Avoyelles Parish, Louisiana History and Genealogy
Return to Louisiana Main Page
Return to Avoyelles Parish Main Page
Background: About thirty years ago your host was browsing a used book store and came across an original book titled Biographical and Historical Memoirs of Northwest Louisiana. I bought it for $1.95 if memory serves me, and wanted to transcribe it. I'm getting around to doing something about it. Spacing, format and some "clean up" was done to fit our webpage design. Please report typing errors.
The lands of this parish belong generally to the alluvial class. This alluvial area equals 747 square miles of a total area of 852 square miles, and of the balance 40 square miles of bluff prairie square miles of oak uplands. In 1879 and 1880 there were 84,787 acres in cultivation, 23,722 acres of cotton, yielding 18,355 bales, 1,098 pounds of seed cotton or 300 pounds of cotton lint. Avoyelles prairie, of which Marksville is the center, shows a general elevation of thirty feet above high water in Red River.
Like Rapides, Avoyelles is in the highest sugar latitude. In the neighborhood of Bunkie the great sugar fields begin, forming, as it were, an introduction to the greater fields of the more southerly parishes. Rice has also been raised here, but this cereal receives little attention in a mixed cotton and sugar country as Avoyelles is. Timber is abundant, and tracts of healthy pine are not wanting. All the hardwoods find a home here, while groves of giant magnolia may be seen along the roads or trails.
The northwestern corner of the parish (parts of Townships 2, 3 and 4 north, in Ranges 2, 3 and 4 east) is almost an island, enclosed on the south by Red River, on the north by Horse Pen Creek, and on the east by Little River. The Red River forms the northern and eastern boundaries of the parish, with the Atchafalaya forming the southern half of the eastern boundary. Lake Pearl and its feeders, Big Lake, Long Lake, the deep Bayou Du Lac, and several streams, feeders of the Red and Atchafalaya, afford a never failing water supply. In times of high water, Bayou Du Lac becomes a sea carrying away bridges and cutting off intercourse between the uplands and alluvial districts. In 1890 the legislature approved of measures for controlling the waters and reclaiming large bodies of line land from floods. The proposed levees once constructed, the bridging of all the bayous will be an easy and comparatively inexpensive affair.
The assessor's statistics of 1850 show the value of lands to be $1,511,001 including town lots and town property; of live stock, $320,432; of wagons and carriages, 846,608; of merchandise, 198,705; moneys loaned or in possession, $1,550; bonds, $500, or a total of $1,978,790. On the assessment a parish tax of $18,292.31, and a State tax of $11,872.74 was levied in addition to $4,800 derived from poll tax. Omissions in original assessment bring the totals up to $1,983,047, $18,368.58, $11,918.49 and $4,800 or a total direct tax of $35,087.07. Under the act of 18510, creating a levee district, a 5 mill tax of $7,195,20 was levied on that portion of the parish included in the district, and 5 cents per acre on lands subject to overflow, amounting to over $11,000 or about $155,005 for levee purposes. The assessor reported 3,107 acres in cane, 28,215 in cotton, 165 in rice, 4,353 in corn, 58 in oats, 23 in hay, 703 in potatoes, 31 in sorghum, and 600 in pasture. The total area cultivated is 79,315 acres, uncultivated 219,103 acres, and total area 298.478 acres.
The enumeration of White children between six and eighteen years shows 2,315 White males and 2,250 White females, 2,144 Colored males and 2,032 Colored females. In 1855 there were 1,025 tax payers in the parish, the great majority of whom owned from one to six slaves, while the minority claimed from 7 to 200. the population of Avoyelles in 18.10 was 404 slaves, 22 free Colored and 783 Whites or a total of 1,209. In 1820 the respective figures were: 782, 25 and 1,438, total 2,245 in 1830, 1,335 slaves, 35 free Colored, and 2,114 White, total 3,484; in 1840, 3,472 slaves, 78 free Colored, and 3,006 White, total 6,616; in 1850, 5,161 slaves, 106 free Colored, and 4,059 Whites, total 9,326; in 1860, 7,185 slaves, 74 free Colored, and 5,908 Whites, total 13,107; in 1870, 6,175 free Colored, and 6,751 Whites, total 12,920; in 1880, 8,205 free Colored, and 8,482 Whites, total 15,747. The total population in June, 1890, was 24,978, of this number 1,570 are liable to military duty.
About the beginning of the eighteenth century a few of the Acadians, driven from their happy homes in Nova Scotia, found a resting place on the Gulf Coast of Louisiana. Later a few of the more adventurous spirits among the immigrants pushed into the wilderness and, it is said, rested in the vicinity of Lake Pearl. There were evidences of habitation here when the known pioneers arrived; but the race and objects of these early travelers will never be known.
