a planter of Ward 3, Caddo, Parish, and was born hero on January 4, 1844, to Richard T. and Hettie (Burch) Noel, natives of Virginia and Alabama, respectively. In 1838 the father removed from his native State of Louisiana and located on a farm near where the subject of this sketch is now living, where he resided until his death, which occurred in 1873 at the age of fifty-eight years. He had been an officer in the State Militia, and was a very successful planter, being the owner of 150 slaves, which of course he lost during the war, his loss in other respects being also heavy. He was always economical and energetic, but the secret of his success was close attention to every detail of his business. Although formerly a Whig in politics he afterward became a Democrat. His wife came to this parish from Alabama about 1838, and 1840 she was married here to Mr. Noel, their union resulting in the birth of four children: William E., Jennie (wife of R. T. Cole, present representative of the parish in the State Legislature), Taylor (who is a farmer of this parish), and Sudie (wife of W. A. Elliott, also a planter here). The mother of these children makes her home with the subject of this sketch, and is now in her sixty-fourth year. William E. Noel received his primary education in the schools of Louisiana, but finished his education in William and Heury College in Virginia.

At the breaking out of the war he came home and joined the Seventeenth Louisiana Infantry, the company being known as the " Caddo Lake Boys," with which he served three years, when he was transferred to the Third Louisiana Cavalry, which was disbanded in Concordia Parish. He was captured shortly after and held a prisoner for about three mouths or until Lee surrendered when he was released. While with the Seventeenth he was in the battle of Shiloh and all around Vicksburg, being also in the siege of that place. He was never wounded but had some narrow escapes. Soon after the war he commenced to farm for himself, and also managed his father's affairs until the latter's death. He was married in 1869 to Miss Bettie, daughter of Jacob Hoss, of this parish. She was born this precinct and has borne her husband nine children, six sons and three daughters, all of whom are living. Mr. and Mrs. Noel are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, and he is a Mason, and in his political views a Democrat. He is the owner of extensive tracts of land, of which 1,500 acres are under cultivation, this being one of the largest plantations in the parish. His maternal grandfather, Jesse Burch, was a Methodist minister, and came to this State as a missionary in 1839, at which time there were but very few people living here.

James V. Nolan. In any worthy history of Caddo Parish, La., the name that heads this sketch should be given an enviable place among the leading citizens and its self-made business men. His career through life is one that reflects much credit upon him as a man, and he enjoys the reputation of being public spirited and thoroughly posted on all public affairs. He is at present the efficient secretary of the Cotton Exchange of Shreveport, and no better man for the position could be found, for besides being a rapid worker, he gives the minutest attention to every detail. He was born in the city of New Orleans, January 12, 1844, being the eldest of seven sons and three daughters born to James P. Nolan, who was an extensive importing merchant of New Orleans before the war, He was appraiser of the Custom House during Buchanan's administration, and during the war was appointed tax collector under the Confederate government in New Orleans. After living a useful and honorable life, he died in that city in 1870, mourned not only by his immediate and sorrowing household, but by all who knew him. James V. Nolan was reared and educated in the city of New Orleans, and upon the opening of the war in 1861, he joined the State service, and in January, 1862, was transferred to the Confederate State service, and served until the surrender.

He was retired from field service after the battle of Mansfield, and sent east of the Mississippi River under Gen. Dick Taylor, and was with him at Meridian, Miss., when he received his parole in May, 1865. He then returned home, and began working for the Southern Express Company at New Orleans, was quickly promoted to agent and opened the first express office in Shreveport, this being the month of March, 1867. He was in the service of this company for fourteen years, and was its superintendent of the State of Texas at the time of his resignation. In 1879 he was elected secretary of the Cotton Exchange of Shreveport, and has held this position continuously up to the present date. Three periods cover Mr. Nolan's business experience, four years spent in the army, fourteen years in the employ of the Southern Express Company, and twelve years as secretary of the Cotton Exchange, in all of which positions he has faithfully discharged every duty. Socially he is a member and past officer of the K. of P., the K. of H , the A. L. of H , an exempt member of the tire department, and has been a charter member, and is now vice-president of the United Confederate Veteran Association.

He was married in March, 1869, to Miss Jennie Bond, a native of England, and by her he is the father of three children. His family are regular attendants of the Catholic Church, are respected by all who know them, and move in the highest social circles of Shreveport. C. A. Nolan, a brother of James V., is the assistant secretary of the Shreveport Fair Association, and is a wide-awake, pushing and intelligent young gentleman. He was born in Hancock County, Miss., May 20, 1855, but like his brother, was reared and educated in the city of New Orleans. In 1870 he came to Shreveport, La., and was employed by the Southern Express Company for one year, after which he entered a saddlery establishment, and for some time attended to the office sales. He next became interested in merchandising and continued to follow this calling with success until 1889, when he accepted his present position, at which he is doing well. He possesses many worthy characteristics, and in his intercourse with his fellow-men he is courteous, agreeable and gentlemanlike. For the past seventeen years he has been a member and officer of the fire department, and has ever taken a deep interest in the welfare of Shreveport and vicinity. R. B. Patterson, retired, Shreveport, La. This prominent citizen owes his nativity to the Big Bend State, his birth occurring in Davidson County on June 10, 1826, and is the only one of eight children now living, born to the union of Martin and Elizabeth (Russell) Patterson, the father a native of South Carolina, and the mother of Tennessee.

The father went to Tennessee when a young man, met and married Miss Russell, and afterward resided in Davidson County, where he followed farming. Prom there he moved to Graves County, Ky., and there received his final summons. The mother died in Tennessee. R. B. Patterson attained his growth and received a fair education in the common schools of Tennessee. He was brought up to the arduous duties of the farm, and remained on the same until 1844, then came to Shreveport, La., in 1848. Here he engaged the brick maker's trade, and continued at the same for several years. He afterward embarked in the butcher's business, and was engaged in shipping stock, which he has since conducted, and has been very successful in his business.

Together with Col. B. M. Johnson, he invested $80,000 in a ranch in Texas, and had it well stocked with 10,000 head of cattle, which was a good investment. Owing to reverses caused by war he came to Shreveport, La., at which time he had but $500 in cash, although at the beginning of the war he was in good circumstances, but like many others this was all swept away. Since then he has been quite fortunate, and is to-day living in ease and comfort. He owns considerable town property, is one of the representative citizens, and has been identified here for forty-two years with the best interests of the community. In 1850 he was married to Miss Amanda Walpool, a native of Georgia, and they are the parents of four children: J. F., R. J. M., Lauretta (wife of J. G. Lee), and Fannie L. (wife of William Sorells, a druggist of Hot Springs.) Mr. Patterson is a member of the Masonic Fraternity, and he and wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church.

Judge W. C. Perrin, cotton factor and dealer in real estate, has been a resident of Shreveport for twenty-five years, and during that time has won for himself a leading place the mercantile and social circles of the city. He owes his nativity to Harrison County, Ky., his birth occurring in November 7, 1832, and his educational facilities were such as could be obtained in the common schools. He assisted his father on the home place until seventeen years of age, and then with the latter embarked in the hotel business, which they continued for four years. After this Judge W. C. Perrin was postmaster clerk at Vicksburg, Miss., for two years, then he taught school in the Blue- Grass State for a short time. From there he went to Kansas in 1857, and sold goods there while the Indians were still in the State. Later he returned to Kentucky and was book-keeper at Louisville for about four years. In 1862 he enlisted in Company E, Fourteenth Kentucky Cavalry, Morgan's command, and served until the close. He held the rank of corporal. He was captured at Cheshire, Ohio, taken to Camp Chase, then to Camp Douglas, Chicago, and was held a prisoner for a little over twenty-two months. He was exchanged with the last squad at the mouth of Red River. In 1865 he came to Shreveport, La., and was freight clerk with Phelps & Co., remaining in that capacity for two years. Subsequently he was with J. C. Eisner, and had charge of a wharf boat for some time, and then entered the employ of S. B. McCutcheon & Co., remaining fifteen years with this house. He then bought an interest and the firm became McCutcheon & Perrin, thus continuing for two years, when it was changed to Perrin & Ziegler. Pour years later Mr. Ziegler withdrew, and since then Judge Perrin has conducted the business alone. He makes a specialty of real estate and cotton, and does an extensive business.