In 1780 Noel Soilleaux commanded the Avoyelles Post. In 1785 Jacques Gadnard commanded at Avoyelles and presented the occupation of Indian lands by Whites. Bosra, an Indian of Avoyelles Prairie, succeeded by this means in holding his land until the title was confirmed by the United States. In 1810 Joseph Juneau claimed lands on Avoyelles Prairie (cultivated in 1799), near the binds of Joseph Gnyot; Bernard Gadnard claimed lands adjoining in Rapides Parish; Joseph Tate, F. Tournier (near a bayou entering Bayou Boeuf), Clement Carmouche (Island of the Hill), Charles Fouchet (Lake Pearl), Antoine Duplechin, Pierre Roberts, Joseph Hooter, Pierre Aymond (Long Prairie), W. L. Collins, Richard Venor, Luke Lesassier, C. F. Weakley, Thomas Broderick (Bayou Boeuf), Jean Aymond, Louis Pomier (Point Maigre), Valerie Dozat, Pierre Leglise (Lake Parl), Samuel P. Moore (Bayou Rouge), Joseph Joffrion, Jean Normand (Grand River), Michael Aymond (Bayou du Lac), Pierre Joffrion (Bayou de Glaize), Richard Adams, D. Smithson, Jacob Baker, William Innufty, John Stevens and other settlers, whoso names are mentioned in the history of Rapides all came hither and established their homes. Up to 1789 the lands on Bayou Boeuf were inhabited by Indians. They removed shortly after, and Thomas Broderick took possession. In 1810 he sold to Cyrus Weakley. Anthony Cochran, aged seventy-six years in 1814, testified to the Indian occupancy. Luke Lesassier came in 1807. Anthony Cochran, seventy-six years old in 1814, testified that this land was occupied by the Indians in 1789.
Jean Amon and John Reed settled above Bailey's Ferry. Up to a few years ago an Indian village stood just back of Marksville, where the band owned 285 acres. The Caucasians gradually encroached on this remnant of their ancient domain, and ultimately fenced the red men out. In September the Indians entered suit to reclaim these lands, and appointed Judge Ducote to represent their interests. Representatives of the greater number of the old families are still here. For the dual purpose of history and statistics the slave holders of Avoyelles Parish in 1855 who owned nine or more slaves are named in the following list; Clair Joffrion 11, Olympe Joffrion 25, Verjuste Francois Gilbert and Jean P. Bordelon 18, N. R. Selser 40, William Clopton, Dr. L. K. Branch 20, D. Armand 15, E. E. Branch 10, James B. Griffin 14, C. C. Rush 9, Kimball & Robinson 9, Celestin Gauhtier 12, James Rabalais12, W. L. Voorhies 13, William F. Cheney (colonel of militia) 20, James Bowden 11, Prudent Pearce and Barthelmy Normand 15, Agnes Cappel 21, J. and J. A. Cappel 19, L. D. Coco 40, Z. G. Riche 15, Bene Rabalais 22, Hilaire Lemoine 9, Evareste Rabalais 37, P. Convillion 5), the widow of Hypolite Convillin 13, Joe Ducote Jr. 13, John O'Quinn 22, Mrs. Frances Casson 11, David Hubbard 19, W. V. Gober 27, Widow Julien Gondean 57, Charles Morean 16, Pierre Gondean 27, E. H. Morrow 27, John Botts 36, William B. Marshall 12, George Berlin 12, William L. Stewart 23, Dr. R. D. Windes 29, Henry Keller 86, M. Vernon 23, widow of M. A. Milburn 28, Alexander Morrison 32, John D. Cheney B. B. 18, E. Q. Griffin 12, James M. O'Neal 22, Edwin Epps 9, T. D. Marshall 43, widow A. M. Tanner 53, Randell Tanner 50, J. D. Whittington 50, Maj. Hugh M. Carey 130, Widow Frances Burgess 32, G. T. Nelson 20, Mrs. Sarah Frith 72, Austin Allen 72, John Kirk 72, E. R. Irion 57, Ed Ogden 72, William Cox 72, Paulin Bordelon 15, Gustave Bordelon 15, G. T. Voorhies 10, Joseph V. Rabalais 22, successor of E. Lemoine 22, J. G. Brown 18, Apolinaire Bordelon 20, John S. Callahan 11, Dr. P. W. Callahan 25, Cues Rabalais (killed in 1804 in battle) 15, Mrs. Pierre Normand 21, Leandre Bordelon 27, Dr. S. J. Whyte 24, Paulin Ganthier 24, Widow Valcour Ganthier 24, Belisaire Ganthier 24, Widow Valerien Gremillion 10, Aimel Joffrion F. C. W. 9, J. A. Boyer (merchant) 9, Dr. J. C. Ward 11, Y. Callahan 20, W. H. Dellinham 50, N. Humphreys 50, M. B. Rollins 50, James Brewster 9, M. A. McMillan 27, J. B. Evans 10. James Hunter 10, Rachel S. Kirk 13, Mrs. C. Norwood 134. James E. Howard 31, estate of F. Holmes 31, Widow Lemoine Mayenx 22, L. L. Mayenx 22, widow of James Burroughs 19, Joseph Dubroc 19, Eugene Ganthier 10, Leoti Ganthier 17, Leandre Lacour 14, Augustin Mayenx 14, Augustin Mayenx Jr. 14. James Callahan 08, S. Mershon 28, E. H. Satterfield 77, Jean P. Lemoine 13, Evariste Rabalais Jr. 14, John Furlow 10, George W. Cheney 14, Eliza Murdoch 114, John A. Glaize 72, Abrabam Mayenx 72, Widow Jean Bronillette 13, Francois Gaspard 10, Mrs. Antoine Laborde 15, Widow Pierre Dupuis 5), Antoine Dauzat Jr. 9, Louis Bordelon 15) (Louis Bordelon Jr.). W. W. Johnson 9 (colonel of Avoyelles' Battalion), Marcelin Bordelon 11, Villegoivint Moras 11, Celestin Moreau Sr. 30, Mrs. W. Edwards 12, Eugene Raymand (merchant) 10, Antoine Dubertand 10, Edmond Saucier 10, B. T. De LaVallade 5), W. F. Griffin 24, Valery Ledoux 10, Villegoivint Moras Jr. 10, Widow J. B. Lemoine 10, Widow Antoine Bordelon 32, Martin Gremillion 17, VilIeneuve Roy 9, Fabins Ricards 9. J. B. Guillory, Louis Bonnette 13, Julien Deshantelles 12, Mrs. Deshantelles 10, Widow Joseph Roy 9, Felix Marcotte 11, Dorsin Armand 27, Pierre Lemoine 10, Don Louis Moreau 9, J. B. Juneau Sr. 11, Wilson C. Robert (surveyor, killed by Dobbins in 1801) 11, William M. andW. B. Prescott 127, Jean Pierre Ducote 23, Jean B. Lemoine 10, Widow Joachim Juneau 17, Joseph Joffrion 37, J. B. Rabalais 10, Judge Louis Bordelon (died about 1861) 13, Widow Belizeverie Ducote 9, Laurent Normand 36, Dr. Jules C. Desfosse 5), Joseph D. Coco 10, Abraham M. Gray 32, William R. Brown 13, H. M. Ward 23, J. M. Haygood 10, William B. Crenshaw 30, P. M. Haygood 5), John E. Frith 21, Widow Eliza Mock 9, Dr. T. J. Spurlock Served in the Confederate Army. 29, G, B. Satterfield 14, Dr. Isidore Poiret 10, Dominique Coco 96, T. J. Stafford (captain) 21, J. M. Marshall 10, Joseph D. Mayenx 71, R. B. Marshall (agent) 34, Mrs. Mary Pisher 36, Amos Fisher 13, E. L. Taliaferro 18, A. G. Pearce 48, estate of W. M. Lambeth (Leinster plantation, now the property of Mrs. Stark and G. W. Sentell) 146, and on Dora plantation (now belonging to F. Begard) 33, John Ewell 23, Widow W. A. Johnson 5, J. Horace Marshall 15, Septimus M. Perkins IS, Lemuel Miles 17, Joseph Jackson 13, T. G. Bettison 13, Ciran Gremillion 13, Martin Rabalais 30, Marie Ann Normand 14, Widow Pierre Convillion 43, William Hetherwick 22, Jeau B. David 51, Widow Pierre Riconly 5), William Grimes 32, estate of D. K. Richey 11, Jean Pierre Normand 13, William Alexander 22, Francois Roy 17, A. D. Coco (colonel of militia) 14, Dr. Joseph Monela 38, Widow Marc Tassin 17, Constant M. Guillebert 28, Fielding Edwards 9, estate of Timothy M. Rogers 80, Widow Jean Bonnette 9, Joseph Moreau 17, estate of Robert Smith 68, estate of Thomas D. Orr 22, J. H. Casson 26, and estate of Mrs. Sosthene Convillion 13.
With the exception of a few natives of old France and some emigrants from the southeastern States, the families named are all Creole, varying little in manners and customs from the older Creole people of more southern parishes.