Interested as he is in property of all kinds, and in the cotton market, he has at all times striven to advance the very best interests of the community. He is a popular man, and has held the office of treasurer of Caddo Parish for six years, also other offices of trust such as treasurer of the Board of Trade, treasurer of the Inter-State Loan Association, besides being connected with other matters of vital importance to the city. He does a general real estate business, and has city, suburban and country property for sale. He is a most thorough and energetic man of business, and reliable in all his transactions. He came here a poor boy, and has gradually worked his way to the front ranks of the substantial citizens of Shreveport, and now enjoys the fruits of his industry. The Judge is a member of the I. O. O. F. and the A.O.U.W.

He has been married twice, first in 1867 to Miss Georgia T. McPall, and the second time in 1885, to Miss Anna Conway. With his worthy wife he belongs to the Presbyterian Church. His parents, Green K. and Mary B. (Ingles) Perrin, were natives of Kentucky, and of French descent. The father was a farmer and passed his entire life in his native State. The mother died in Shreveport, La. They were the parents of ten children, seven of whom are living at the present time: Mrs. E. W. Sparks (of Shreveport), Benjamin F. (deceased), Solomon G. (in Shreveport), Gwinn K. (of Kentucky), Mrs. Anna Zabor (of Shreveport), Mrs. Evaline Demitt (of Cynthiana, Ky.), James L. (of Nicholas County, Ky.), and Mary (deceased). Israel W. Pickens. Prominent among the planters of Louisiana who bear such an enviable reputation for courtesy, good judgment and hospitality, ranks Israel W. Pickens, a brief sketch of whose life now claims attention.

His birth occurred in Lawrence County,' Miss., in the year 1832, he being the son of William L. and Nancy C. (Gordon) Pickens, natives of Kentucky and Alabama, respectively. His parents were married in Lawrence County, Miss., May 22, 1830, and three years later moved to Holmes County, in the same State, where the mother died in January, 1834. On the following year the father moved to Carroll County, and was there married on April 16, 1835, and in 1841 came to Shreveport, and five- miles from that city breathed his last Juno 6, 1852. He was in early life a merchant, but in the latter course of his life devoted his attention to agriculture. His father, William Pickens, a native of South Carolina, was born December 28, 1777, and died in Holmes County, Miss., in the summer of 1865, aged eighty-seven years, having served at one time as captain in an Indian war. Gabriel Pickens, one of the ancestors of this family, was a native of South Carolina, and brother of Gen. Andrew Pickens of Revolutionary fame. Isaac Gordon was a native of North Carolina and passed to his final resting place in Carroll County, Miss., in 1845, after attaining his sixtieth year. Thus it will be seen at a glance that the Pickens family is an old and honored one, and that they served their country faithfully and well when a necessity arose.

Israel Pickens is the only child born to his father's first marriage. He spent most of his youth on the plantation, and received a good English education. When twenty years of age, he commenced a business career for himself, and 1856 married Miss Mattie Herring, daughter of Williams G. and Martha Herring, natives of North Carolina and South Carolina, respectively. After their marriage Mr. and Mrs. Herring moved to Mississippi, and in 1848 came to Caddo Parish, settling on what is now known as the Herndon farm. Mr. Herring died in 1849, and Mrs. Herring in 1853. He served as circuit clerk and as sheriff, and at one time represented Carroll County, Miss., in the Legislature. They were of Scotch descent, and to them were born eleven children. Mrs. Pickens' birth occurred in Carroll County, Miss., and to her marriage have been born eleven children, five of whom are now living, viz.: Lula J. (wife of James J. Pickens, of Sulphur Springs, Tex.), Israel W. Jr., John Paxton, Bessie May and Robert Clyde. In 1859 Mr. Pickens settled on his present farm, which at that time was unimproved. This plantation is situated about ten miles south of Shreveport and comprises about 1,800 acres.

He has held several public offices; being appointed deputy sheriff in 1800, and elected sheriff in 1861 and 1833, and was twice elected afterward but not allowed to fill the office. During the Cleveland administration Mr. Pickens was deputy revenue collector for the Sixth division of the District of Louisiana for four years. He is a prominent member of the A. F. & A. M., is worshipful master of Land Mark Lodge 214. He has been district deputy grand master two years of the Tenth Masonic District of Louisiana. He is also a member of the I. O. O. P. and Farmers Union. Both himself and wife are identified with the Missionary Baptist Church, and are at all times interested in advancing bot educational and religious causes. Mr. Pickens is a member of both the board of trustees and board of directors of Keatchie Male and Female College, and a member of the executive board of the Louisiana Baptist State Convention.

Anchew S. Reisor, M. D. The subject of the present sketch is not only a practicing physician and surgeon, but is also a prominent merchant, and is postmaster at Reisor. His birth occurred on the same farm upon which he now resides, in 1849, and his parents were E. Madison and Charlotte (Scott) Reisor, natives of Alabama, who were married here, and settled in the woods, near what is now Reisor. Here, 1860, the father breathed his last, his widow is yet surviving him, now in her sixtieth year. They were both members of the Missionary Baptist Church, and devout Christians. Mr. Reisor was a successful planter and was the only one of his family who came to Louisiana. They were of German descent. The grandfather, Andrew Scott, and his wife, Matilda Jones Scott, were born in North Carolina and South Carolina, respectively. They moved from South Carolina to Alabama, and in 1847 came to Caddo Parish. Mr. Scott died in 1873, and his wife 1870, belonging at the time of their death to the Missionary Baptist Church. Their son, Capt. William J. Scott, was one of the best schoolteachers in Louisiana in the early days. He joined the Confederate army, serving as first lieutenant and afterward as captain.

Dr. Reisor was the eldest of the eight children born to his parents, of whom, at the present writing, three sous and one daughter are living. He was educated the neighborhood school of this place, and in McKenzie, Col., and at Clarksville, Tex. After finishing his studies, he was for some years a teacher in Panola and Hunt Counties in the Lone Star State, and in the meantime he devoted much time to the study of medicine, and in 1887 attended the Kentucky School of Medicine, at Louisville, graduating from there 1890. He is now one of the leading practitioners of the parish, as well as one of the prominent planters. Reisor Station was named for him, and he has been postmaster there since the office was first established. Dr. Reisor is a member of, and junior warden of, Land Mark Lodge No. 214, A. F. & A. M., Keithville, and is a member of Charity Lodge, A. O. U. W., of Shreveport. In 1870 he was married to Miss Alabama Scott, daughter of William Scott, a native of North Carolina, and Elizabeth Scott, a native of Alabama, who came here in 1860. Mr. Scott died in 1882, and Mrs. Scott is still living. To the subject of this sketch and his wife have been born one son and one daughter. The family belong to the Missionary Baptist Church, and are at all times active in trying to advance worthy causes.

John M. Robinson, of the firm of J. M. & G. W. Robinson, is an extensive planter at Bayou La Chute and police juror from Ward 8. He was born in Red River Parish, in 1857, being the son of George W. and Harriet A. (Bludworth) Robinson, natives of North Carolina and Louisiana, respectively. His parents were married Monroe, La., and soon settled in Red River Parish, where the father died in 1879, and the mother in 1871. The father was a successful planter, and took part in the Mexican War. The paternal grandfather of the subject of this sketch, John Robinson, died in North Carolina, and the maternal grandfather, Milton Bludworth, was one of the early settlers in Monroe, La., where he died about 1824. He, too, was a planter of great prominence. Mr. Robinson was the third of the seven children born to his parents, six of whom are now living. He spent his youth on a plantation, but received an excellent education, graduating from the Washington and Lee University of Lexington, Va., where he learned civil engineering, and at first devoted his attention to it. He afterward rented the home farm, and remained in Red River Parish until 1884. At that date he married Miss Mattie G. Hutchison, daughter of William J. Hutchison, one of the old pioneers, and one of the most universally esteemed planters in Caddo Parish. In this place Mrs. Robinson was born. To Mr. and Mrs. Robinson have been born three children. Since the war Mr. Robinson has continued to reside on his present plantation. He and his brother, George W. Robinson, own a valuable plantation on Red River, containing 1,700 acres of fine land under cultivation, and 3,800 acres in the whole estate. They are remarkably prosperous, and are doing about a $30,000 business each year.