On September 1, 1817, the jurors and justices met at the house of Mark Elishe. Joseph Joffrion, Jr., then parish judge; Valery Bordelon, Narcesse Mayenx and William ERed, jurors; Urban Blanche, Robert Morrow, Benjamin Miller, Evan Baker, Mark Elishe and Franeois Tournier, justices, were present. The action of August 24, 1816, dividing the parish into five wards, was confirmed.
The oldest record of the police jury in possession of Clerk Field, is dated June 4, 1821. Stephen Amond of Ward 1, Joseph Rabalais of Ward 2, Dominique Coco of Ward 3, Francois Gremillion of Ward 4, and Michael Perrault of Ward 5, were present as jurors; Joseph Joffrion, Francois Tournier, Francois Bordelon, James White and Henry Ogden were also present as justices of the peace, and Parish Judge Voorhies was president. George Gorton was clerk and John Whiting, collector. In July, Jacob Keller appeared as juror from Ward 6. in February, 1822, Adrian Convillion, C. Ganthier, Valery Rabalais, Jean Bonnet, Michael Aymond find Michael Perrault were appointed commissioners to organize patrol districts. In August, John Reed and Marceline Dncuiro were jurors. In June, 1823, there is mention made of the court-house. Henry Boyce and William McFarland were justices. Bennett P. Voorhies clerk, and F. Tournier, F. Bordelon. F. Gremillion, E. Morrow and W. McFarland were named as trustees of the public schools of the parish. At this time a record of the payment of $8 to F. Mayenx and P. Genhote, for delivering six wild horses, is made.
In June, 1824, Joseph Kimball represented Ward 7, Charles Cappel Ward 4, P. Gondean Ward 5, and Palin Rabelais Ward 3. Charles Cappel was appoited treasurer. in 1825 John Woods, of Ward 5, C. K. Ham of Ward (5, and M. W. Kimball of Ward 1, are named. In 1825 Jenkin Phillips and Reasin P. Bowie were members of the jury. In 1827-28 Jaques Barbin presided, with Tourner, Coco, Maximillian Broupard, Kimball, Aymond, Moreau and J. A. Glaize formed the jury. The contest between George Gorton and Reasin P. Bowie, for the position of sheriff, was carried into the courts, and the question of establishing a new parish on Bayou Boeuf discussed. In 1825 E. G. Paxton was chosen a juror, and B. P. Voorhies, Cornelins Voorhies and Valery Bordelon, assessors.
Eoger B. Marshall established a ferry on Bayou Boeuf that year. In 1830 Mr. Marshall, Michael Perrault, L. Bowdon and Michael Aymond were elected jurors. In March, 1831, the house of Peter G. Voorhies was quarantined on account of disease. Joseph Joffrion, Joseph Roy, Dr. Orr and Sosthene Riche were elected jurors in June. Auguste Marcotte's ferry at junction of Bayou Rouge and De Glaze was authorized. Iti 1832 there were nine wards existing. Z. Bordelon, William L. Voorhies, George A. Irion and James McCauley were elected jurors. In .1833 Samuel Glass, John Botts and E. B. Marshall are named as jurors, and Francis Cullom and Isaac Griffith, in 1834. Narcesse Convillion and Stephen Aymond, who served in former years, were present in 1835 as jurors; F. Barlow, William Edwards, F. F. Oliver and Branch Tanner were new members, and C. C. Spalding attorney, in 1836. John Woods, R. B. Marshall and Hypolite Mayenx were jurors in 1837. William Bishop attorney, and James H. Barbin, clerk. Dr. Milligan was appointed physician in 1838. and in June of this year a new jury was elected, viz.: F. Barlow, H. Mayenx, Ralph Cushman, F. Gremillion, Evereste Rabalais, Sosthene Riche, Lovel H Snowden, E. E. Irion and Fabins Ricord: while in 1839 Julien Dasshautells and Etienne Plauche represented Wards 4 and 6. In September, however, Daniel Voorhies, D. Coco and Denis McDaniel were elected from Wards 1, 3 and 9, respectively. In 1840 C. D. Brashear,
B. B. Simms, J. Deshantelles and R. R. Irion were elected new members, and later G. A. Roberts qualified. In 1841 Valerian Moreau and W. L. Stewart are named as jurors elect. Ernest Bridault was treasurer, and D. Clark, Jr., clerk. In 1842 Pierre Fauquier, Z. Juneau, Z. Mayenx and Julien Gondean, appear as new members, and in 1843 R. B. Marshall reappears as a member of the board, with J. H. Barbin, clerk. The police jury of 1844 comprised Pierre Fauquier, Z. Juneau, Lncien D. Coco, Julien Deshantelles, Z. Mayenx, Paulin Bordelon, Julien Gondean, W. L. Stewart and Charles Kibbee. W. Edwards was collector. In June Messrs. Coco, Deshantelles, Bordelon and Kibbee were members with Pierre Kicouly, Pabins Ricord, St. Ville Convillion and Chris. Edelin. Robert M. Morrow was elected in October, and Adrien Convillion, represented the new Tenth Ward. In June, 1845, Zenon Lemoine, J. Deshantelles, Cornelins Voorhies and Charles Kibbee were new members. Parish Judge Baillio was president ex officio. George Berlin, Young Callahan and Martin Says were jurors in 1847, with Messrs. Juneau, Lemoine, Deshantelles, Morrow, Gondean, Voorhies and Kibbee. F. B. Coco was recorder of deeds, and Ed Geneves, secretary of school board. In May, 1847, Laurent Normand, J. Deshantelles, Jerome Callegari and E. B. Marshall were elected members of the jury.
Col. Blanchard then commanded the Eleventh Brigade. C. Moreau was elected juror in 1848, with Z. St. Romain, L. K. Branch, J. E. Howard (president), E. Dauzat and a few of the old members were jurors, E. B. Marshall presided in 1849, and in May of this year, Laurent, Normand, Joseph Mayenx, E. Dauzat, Martin Says, H. L. Nelson, E. R. Irion, Martin Rabalais and Dennis McDaniel were elected. in 1849 A. Barbin was recorder, and Martin Gremillion, treasurer, while in 1850 P. B. Coco was recorder. L. D. Lewis, T. H. Kimball, Z. St. Remain, W. V. Gober and J. E. Howard were elected in 1850. William Edwards, Felix Marcotte, J. Deshantelles, John O'Quinn were members in 1851, and in June, 1852, Marceline Bordelon, B. W. Kimball, W. V. Gober, George Berlin, J. M. O'Neal, Valery Coco. J. Deshantelles, Martin Says and F, Marcotte formed the board. J. J. Gondean was clerk. The expenses for the current year were estimated at $5,221. Martin Rabalais, Jerome Callegari and Bielkiewiez Barbin were new members in July, 1853. E. Joffrion was clerk. T. D. Marshall was elected in October; Barbin was elected recorder; Morrow, assessor, and Dupay, coroner. Hayden Edwards, W. L. Stewart, St. V. Convillion and Young Callahan were members in 1854, and L. H. Convillion, clerk. In 1855 H. Edwards, Marcelen Bordelon, M. Rabalais, J. Deshantelles, St. V. Convillion, E. Rabalais, H. L. Nelson, John Ewell, T. D. Marshall find Leandre Bordelon formed the jury. In 1858-59 there were twelve wards existing, Messrs. Says, William Edwards, E. Joffrion, Julien Deshantelles, E. K. Branch, Greg Convillion, John O'Quinn, E. E. Irion, B. F. Woods, Leon Gauthier, E. Rabalais and J. B. Smith were the jurors. In June, 1859, W. H. Bassett, Jr., took the place of Woods. The captains of patrol were John Parks, B. F. Woods, Widdleton Glaze, Ben Prescott and J. Furlow. P. M. Gremillion was clerk. In June, 1857, the following named new members took their seats:
Pierre Lemoine, Z. Mayenx, G. P. Voorhies and T. D. Marshall of Wards 3, 4, 5 and 9, respectively. About this time the people of Mansura made a fight to obtain the parish seat, and won 400 votes against 505 given for the old seat of justice. In 1837 the jury appropriated $1,000 for the erection of the court-house here: in 1838, $5,000; in 1839, $100: in 1854, $2,000, and in 1850, $500 or $8,500. In 1847, $5,000 were appropriated for a jail building; in 1842, $800 for the office of parish judge; in 1853, $50, and in 1857, $300, or a total of $14,750 for buildings at Marksville prior to 1858. In 1800 Valery Ledoux, Leon Ganthier and Evareste Rabalais (Know nothings), with John Ewell, J. Cock, G. Convillion, E. Convillion, Helaire Decuire, E. Joffrion, Franc Bettevy, and the president, J. P. Deshantelles, Democrats, formed the jury. In 1801 John P. J. Aymond, Ludger Bar bin, J. J. Bordelon. L. K. Branch, John Ewell, L. A. Robert, Jr., and Helaire Decuire were jurors; J. L. Geneves, treasurer; E. E. Cochrane, clerk; In 1803 the names of O'Quinn, G. Convillion, H. N. Bordelon and C. Moreau appear. William Nelson was ap pointed public printer. in July, 1805, Joseph S. Mayer, Aurelean Jeansone, Emile Bordelon, T. J. Edwards, John O'Quinn, E. S. Cole, S. Ville Convillion, P. D. Mayenx, M. V. Plauche and President Normand were jurors. Louis Beridou was clerk. and L. V. Gremitlion, treasurer. In September Henry Dupay was collector and treasurer. E. J. Joffrion and E. Rabalais qualified as jurors in 1800, A. H. Bordelon, as clerk, and Valery L. Mayenx, treasurer. In July, 1868, the jurors were T. D. Marshall, L. A. Joffrion, E. J. Joffrion, John W. Cooper, William J. Compton, Martin Says, A. E. Rabalias, F. B. de Bellevue, A. D. Lafargne, E. Larre (Col.) and F. Coco were jurors.