Hon. William Robson, State Senator from the Twentieth District. This honored citizen is one of the oldest and best known settlers of Caddo Parish, La., and is another example of what energy, industry and perseverance, when intelligently applied, have accomplished for those of foreign birth who have seen fit to locate within the borders of this parish. His home farm, which is known by the name of Long Branch, situated fourteen miles below Shreveport, comprises 1,400 acres and is one of the finest and most valuable pieces of land on Red River. One thousand one hundred acres are in a tine state of cultivation, and besides this property he is the owner of land in Bed River Parish and in Texas. He was born in Scotland 1826, but at the age of fourteen years ran away from school and apprenticed himself to the blacksmith's trade, which he followed with success for many years thereafter. On May 17, 1848, he was married to Miss Eliza, a daughter of David Viltue, who was a celebrated engineer and bridge builder of Scotland, and reared to manhood several sons, all of whom became famous contractors and builders in their native country, Scotland.

Five days after his marriage Capt. Robson (as he is called) set sail, with his wife, for the United States, and as the vessel in which he sailed was well filled with passengers, the sanitary condition of the same became very poor and he was requested by the captain of the boat to draft a code of rules by which the passengers should be governed during the trip. This he did, and on their adoption he was made captain, although at that time a young man. Under his management affairs were much improved, and the vessel completed the journey with all her passengers in good condition. His first year in the New World was spent in Cincinnati, Ohio, where he learned the higher and more scientific branches of his trade, also engineering, and in 1849 he came to Shreveport, La., where he acted as engineer of a boat for some time, but gave this up to found a blacksmith, wagon, harness and saddlery establishment, which he conducted with marked success until the opening of the war, his fortune at that time amounting to $100,000. In 1858 he was elected to represent Caddo Parish in the Legislature, and while a member of that body he left the Legislative halls to join the Third Louisiana Infantry of Rangers, of which he was made captain, his service being the most of the time in Northwestern Arkansas. After the battle of Oak Hill he returned home, organized Company A and joined the Twenty-fifth Louisiana Infantry and reached the field of Shiloh in time to engage in the second day's tight there. After that he went to Perryville, Ky., where he was made major of the Twenty-fifth Louisiana, and was soon after ordered by the War Department to Texas to engage in the manufacture of iron. In seven months time he had constructed the Davis Company Iron Works, and was ready to begin operations.

He continued at this work until the close of the war, then returned to Shreveport and for a short time was again engaged in boating on Red River. The two following years were spent in the mercantile and real estate business, but since that he has been a resident of his plantation, Long Branch. He is a self-made man every sense of the term, and has been remarkably successful in everything he has undertaken to do. Personally, and in every private relation and duty of life, too much can not be said of Mr. Robson. Liberal, generous and high minded, he is the life of social intercourse and the soul of true honor and an unbounded greatness of heart. He has the instinct and training of a true gentleman, which he manifests in his daily walk and conversation; and while he is not aggressive in his opinions nor disposed to be disputatious, yet he has most emphatically a mind of his own with the moral courage to express it when occasion so demands. His life is full of kind deeds, and it may be truly said of him that he never violated a friendship nor forgot a kind action done him. Soon after the termination of the war he was nominated for the State Legislature, and although he declined to run for the office he was elected to the State Senate in 1883, and has since been a member of that body and has become a prominent legislator as well as a social favorite of the members serving as chairman on several important committees.

 He is one of the original members of the Water Ways Convention, which was organized at Cincinnati, Ohio, and at the last convention he was chairman of the committee on credentials and was made vice president of the convention with Capt. Holloway, of Cincinnati, as president. In April, 1890, he attended a meeting of that convention in Washington, D. C, where he made a speech on "Rivers and Harbors," in which he gave his experience of forty years on Red River. The result of his speech and by the assistance of Congressman Blanchard, Congress appropriated $20,000 for the improvement of that river. As a public official he was justly noted for the sterling honesty and superior capability and has always been found perfectly capable of filling any position to which he has been elected. He has always taken a deep interest in secret organizations, and was formerly noble grand of Neath Lodge No. 21, of the I. O. O. P. He has held the highest positions the gift of this order, and is at present grand representative of Nova Scotia, Arkansas and Louisiana. an early day he was a member of the City Council of Shreveport for a number of years, also street commissioner, the last two days of the week being devoted to the interests of the city for which he received no compensation. To himself and wife a family of three sons was born, only one of whom is living, William V., who was educated principally in Scotland and is now a man of fine intellect and good business ability. After finishing his education he spent some time in traveling in Germany and other countries of Europe and now has full charge of his father's business, besides being an extensive levee contractor and builder. Capt. Robson is a son of Robert and Jessie (Hamilton) Robson, who spent their lives in their native land of Scotland, the father being a mechanic in moderate circumstances. Mr. Robson is a model American citizen and is of the stuff of which great people are made, of that moral and personal integrity and clear, well-balanced active intelligence, which adorn the private station and make and keep the public service pure.

Dr. John I. Schumpert, physician and surgeon, Bethany, La. Dr. Schumpert is a man of decided intellectual ability is ever ready to obey the call of all classes, and is, in truth, a physician of thorough learning and experience. He was born in Newberry, S. C , in 1835, and is the son of Jacob K. and Harriet (Abner) Schumpert, both natives of South Carolina also. There the parents resided their entire lives, the mother dying in 1887 and the father in 1888, and both were consistent members of the Lutheran Church. The father was a successful agriculturist, and was an honest, upright citizen. The paternal grandfather, Frederick Schumpert, was born in South Carolinia, and was of German parentage. He served in the Revolution, and passed his last days in his native State.

The great-grandfather was also a native of South Carolina, and received his final summons in that State. The great-great-grandparents of our subject were among the early colonists of that country. The maternal grandfather, Zachariah Abner, was a native of South Carolina, and followed farming in that State until his death. His father was born in the Old Dominion, but died in South Carolina. He was of English descent. He also served in the Revolutionary War. Of the six children born to his parents, Dr. Schumpert was the eldest in order of birth. He was taught the duties of the farm in youth, and his early scholastic advantages, as he grew up, tended to increase the natural desire which he possessed to follow the medical profession'.

He attended college at Lexington, S. C., and then spent three years at the School of Physicians & Surgeons in New York City, where he graduated in 1859. He at once selected Caddo Parish as the scene of his future labors, and has resided here for over thirty years. Soon after the war broke out he joined the Seventeenth Texas Cavalry, as a private, and was soon after appointed surgeon, serving in that capacity in the Trans- Mississippi Department until about the last year, when he was ordered home to run a tannery, etc., for the Confederate government, a business he had followed before the war and some time after on his farm. For a number of years he had also devoted his time between his practice and the stock-raising industry, raising Jersey and Ayrshire cattle, and also many horses.

He is the owner of over 1,600 acres of land at Bethany, and has one of the pleasantest homes in the Parish. Just prior to the last constitutional convention he was a member of the State Legislature from Caddo Parish, and afterward served one term as police juror. The Doctor is a member of the A. P. & A. M., joining Jackson Lodge at Greenwood many years ago, and also took three degrees in Shreveport Chapter. He was married in 1859 to Miss Mary P., daughter of Thomas and Rosanna (Herbert) Halt, natives of Tennessee, where they spent their entire lives. To Dr. and Mrs. Schumpert was born one child, Dr. Theo. Edgar, a practicing physician of this State and a graduate of that far-famed and renowned institution, the University of Louisville, Ky.