The police jury of 1870 organized June 6 with Eloi Jeffrion, president; Martin Says, F. B. de Bellevue, Jerome B. Ducote, Asa B. Coco, H. O. Convillion and William M. Ewell, jurors. L. V. Gremillion was elected clerk; Albert S. Morrow, treasurer, and John T. Craven, constable, and Charles F. Huesman, public printer. The roads and bridges of the parish claimed the greater part of their time and attention. In June, 1871, A. D. Coco was chosen president, the clerk was re-elected; John L. Generis was appointed treasurer; Aristide Barbin, the president; A. L. Boyer, H. Anderson and Feliden Gondean. The Weekly Register was then the official organ. In September, 1872, a tax of 12 mills was levied for parish purposes. At this time Eloi Joffrion presided. F. M. Haygood, Feliden Gondean, John Ewell and Martin Says were jurors. in 1873 A. Barbin, M. C. Bordelon and L. D. Coco took the places of Messrs. Haygood, Gondean and Says. A. H. Bordelon was elected treasurer and E. J. Joffrion attorney. A. Noguez was then sheriff. The jury of 1873 organized in May, with E. D. McLaughlin (stranger) president; F. M. Dumartrail (E.), clerk; P. A. Durand (R.), treasurer; H. C. Edwards (E.), attorney; Dr. E. de Nux, physician; and J. F. C. Monin (E.), A. L. Boyer (E.), Arthur H. Barbin (Col.) and Louis Peigne (Col.), jurors. The estimate of parish expenses was placed at $14,800.
The Avoyelles Republican was declared the official journal. in July this jury repudiated the issues (presumably scrip) of the former jury, find warned the people not to receive or purchase the same. In 1874 A. L. Boyer presided and Martin Says and F. Gondean were members. Henry Dupay was chosen treasurer, C. F. Huesman was collector and assessor. In December of this year L. D. Coco presided; Fabins Ricord was treasurer; A. B. Irion, attorney, and A. D. Lafargue, public printer. John C. Grimes, Jerome B. Ducote, P. M. Lemoine and T. T. Ducote formed the jury. P. Magleire (Col.), ex-sheriff, was granted $59.50, while $10 was granted to the new sheriff, W. R. Messick. In August, 1875 Messrs. L. D. Coco, J. C. Grimes, James Breeler (Col.), J. B. Ducote and P. R. Lemoine formed the board. This jury confirmed claims amounting to $864.70, find older claims amounting to $10,383, showing the indebtedness of the parish to be $17,248.36. In March, 1870, the delinquent taxes for the eight years ending in 1873 i were estimated at $18,582.98. At this time the I live wards were re-established and the estimate of i expenditures placed at $14,200.
In January, 1877, P. P. Lemoine, Eugene Gas: pard, Scott Normand, P. T. Stapleton (mulattoes), and Isaac Williams (col.), formed the jury; Dumartrail was still clerk, and F. B. Barbin, treasurer. In February, the newly elected jury organized, with John C. Grimes, president; John Ewell, Edgar Convillion, James T. Hudson and P. P. Lemoine, jurors; R. R. Irion, treasurer, and P. M. Dumartrail, clerk. The last named was very popular, knew all the details of jury work, and held the position in hail, rain or snow. the estimate of expenditure was placed at the small sum of $8,875, but in May it was raised to $11,601. To meet this a 10 mill parish tax was authorized in addition to a 2-mill school tax. in July the parish was divided into ten wards for municipal purposes.