Martin H. Sharp is an extensive planter residing near Longwood, La., but his birth occurred in Montgomery, Ala., on December 11, 1833. His parents, Cunningham and Elizabeth (Gibbons) Sharp, having been born in North Carolina, moving to Alabama after their marriage. The father was of Irish descent, a Democrat, a planter and a soldier in the War of 1812. He died at the age of seventy years and she at sixty years of age, they having been members of the Presbyterian Church and the parents of ten children, the subject of this sketch being the youngest of the family and the only one now living. In 1855 he came to Caddo Parish and commenced to till the soil, but in 1859 settled in Ward 3, and in 1868 one mile northwest of Longwood, where he has a well improved plantation of 400 acres, his entire acreage amounting, however, to 1,800, 500 being under cultivation. On coming to Louisiana he was without means, but by industry he has become one of the wealthiest planters in this section. In 1803-64 he was in Harrison's regiment, Third Louisiana, and for some time held the office of sergeant. He was a heavy loser by the war, in fact lost all he had accumulated, but has since retrieved his fortunes. In 1886 he opened a store to supply his own plantation, and has since conducted the same, doing well. His marriage took place in 1800 to Miss Sallie Parnell, daughter of John Parnell. She was born in this parish and died in 188.1, on December 30, having borne a family Of seven children, four now living: Joseph, Richard, James and Pearl, the two youngest being at home. Anna died in 1885, when fifteen years of age, and the other two died infancy. In 1882 Mr. Sharp was married to Miss Jennie Arnold of Kellyville, Tex., and by her has one child, Percy. Mr. and Mrs. Sharp are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, his first wife having also been a member, and he is a Democrat, politically, and a member of the K. of P.

J. H. Shepherd, District Attorney, Shreveport, La. The locality which Shreveport is situated is indeed fortunate in having among its citizens such a man as Mr. Shepherd is conceded to be, for his connection with the interests of the county not only in a professional but in a social point of view has been of much benefit and influence. In all ages of the world, industry, perseverance and energy, where intelligently applied, have achieved a result which could have been gained only by having one object in view, and in improving every opportunity to ultimately attain to that object. Mr. J. H. Shepherd is an example of what can be accomplished when the spirit of determination is exercised in connection with the daily affairs of life. He began life for himself at the age of eleven years as a newsboy. He worked on a farm for several years. He determined to have a liberal education. Energy and industry will overcome all obstacles, so the young man who left his books when funds gave out for the field, at last received his reward. He graduated from Hamilton College 1872 with the degree of A. B. He then engaged in teaching at night in the New York City schools while pursuing his studies during the day at Columbia College Law School, from which institution he graduated with the degree of LL. B. in May, 1874.

He came to Caddo Parish in that year, and taught school until the memorable campaign of 1876, when at the instance of ex-Gov. Seymour he took part in the national canvass for the Democratic party in the States of Maine, Ohio and Michigan, explaining the condition of the people of Louisiana in their struggle with the corrupt State government and removing much sectional prejudice. In the fall of 1877 he came to Shreveport. He has been superintendent of the public schools of Caddo Parish for four years. Mr. Shepherd has been an ardent toiler in the cause of public education. He conceived the present State law which devotes to public education all the fines and forfeitures imposed by the criminal courts. In the press convention of 1883 his resolution embodying the idea, secured unanimous approval, and the agitation on that subject finally secured the law 1888. He was for some time one of the owners of the Shreveport Times.

He was elected district attorney in 1888, and the crimes during his administration have been reduced at least sixty per cent., as the record shows. His strong good sense, his knowledge of human nature, and his genuine legal ability have rendered him one of the best officers for that position the county has ever had. He was married in 1882 to Miss Hattie Phillips, of a very prominent family, and the daughter of one of the early settlers of DeSoto Parish, La. Mr. and Mrs. Shepherd have one son, St. Clair, Mr. Shepherd has been supreme representative of the K. of P. of Louisiana, and has been grand chancellor. He represented the Grand Lodge of Louisiana in the K. of H. two terms. He was grand master of the A. O. U. W., Grand Lodge of Texas, including besides that State, Louisiana, Arkansas and Indian Territory. He is now supreme representative of that body in the Supreme Lodge. He is also a member of the Masonic fraternity. Mr. and Mrs. Shepherd are members of the Presbyterian Church.

E. M. Smith is a real estate dealer of Shreveport, La., and as he has been interested in this business for years past his judgment is acknowledged to be second to none on values, and the utmost confidence is reposed in him by all who know him. He is a South Carolinian, his birth occurring in Anderson County in 1836, in which State his parents, W. C. and Caroline (Majors) Smith, were also born. Mr. Smith's ancestors were early settlers of that State, but the maternal great-grandfather was left an orphan in North Carolina when quite young, and was compelled to fight the battle of life for himself. He lived to be one hundred and four years of age, and was known as Canon Brezeal. The mother's father was also left an orphan in his youth, but was left with a large fortune, which he afterward lost. W. C. Smith was ordained a minister of the Baptist Church when twenty years of age, and in connection with his ministerial duties he owned and operated a large plantation successfully for many years. In the discharge of his ministerial duties he became noted as an evangelist, and the work he did for the cause of the Master is almost untold.

In 1852 he moved to Hall County, Ga., in which place he died in 1889 his eighty-first year. His widow survives him and makes her home in Georgia. Although she bore her husband a large family of children; only seven grew to maturity, six sons and one daughter, of whom the subject of this sketch is the eldest. He was taken to Georgia when about fourteen years of age, and in this State received the principal part of his education, becoming familiar with farm work, and there continued to make his home until 1859, when he came to Louisiana, and after traveling over this State and, also Texas, looking for a location, in the latter part of that year he decided to take up his abode in Alexandria. He immediately engaged in planting as a calling, with which he was most familiar, but gave this up in the latter part of 1862 to enlist in the First Louisiana Battalion, and was a faithful soldier until the fall of 1864. He was captured at Holly Springs, Miss., but made good his escape before reaching St. Louis, and passed his way through as a brakeman to Canada. He had a friend who loaned him money, and he accordingly took passage in a sailing vessel, passing along the east coast of the United States until he reached Matamoras, Mexico. After the surrender he was paroled and given transportation back to Alexandria, landing without a cent or a decent suit of clothes, but, notwithstanding this, he managed to make his way to Shreveport, and being of a mechanical turn of mind, he went to laying brick for a livelihood, putting up for his first building what is now the Cotton Exchange.

He manufactured brick, and was engaged in building until the fall of 1869, during which time he had erected many buildings and had saved enough money to buy a little place to feed his stock, and gradually drifted into the fine stock and dairying business, a calling which received his attention for seven years. He then moved to his now beautiful residence, but still conducts his plantation. He is an extensive real estate dealer, and is the owner of 2,500 acres of land, with 600 or 700 acres under cultivation, besides some valuable city property, and is making a good interest from his real estate business. He is one of the chief promoters and organizers of the State Pair Association, and is interested in land able enterprises. His marriage, which occurred in 1869, was to Miss Eliza A. Likens, of Alabama, by whom he has four children: Lee L., Carrie W., Alex A. and Albert M. George W. Solomon is a leading citizen of Caddo Parish, La., but is a native of Alabama, his birth occurring in Butler County, December 1, 1835, being a son of Hartwell C. and Elizabeth (Flowers) Solomon, who were married in Alabama, the father dying in that State in 1855 when about fifty-five years of age. He was a farmer and a member of the Christian Church, also a minister of the same, and in his political views was a Democrat. He had served in the War of 1812 and was of English descent. His wife died in Caddo Parish in 1860 when about fifty-five years of age, she being also a worthy member of the Christian Church.

The subject of this sketch was the fourth of their eleven children, and when a small lad commenced assisting his father on the farm, but at the death of the latter he took charge of his mother's affairs and worked, provided for and educated the balance of the family, and himself and a brother, Hartwell C. who is a farmer and a Missionary Baptist minister of Hopkins County, Tex., are the only ones of the family now living. On coming to Louisiana Mr. Solomon had $375 in gold, which he spent for his first crop, which proved a failure, and he lost all. In the fall of 1801 he became a member of the Seventeenth Louisiana Infantry, with which he served until one year before the close of the war, when he was transferred to the Confederate navy and was on the gunboat ''Shreveport," built in Missouri, and was with it when he surrendered at Alexander, La. While in the infantry he was the battle of Corinth, siege of Vicksburg, and a number of skirmishes. At the close of the war he commenced to farm once more on rented land, and two years later purchased a farm in Ward 3, where he has since lived. He has been the owner of five different plantations in this ward, and is now the owner of 300 acres of land, of which 120 are under cultivation, which he devotes to the raising of corn and cotton. In 1870 he bought an interest in a horse gin which he operated several years, but in 1885 built a steam gin which does excellent work. Prom 1884 to 1880 he was in business in Danville, and expects soon to again engage in business here.

In 1805 he was married to Miss Eusabia Attaway, a daughter of Elisha Attaway, she being born in this parish in July, 1838, and to them eleven children have been born: Verona (wife of Thomas Watson, deceased, she now making her home with the subject of this sketch), Stella (wife of Robert Jones of this parish), Sallie, Thurston, Ernest, Frank, Eusabia, Glide and Edward (living), and Allen (an infant, deceased), and Sterling (who died at the age of fourteen years, being the oldest son). Mr. Solomon is a Democrat, and is a liberal supporter of worthy enterprises in his parish. Since writing the above Mr. Solomon has lost his wife, a noble woman, a kind wife and a loving mother. She had been an invalid of consumption for ten months, and was tenderly cared for by her devoted children and sympathizing friends until September 2, 1890, when she departed this life at the age of forty-six years and two months. "Well done thou good and faithful servant, enter into thy joys that await thee."

J. H. Stephens. Among the many enterprises necessary to complete the commercial resources of a town or city, none is of more importance than that of the grocer, as being one of the main factors in the furnishing of our food supplies. Prominent in this line is the wholesale grocery establishment belonging to Stephens & Hunter, which has been existence since 1886 and is a commodious and substantial house, 40 x 100 feet, at the corner of Crockett and Levee Streets. The annual sales of the firm will amount to $225,000, and between 4,000 and 5,000 bales of cotton are handled by them each season. They are substantial, progressive and enterprising business men, and by their united efforts have risen to the very front ranks of the business men of the city. Mr. Stephens was born in Preble County, Ohio, April, 1822, and is a son of W. D. and Mary (De Frees) Stephens, both of whom were Virginians, the former of Swiss ancestry and the latter a French lady. The great-grandfather was a native of Switzerland, and the maternal grandmother was born in London, England.

The paternal grandfather, Stephens, served in the War of 1812 as captain of a scouting party, and he and wife died Ohio to which State they had moved at an early day, it being almost a wilderness at that time. The father of the subject of this sketch was a mechanic, and left Ohio in 1836 to come to Louisiana, and was among the early settlers of Natchitoches Parish, but gave up his trade after coming here and turned his attention to planting, which he successfully conducted until his death, which occurred about 1860. His wife passed from life in 1858. Mr. Stephens was a member of the convention that changed the constitution in 1847 at Baton Rouge, and he was subsequently superintendent of public instruction in Sabine Parish. He was also a member of the police jury of Natchitoches, and being a man of sound views and well educated, his advice was sought and followed by many. He was also a good orator for his day, and was frequently called upon to make speeches on different occasions. He was a man of unblemished character, and was noted for his honesty and good nature. Pour of the six children born to himself and wife are now living: J. H , Elizabeth (wife of Dr. J. C. Armstrong), Lawrence E. and Emily. J. H. Stephens was about fourteen years of age when he first came to this State but his literary education was received in St. Mary's College, Miss., but just before graduating he was obliged to return home for want of means to continue his studies. He paid his way at school with money earned by his own labor, and upon his return home he became a clerk in the mercantile establishment of Wamsley Bros., of Natchitoches, continuing with them for five years.

He then opened an establishment of his own at Grand Cane, which was then the landing place for Natchitoches, and did a very extensive business, in time securing trade for many miles the State of Texas. He remained there until 1861, then bought a plantation and purchased a number of slaves, but in 1862 he gave up this occupation and joined Cory's battalion of cavalry which was later disbanded, and he was assigned to Harrison's regiment of cavalry, but was soon after detached and assigned to duty under R. M. Lusher, United States Confederate collector. He was then sent to Sabine Parish to assess and collect the war tax, and this occupation received his attention until the close of the war. Of course he lost all his slaves during this time, and be also lost his plantation by fraudulent means. He was thus left without a dollar, not knowing one day where he would get a meal the next. He concluded to settle in Shreveport, and here in 1869 he was found clerking for Sale & Murphy, a well-known wholesale and retail house.

He remained with them as head salesman until the fall of 1873, then, as Sale had died of yellow fever and Murphy found himself bankrupt, he turned over his remnant stock to Capt. Stephens, to whom he owed nearly all of it for his salary. Mr. Stephens started on this as his all, but during his five years' residence this place he had established an excellent character and his credit was good, and accordingly his trade rapidly increased. In the fall of 1886 he became associated in business with Samuel S. Hunter, and opened up his present establishment with the results named above. Mr. Stephens is now a wealthy man, but owes his prosperity to his own hard work, honesty and push, and no man in the town holds a more enviable place in the estimation of the people than he. In 1860 he was superintendent of education of Natchitoches Parish, and although he has no desire for office he filled this position with ability and to the satisfaction of all concerned. He has also served one term as a member of the board of trustees of Shreveport. His marriage which occurred in 1847 was to Miss Jane Bludworth, a native of this State, and to them six children have been born: Mrs. Armstrong, Mrs. Berry, Mrs. Eichler (a widow), Mary, Jesse B., and J. H., Jr. The Captain has been a Mason for many years, and he and wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church.

William J. Sullivan, the subject of the present sketch, was born Jackson County, Fla., in the year 1824, being the son of John and Esther (Keith) Sullivan, natives of the Carolinas. His parents were married in Georgia, and from that State moved to Florida. In 1838 he came to Caddo Parish, and was among the earliest settlers in this place, indeed, so few were the inhabitants at that time that the houses were four or five miles apart. They settled upon their present estate, which is situated about eighteen miles from Shreveport, and that city contained in those days only two small log-business houses, while the country around was little more than a wilderness, overflowing with deer, wild turkeys and wolves, and presenting a truly primeval appearance. The chief part of the population was composed of the Caddo Indians, who dwelt contentedly in their rude wigwams made from the bark of trees, with no desire for improvement or progress.

The father passed the remainder of his life here, and was regarded as a planter of the strictest integrity and energy. He settled on a 280-acre tract, and supposed he had made all the necessary proof, but only a few years ago his son, the subject of this sketch, was called upon to furnish additional proof, and being unable to do so the case came up before the various departments, and was finally decided against the Sullivan property, thus compelling Mr. Sullivan to buy it in at the price of $2 per acre, the land being claimed by the V. S. & P. R. R. The father was justice of the peace here for a time, and in Florida had served as deputy sheriff. Mr. Sullivan's paternal grandfather, Robert Sullivan, was probably born in' North Carolina, and his parents were of Irish descent. His mother died 1858, and his maternal grandfather, Elihu Keith, died in Georgia.

The subject of this sketch was one of the four sous and four daughters born to his parents, and of these children only he and a sister, Mary Viola, are now living. He received his education in a little old log school-house, such as were found in those days in every neighborhood, and the information imparted by those early school teachers was very limited indeed. In the year 1849 he crossed the plains to California, where he remained about four years working in the mines, and returned home via Aspinwall after a season of adventure and excitement. He enlisted in the late war in March, 1862, joining Company I, Twenty-seventh Louisiana Infantry, and took part in the battle of Vicksburg, and served until the close of the trouble restored peace to the country. He has had possession of his present plantation some time (1839), and owns 800 acres of valuable land, and all this has been gained by means of his own perseverance and energy. He has served as justice of the peace nearly twenty years in all. He is a member of the A. P. & A. M., Land Mark Lodge No. 214, and was once worshipful master. He is now, perhaps, the oldest Caddo citizen in the parish, and his agreeable manners and excellent judgment have won him a host of friends both religious, business and social circles.