In addition to the jurors named, five additional jurors were appointed, namely; M. C. Bordelon, Eloi Joffrion, W. W. Johnson, Felicien Gondean (mulatto) and S. T. Norwood. At this time H. Bielkiewiez was recorder, A. L. Barbin, sheriff, and W. B. Moore (Colored), coroner. In 1878 James H. Ducote was appointed treasurer, and J. J. Edwards, public printer. J. C. Grimes of Ward 1, was re-elected president; E. Gaspard, Fulgence Lemoine. Alphonse Monin, J. O. Dumas, Eugene Ganthier, F. M. Haygood, Hyp. Ducote, John Ewell and Thomas D. Wier formed the jury. In June, 18751, the parish jail was accepted from the builders; H. W. Decuire was then sheriff. In April, 1880, the following named jurors took their seats; Eloi Joffrion of Ward 3, president; Mayo Duke, Francois Minoret, Paul T. Bordelon, J. B. Bringal, Pierre F. Gondean, F. M. Haygood, Felicien Gondean, John Ewell and Thomas P. Frith, Jr. A. J. Lafargue was elected clerk, vice Dumartrail, and E. E. Irion, treasurer. The Bulletin was declared the official journal. Isham West was a juror in 1881, and Simeon J. Bordelon in 1882. On the hitter's resignation, in March, 1883, F. F. Gremillion took his place. in June, 1884, the new jury organized, with John Ewell, president, and G. H. Convillion, clerk. The representatives in numeral order of wards were Martin Says, George L. Mayer, P. D. Roy, vice Eloi Joffrion, J. B. De Roy, Charles Gondean, Eine Bordelon, John R. Brown, Ovide Mayenx, John Ewell and A. M. Haas. At this time George L. Mayer was appointed member of the school board and held both positions. In 1880 J. K. Bond and J. P. Snelling were appointed, vice Messrs. Brown and Ewell, and in July, 1887, A. V. Coco took the place of Mr. Mayer, who had to resign, owing to j his membership on the school board.
In June, 1888, the present jury was elected: Isham West, Louis Saucier, whose place was soon after taken by Simon Siess, Eloi Joffrion, J. B. De Roy, J. E. Didier, P. B. Coco, J. P. Griffin, Ceran Gremillion, H. C. Kemper and P. M. Haygood, T. T. Fields was elected clerk, and Ludger Barbin, treasurer. Martin Says now holds the place of West, D. B. Hudson, that of Haygood. O. P. Edwards, qualified as clerk, and A. H. Bordelon, as attorney, in March, 1869. Alex Noguez qualified as coroner some time after, and J. J. Gondean, as treasurer; P. J. Normand was clerk at this time as well as deputy recorder. In December, J. A. Morrow was clerk of the jury; A. G. Morrow, was treasurer, in 1870; P. A. Durand, in 1873; Henry Dupay, in 1874; P. Ricord, 1875; P. B. Barbin, 1877; E. E. Irion, in March, 1877, and J. P. Ducote, 1878. Among the citizens who tilled the office of surveyor were Alex Plauohe, 1821; Peter G. Voorhies, in 1832; with James McCauley, deputy. In 1837 Francis Oliver filed his bond; in 1843, S. D. Jones; W. W. Edwards, 1805; W. E. Messeek, 1871, and C. P. Convillion, 1884. The assessors were Marceline Bordelon, Edmoud Plauche, 1842; Zelun Couvillon, in 18-10; Leon Ganthier, in 1848; Sosthene Riche find Louis Mayenx, 1850; Martin Convillion, 1852; F. W. Masters and Louis Beridou, 1805; James Ware, 1870; G. P. Voorhies, 1877; E. de Nux, 1880; A. J. Lafargue, 1885; T. S. Denson, 1880; A. V. Saucier, 1890. Ferdinand B. Coco, qualified as the first recorder of Avoyelles, in October, 1840; followed in 1849, by Aristide Barbin; L. V. Gremillion followed Jerome J. Ducote, as recorded in September, 1864; James M. Edwards, 1855; L. V. Gremillion, 1865-70; F. W. Masters, 1808; L. Ganthier, 1873; P. A. Durand and Henry Bielkiewiez, 1870, who was serving when the office was consolidated with the clerk's office. Jerome Calleigari was the first superintendent of schools in April, 1848, and Adolph Lafargue, the second in 1851.
In January, 1887, Judge Blackman decided that Act 104 and the whole action of the people of Avoyelles in re the removal of the parish seat were not constitutional, and perpetually enjoined the removal of the seat of justice from Marksville. the first record book of the parish court of Avoyelles was purchased at Paris, Prance, in 1808, and opened bore June 10, that year. Thomas F. Oliver, then parish judge, deciding that P. Rubelt, defendant, should pay P. Mayenx, plaintiff, the sum of $197.09. There were only thirty six civil suits decided up to December 5 of the fifty-one suits entered for trial. In 1812 Kenneth McCruman was Parish judge. On his recusal Judge Claiborne, of Rapides, presided here. Robert Morrow was clerk of court. In 1813 Alexander Plauche was Parish judge, and J. B. Mitchell, clerk.