F. G. Thatcher, attorney at law. A man can never be too wise or too learned to be a lawyer, for at some time or other in his practice his first and last resources will be called into action. It is thus the profession of law has attracted the best talent of our country. An instance of this is found in the gentlemen composing the firm of Young & Thatcher, who stand at the very top of the Louisiana bar. Mr. Thatcher, the junior member of the firm, was born in Fair Haven, Mass., 1857, both his parents, George and Susan (Gray) Thatcher, being natives of Vermont. They removed to the Bay State while still young people, and the father was engaged in teaching school in Fair Haven until his removal to Mansfield, La., in 1858. He filled the chair of mathematics in a female college of this State until the opening of the war, then enlisted in the Confederate army, ranking as a captain, and served until the close of the war, after which he returned to Natchitoches Parish and purchased a plantation, but this proved to be a very disastrous speculation, owing to overflows. In 1868 he came to Shreveport, and after teaching for some time the Baptist College, now abandoned, he, in 1870, in company with Col. George D. Alexander, opened an institute, the latter gentleman withdrawing from the institution at the end of two years. Since that time Col. Thatcher has continued alone, very successfully, and as an educator has not his superior in the State. He has four sons: Prof. George O., F. G., H. W. and J. H.

The subject of this sketch was reared in Townshend, VT, making his home with his grandparents, and was educated there with a view to entering Dartmouth College. He remained in the North until 1875, then came to Shreveport and entered upon the study of law, being admitted to the bar in 1878, and almost immediately opened an office and entered upon his practice, continuing alone until 1880, when the present partnership was formed with Col. I. S. Young. He was elected city attorney to fill the unexpired term of Judge Sea, and after the expiration of his appointment he was elected to the office and has also served as attorney for the police jury of Caddo Parish. He is a stockholder and secretary of the Shreveport Railway and Land Improvement Company, also the fire insurance company and the canning factory. As a forcible and easy speaker Mr. Thatcher has not his superior, and his wonderful energy has enabled him to overcome at times what seemed insurmountable difficulties. During the four years that he and Mr. Young have been associated in business they have conducted many important cases with success, and are solid, reliable lawyers. Mr. Thatcher is unmarried.

Capt. George E. Thatcher, president of Thatcher Institute, Shreveport, La. It has been truly said, that "a good education is the best inheritance that parents can leave to their children." Riches may take to themselveswings and fly away, but a good education will last through life. Thatcher Institute, a school for boys and young men, was originally founded at Shreveport, La., in 1880, by Capt. George E. Thatcher and Col. George D. Alexander, under the name of "Thatcher & Alexander's Classical and Mathematical Institute.'' The founders were widely and favorably known throughout this section as successful teachers of great experience, and the school, from its inception, enjoyed the patronage and support of many of the best citizens of Shreveport and neighboring parishes. Its prestige has steadily progressed and still continues, the institution having earned a widespread reputation for efficiency. In 1872 Col. Alexander withdrew, and after that date the school was conducted by its present principal as a select private school. As such it enjoyed the greatest prosperity, but as the number of students was strictly limited, many who applied for admission were necessarily refused.

In recognition of the demand for an institution of high grade and extended curriculum, the school was incorporated under the laws of Louisiana, and is now a regularly chartered institution under the name of "Thatcher Institute." Its board of directors is composed of many of the most prominent citizens of Shreveport and Northern Louisiana. The design of the institute is to give a thorough and complete education. Recognizing the fact that many young men, who are denied the advantage of a full collegiate course, desire, nevertheless a thorough training in some branches, the faculty have striven to meet this demand by making the course elective. The number of students will no longer be limited. Capt. George E. Thatcher, principal of the institute and a gentleman of great erudition, was born in Bennington County, Vt., February 3, 1830, and is a son of George and Sophronia (Hurd) Thatcher, natives also of the Green Mountain State. The father was an architect, and his death occurred when the Captain was about six months old. The latter remained with his mother until twenty-one years of age, attending the common schools, and then finished his education at Leland Institution at Townsend, Vt., in 1850 at the age of twenty years.

He then began teaching school, and went to Massachusetts, where he took charge of an academy at Marion, remaining there about five years. He was next appointed principal of Fair Haven High School at New Bedford, and there remained for about two years. He was next elected professor of mathematics at Mansfield (La.,) Female College in 1857, and occupied that position until the breaking out of the war, when he enlisted in Pelican Rifles of De Soto Parish. He entered the ranks as a private and was promoted to bureau chemist of The Nitre and Mining Bureau of the Confederate States, serving in that capacity at Lynchburg and at the copper mines of Southwest Virginia, and at the iron mines of Eastern Tennessee. After the fall of Vicksburg he was ordered to report to Gen. E. Kirby Smith, at Shreveport, and was placed in charge of the powder works at Marshall, Tex. After about three months of service here he was appointed captain of artillery on ordnance, and served at Marshall in charge of the powder works at that place until the close of the war. After the surrender, or in 1870, he founded this school at Shreveport, and has resided here ever since. It is no question that Capt. Thatcher is one of Northern Louisiana's finest educators. He has built up a fine school, has erected good buildings, and his annual attendance is about 150. He has erected a neat and tasty residence on the same grounds with his school buildings. Capt. Thatcher was married 1851 to Miss Aurilla S. Gray, by whom he had three sons, viz.: George O. (professor of mathematics), Fred G. (an attorney), and Herbert W. (a merchant). The Captain's second marriage occurred in 1800 to Mrs. Mary A. Lane {nee Hunter), who bore him one son, J. Hunter.

E. L. Tillinghast, M. D., is a native of Beaufort District, S. C , where he was born August 3, 1839, his education being also received in his native State, graduating from Columbia College. Upon attaining manhood he commenced the study of medicine, and in 1801 attended the medical department of the Louisiana University, at New Orleans, graduating the same year, having previously taken a course at Charleston, S. C , 1858-59. In the month of April, 1801, he joined the Second South Carolina Regiment of Infantry, as assistant surgeon, a position he held until the close of the war, and was on the battlefield of the first Manassas, the seven days fight around Richmond, Lewisburg, and Savage Station, where he received a flesh wound, by a bursting shell. For some time he was on detached service in a hospital, and his war experience was of great service to him. In 1800 he came to Mooringsport, and commenced the practice of his profession, and two years later settled on his present well-improved farm. He is acknowledged by all to be an excellent physician and surgeon, and his practice is large and lucrative. He was married in 1867, to Miss Hattie Lewis Fly, daughter of Benjamin Fly, of this parish, formerly of Tennessee, and her birth occurred near Jackson, in the latter State. Their union has resulted in the birth of seven children: Mary Curry (wife of Edward Curry), Mande N., Arthur Y., Blanche E. and Roy. Albert L. and Edwin L. both died when young. Dr. and Mrs. Tillinghast are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church South, and he is a Mason, and in his political views, a Democrat. He is a son of Robert L. and Sophia E. (Wilson) Tillinghast, the former of whom was born in Georgia, and was a successful lawyer. He died in 1858, at the age of forty years, after having served both as a representative and senator in the General Assembly of his State, being chosen to these positions by his Democratic friends. His father,

Parvin Tillinghast, is supposed to have been a lawyer by profession, and his life was spent in Georgia and South Carolina. The first Tillinghast to come to America bore the name of Parvin, who came with Roger Williams, the Baptist. He was the fifth elder of the State of Rhode Island, had been a soldier under Cromwell, and came to America on account of his political views, after the death of that great leader. One of Parvin Tillinghast's sons moved southward, the subject of this sketch being one of his descendants. There have been many distinguished men in the family, and some became noted in the Revolutionary War, particularly Lieut. Thomas G. Tillinghast, of the United States navy, and for gallant services was given a sword by the State of South Carolina. Another, Capt. Tillinghast was a graduate of West Point Military Academy, and was at one time a United States Senator from Rhode Island, The subject of this sketch had two brothers in the late war, Thomas S., aged fifteen, and Robert G., aged seventeen, they being members of the Second South Carolina Cavalry, and took part in all the battles of the Georgia campaign, under Gen. Hardee. Some members of the family were also in the War of 1812.

The Times, owned and edited by Charles Schaeffer and S. B. Johnson, two enterprising gentlemen, is now thoroughly established, and its crisp and trenchant editorials command an ever widening area of circulation, while they carry with them that weight and authority which a clear, calm and intelligent judgment must always secure. It is both daily and weekly, and receives all the Associated Press dispatches daily, it being the only paper outside of New Orleans in the State, that gets the daily press reports. Its circulation is very large, and its advantages for an advertising medium are not excelled beyond New Orleans. Mr. Schaeffer, the manager, is a native of Shreveport, born in 1859, and be received good educational facilities in that city. He served an apprenticeship in a printing office, working nights, and afterward had charge of different papers in Shreveport until 1887. Then he and Mr. S. B. Johnson purchased the Times and have continued its publication successfully since. It would hardly do justice to the paper should we fail to mention the name of Mrs. Julia Rule (perhaps better known as "Pansy"), who has charge of the society and fashion department. This department is always full of choice literature, and is read with avidity by the subscribers of the Times. She is a competent and reliable writer.

Capt. J. F. Utz, of the firm of Utz & Smith, dealers in hardware, machinery and agricultural implements, Shreveport, La. Among the extensive houses in its line in this part of the United States is the above mentioned firm, whose business extends for a radius of 150 miles in the territory adjacent to Shreveport, trade being drawn from Louisiana, Southern Arkansas and Eastern Texas. The firm occupies a fine building of three floors, 75 x 100 feet, at Nos. 517, 519, 521 and 523 Spring Street, in which is carried a stock valued at from $40,000 to $50,000, comprising all kinds of heavy and shelf hardware, machinery, agricultural implements, iron pipes and fittings, engineers' supplies, belting, etc. Plumbing and steam-fitting in all its branches is prosecuted. The business was established in 1808 by Capt. James, F. Utz, and in 1887 Mr. M. F. Smith became connected with the firm, changing the name to Utz & Smith. From the start this enterprise has prospered, and has had a most successful existence, ranking with the very best houses in the Southern States. Capt. J. P. Utz, one of the leading spirits of the community, was born in the town of Madison, Ind., in 1835, and is a son of John and Henrietta (Badley) Utz.

He left Indiana with his parents when an infant, came to Ohio and there grew to manhood. In 1858 he went to New Orleans and was engaged in business in that city for some time. At the breaking out of the war he was residing at Alexandria, La., and he enlisted in Company B, Second Louisiana Regiment, known as the Moore Guards, and held all the offices up to captain. He received a gunshot wound at Gettysburg, was left on the field and was captured and cast into Johnson Island prison. Prom there he was taken to Port Delaware, and was there at the close of the war. He was on crutches for seven months from the wound he received at Gettysburg, and he was also wounded at Chancellorsville and Malvern Hill. He participated in all the principal engagements. He then returned to Alexandria and in 1808 came to Shreveport, where he has resided for twenty-two years, having been a resident of the State of Louisiana for thirty-two years. He established his present business after coming here and this is now very extensive. He was president of the Confederate Association for six years, is president of the Board of Trade, director in the First National Bank, director of the Home Insurance Company of Shreveport, president of the Opera House Company for some time, and is the owner of considerable city property. He has in fact been identified with almost every public enterprise of Shreveport, and does all in his power to advance its best interests.

Mr. Utz was married in 1870 to Miss Jennie Thompson, a native of Caddo Parish, La. He and wife are members of the Presbyterian Church. Van Hoose & Terrell. R. H. Terrell is a member of the well-known firm whose name forms the caption of this sketch, who are planters and general merchants of Grigsby Island and Shreve Island, where they are owners of about 970 acres ou one and 800 acres on the other. They have about 1,200 acres under cultivation, produce about 800 bales of cotton annually and corn sufficient to run them. They also conduct a general supply store and are wide-awake, enterprising business men. Mr. Terrell owes his nativity to Grimes County, Tex., in 1800, and his parents, John H. and Susan (White) Terrell, were born in Georgia and Alabama, respectively. The parents were married in Texas, and there the father died in 1808. The mother died in 1889. Both were members of the Missionary Baptist Church. The father was a successful tiller of the soil, and during the late civil war served in the Confederate army. The paternal grandfather, Robert Terrell, died Georgia. R. H Terrell, the second of four children, was reared to the arduous duties of the farm, and educated at the Agricultural and Mechanical College at Bayou, Tex. After this he clerked about five years and in 1881 came to his present farm, a fine property, all the result of his own efforts.

James H. Van Hoose, a partner of the above mentioned firm, was originally from Fayetteville, Ark., his birth occurring in 1854, and is a son of Peter P. and Annie A. (Gregg) Van Hoose, the father a native of the Blue-Grass State and the mother of Alabama. The parents were married in Washington County, Ark., and there the father died in 1805. He was a lawyer for many years and a man of considerable prominence. He served in the Confederate army and was on Masonic parole at Springfield, Mo., at the time of his death. He was a very prominent Mason. The mother is still living and is a member of the Presbyterian Church. Her father, John Gregg, died in Marshall, Tex. James H. Van Hoose was the eldest of six children born to his parents. He moved to Marshall, Tex., with his mother in 1869 and from there to Shreveport, La., in 1870. He received his education at Marshall and Shreveport, and was married in 1882 to Miss Anna White, a native of Shreveport and the daughter of Reuben and Martha White. She died on February 22, 1890, and left three children.

 Mr. Van Hoose is a member of the Presbyterian Church, and socially is a member of the K. of P., Kalantha Lodge, Shreveport; L. of H , Magnolia Lodge, and K. of H. Capt. R. T. Vinson, mayor Shreveport, La. There is one man within the limits of this parish whose name, it might be said, is a household word with the people residing therein, for his long residence here and his intimate association with its various material and official affairs have gained for him an extensive acquaintance. Such a one is Capt. R. T. Vinson, mayor of Shreveport, La. He owes his nativity to Assumption Parish, La., his birth occurring on July 23, 1842, and is a son of James B. Vinson, an old resident of the parish of Assumption, and a large sugar planter. The father was born in Gallatin, Tenn., as was also the mother, whose maiden name was Miss Lucy T. Harper. She was a lineal descendant of Randolph Tucker, and her ancestors were the early wars. The Vinson family is of English and Scotch-Irish origin. The parents of Capt. Vinson emigrated to Louisiana in about 1832, settled St. Mary's Parish, and there resided for many years. The father had emigrated to Louisiana when but eighteen years of age worked his way up, purchased a sugar plantation, and then returned to Tennessee for a wife. After residing in St. Mary's Parish some time, he sold his land s that parish and purchased in the parish of Assumption, where he resided until 1863; he then refuged to Caddo Parish, on account of the Federals being in possession. He was the owner of a large number of slaves and three large sugar plantations.

He always took a deep interest in politics, but never aspired to office. He was a man of fine social qualities, and entertained a great many friends. He was in partnership with Col. W. H. Sparks for some time. He is now living in Nashville, Tenn. is seventy-six years old, and is unusually active for his age. He is the father of four living children: R. W., Alice, Lillie (wife of John Harper, of Jefferson, Tex.), and our subject. The mother died in August, 1864. Capt., R. T. Vinson, the second of the above-mentioned children, attained his growth in Assumption Parish, received his education in Centenary College, Jackson, La., and volunteered the Confederate army when in his junior year. He organized a battery, carried it into Missouri, and afterward resigned on account of ill health. The battery was afterward commanded by Capt. Barrett. After recovering from the measles he enlisted in Washington Artillery, Fifth Company, of New Orleans. He then obtained a leave of absence, came home, and was subsequently promoted to the position of captain of artillery of Shreveport department.

He surrendered at Marshall, Tex., in 1865. After the war he went to Bossier Parish and engaged in planting, which occupation he still follows, owning a valuable plantation just across the river from Shreveport. He was president of the police jury of Caddo Parish for four years, and was also a member of Bossier Police Jury" while residing in that parish. He was elected mayor of Shreveport to fill the vacancy of Mr. Currie, and was elected unanimously. The Captain has always taken an active interest in politics, and is a hard worker for his party. He is agreeable and pleasant in his intercourse with all, and has a host of warm friends. He is a member of the Masonic fraternity, the K. of P., the A. O. U. W. and the Red Men. He has represented the K. of P. at the Grand Lodge in nearly every session since its organization. He is now a member of the Grand Lodge of A. O. U. W. His marriage was consummated on August 4, 1864, to Miss Sallie Hill, a native of Tennessee, and they have two children living: Ada and Allen. Mrs. Vinson and daughter are members of the Episcopal Church.

W. H. Wise, of the firm of Wise & Herndon, counselors at law of Shreveport, La., has become well known throughout the State as one of her leading and brilliant attorneys. The profession of law is one of the most momentous and important of human callings, and the man who assumes its practice takes upon himself weighty responsibilities, and although it brings into play the most brilliant talents, the most extensive knowledge, the strongest sentiments, moral, spiritual and material, its power for good or evil is vast and invincible. The honor of the above-mentioned firm is above criticism, and the ability of its members places it in the front rank of the Louisiana bar. Mr. Wise, the senior member of the firm, was born in Caddo Parish, La., July, 1843, his parents being Dr. J. S. and Louisa (George) Wise, natives of Virginia and Louisiana, respectively. In 1837 the former came to Louisiana, and located in Shreveport, but soon after returned to his former home and was married in 1840, bringing his wife back to this place with him, but settling in Greenwood, at that time a rival town of Shreveport. He practiced the "healing art " that village until his death, which occurred in 1883. He was a graduate of the University of Pennsylvania at Philadelphia, and afterward proved a physician of exceptional ability, and was at all times an active member of society.

His widow survives him, having borne seven children, six of whom are now living. W. H Wise is the eldest of their children, and was reared in Caddo Parish, but during his early manhood was put in Hampton Sidney College of Virginia, where he remained until he graduated in 1861, He immediately and warmly espoused the Southern cause and enlisted in what was known as Richardson's battalion, a Virginian command, and served until the surrender, acting as lieutenant a portion of the time. He took an active part in all the principal engagements in which his regiments participated and alter the war was over and he returned home he began the study of law, and in 1868 was admitted to the bar. Since that time he has practiced in Shreveport, and here his ability has been duly recognized, and he has served as district attorney of the First Judicial District of Louisiana, and in 1878 was elected to represent Caddo Parish in the General Assembly of the State. He discharged his duties in a highly satisfactory manner, and distinguished himself as a legislator of sound views, and his admirable and forcible way of presenting them. In 1878 the firm of Wise & Herndon was formed, and both gentleman are admirably adapted to honorably prosecute this most exalted of professions.

They combine a knowledge of law, a power of advocacy and elocution, a high sense of propriety, character and prudence second to none, and their extensive practice and wealth is but a natural result of their individual and confederate action. Mr. Wise was married in 1870, to Miss Lina Crowder, a native of Georgia, and their union has resulted in the birth of two children: W. H., Jr., and Caro. Mr. Wise is a Mason, a member of the K. of P., and he and his estimable wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. He was a member of the convention that met in Chicago in 1884, and nominated Cleveland for the presidency, and he has been an active member of the city council of Shreveport.

William E. Wasson has been justice of the peace of the Third Ward for the past ten years, and as a citizen of prominence and influence ranks among the first of the county. He was born in Caddo Parish on February 6, 1845, and is a son of William and Elizabeth (Jewett) Wasson, who were born near Murfreesboro, Tenn., and in Johnson County, Ark., respectively, but both died in this parish, he on August 30, 1862, at the the age of sixty-two years, and she 1852, aged forty-five years. The father received his literary education in his native State, and also studied medicine in a college of Nashville, moving afterward to Arkansas and settling in Johnson County. After remaining there for some time he came to Caddo Parish, La., locating first at Summergrove and later at Greenwood, which at that time was a more promising place than Shreveport, and was one of the first physicians of this region, remaining here until his death. His practice soon extended over a wide region, and his services were called into requisition in Texas as well as Louisiana.

He was a Whig as long as that party was in existence, and inherited Welsh and Scotch blood of his ancestors. His wife was a member of the Presbyterian Church, and to their union a family of five children were born, three of whom lived to maturity, the subject of this sketch being the second child that grew up. A younger brother, Charles E., is the editor of a paper in Riverside, Cal., and an older brother, August C , who died in this parish, was a planter. William E. Wasson received his education in the college at Sulphur Springs, Tenn., but on April 25, 1861, he enlisted in the Second Louisiana Infantry, and after being with this regiment sixteen months, he was mustered out, and joined Denson's cavalry, and was in the Trans-Mississippi Department until the close of the war. While east of the river he was in Virginia, and took part in the engagement at Malvern Hill, and after coming west of the river was at Helena, Little Rock, and was in numerous skirmishes and raids. Although captured at Poplar Bluff he managed to make his escape at the end of ten days at Collin's Mill. After a hard service of nearly four years, he came to Caddo Parish and commenced farming on a small plantation, and by good management has become the owner of 7,240 acres, a considerable portion of which is under cultivation.

In 1888 he was elected to the office of justice of the peace, and has held the office, by reelection, up to the present time. February 24, 1886, he was married to Mrs. Elizabeth Wasson, widow of his older brother, she being a daughter of G. Sullivan. She was born in Alabama, and by her first husband became the mother of three children: Neaque, Ardinia and Charles. She is a member of the Missionary Baptist Church, and he is a Mason, a member of the Farmers' Alliance, and in his political views is a Democrat.

Capt. Peter Youree, capitalist, Shreveport, La. Capt. Peter Youree was born in Lafayette County, Mo., April 23, 1843, and is a son of P. E. and M, M. (Zimmerman) Youree, natives, respectively, of Tennessee and Kentucky. The parents emigrated to Missouri about 1830, and located in Lafayette County, where they were among the pioneers. The father followed merchandising at Waverly, Mo., for many years, and received his final summons Tennessee. The mother is still living, and is a resident of Sumuer County, Tenn. They were the parents of nine children, seven of whom are now living. Capt. Peter Youree attained his growth and received his education in Lafayette County, Mo., and early became familiar with the mercantile business in his father's store. In 1861 he enlisted Company A, Gordon's regiment, and served until the surrender. He was wounded twice, once at Shiloh and again at Helena by gunshots, being taken care of by friends. He went back as a private, and the latter part of the war commanded Company I, of Slayback's regiment.

He was all the engagements of his regiment, and served the Confederacy faithfully and well. He came to Shreveport with his company, and surrendered there in 1865. He had not a dollar to his name, and as the Captain graphically remarked, " It was a ground-hog case," and he was obliged to stay here. He began life over again, entered a store as a clerk, and continued to fill that position for several years. He finally embarked in the mercantile business for himself, and this he carried on for about five years, since which time he has been engaged in the real estate business. He has more business property and residences than any man in Shreveport. He owned the Shreveport Street Railway for several years, and is one of the prominent men of the-city. He is a member of the police jury of Caddo Parish, and is a member of the Confederate Association.

He was married, in 1870, to Miss Bettie Scott, of Scottsville, Tex., by whom he has two children: W. S. and Susie R. The Capitan has one of the finest residences in the city, and everything about the place indicates ease and plenty. He owns the Phoenix Hotel, the style and plan of architecture being original with him. Mrs. Youree comes from sturdy ancestors on both sides of the house. Her father, Col. W. T. Scott, served his State long and faithfully in many positions, and her maternal grandfather, Capt. W. P. Rose, figured in a distinguished manner during the war between the Regulators and Moderators in Texas.

Typing and Format by C. W. Barnum 4