Robert Morrow signing as clerk of the parish of Avoyelles. William Hervey qualified as sheriff in 1814. In 1816 Cornelins Voorhies was judge, S. Herriman, clerk, and Sosthene Riche, sheriff. In March, 1817, Joseph Kimball filed his bond as sheriff. He was succeeded by J. Morgan in 1820, and George Gorton succeeded Herriman.
Josiah M. CleWoland was sheriff, and R. T. Sackett, deputy, with Joseph Joffrion, F. Founder and F. Bordelon, justices of the peace. Joseph Kimball was coroner, followed by Louis Gorton in 1824. Julian Deshantelles was elected sheriff. Louis James Barbin qualified as parish judge May 5,1820.
Bennett F. Voorhies was clerk of district court, and C. T. Pemberton, deputy. In 1829 Cornelins Voorhies was sheriff. In 1825 Valery Bordelon was major of militia, and in 1827 E. A. Cochran was coroner. In 1831 Francois B. de Bellevue took his seat as parish judge, but in December of that year Louis Bordelon presided. William Dunbar's bond as district attorney was placed on record in December, 1832. A. G. Morrow was coroner in 1835. Willard S. Cushman qualified as deputy clerk in 1837, and in December James H. Barbin qualified as clerk of the Sixth District, and Charles D. Brashear, sheriff. Gervais Baillio qualified as parish judge, and succeeded Judge Bordelon in July, 1839; F. Barlow was sheriff, Joseph Guillot, deputy, but in March, 1840, William Edwards succeeded Barlow and appointed Eugene Caillitain, deputy. At this time the members of the bar were Ralph Cushman, William Bishop. John E. Waddill, James S. Edilon, Henderson Taylor and J. H. Cosden. Judge Baillio served until 1845-40, when the office of parish judge was abolished. On its re-establishment in 1808 James H. Barbin was elected judge, but, on his death James M. Edwards was appointed and re-appointed in 1874: W. W. Waddell, 1873; Louis J. Decote succeeded in 1875. Lucien P. Normand was elected in 187(5, and lie was followed by William Hall in 1878, who was serving when the office was abolished in 1SS0. Joseph S. Johnston was judge of the Sixth District in 1818.
The first district court for Avoyelles was opened in June, 1825, by Judge William Murray, of the Sixth District. Charles T. Scott, Henry Boyce, W. Willson, W. Voorhies, C. Voorhies, H. A. Bullard were then the leading lawyers here. In June. 1826, Henry A. Bullard presided as judge, and during the year Judges Lewis and Overton held court at Marksville. George Gorton, Isaac Thomas, Lesassier, T. Flint and T. Barry were attorneys here in 1828. During the following decade Seth Lewis, J. H. Overton, of the Seventh District, H. A. Bullard, of the Sixth District, and John H. Johnson, of the Sixth District, 1830, presided over the courts of the parish. In 1885 Eleazer G. Paxton was commissioned sheriff, and served until 1837. In April, 1837, Judge Seth Lewis, of the Fifth District, opened a term of the district court at Marksville. Charles D. Brashear presented his commission as sheriff, and recommended the appointment of Eleazer G. Faxton deputy.
In October E. K. Willson, of the Seventh District, was judge. E. Cushman, John L. Howard, George R. King and C. L. Swazy were admitted to the bar, and James H. Barlow was commissioned clerk. In 1838 Henry Boyce, of the Sixth District, presided. Dr. Milligan was allowed $37 for medicines and attendance given to John Smith, then a prisoner charged with murder. Samuel Small, a forger, William Anderson, a thief, and Archibald Frith, a murderer, were all in prison at this time, guests of Sheriff W. Edwards and James H. Barbin, clerk. In March, 1843, Fabins Ricord was commissioned sheriff, and in 1845 John Sterling was coroner. L. P. Normand was deputy clerk in 1846, and G. P. Voorhies was sheriff in 1847. In 1845) Ralph Cushman, judge of the Thirteenth District, presided, with J. H. Barbin, clerk, and Lucien P. Normand, deputy clerk. Frederick H. Farrar, of the Ninth District, was judge in October, 1845). The death of William Bishop, the oldest member of the old bar of Woyellas, was noticed in April, 1850. Zeuin Areaux was coroner in 1852. In April, 1850, Octaves N. Ogden succeeded Judge Cushman, and a year later E. N. Cullom succeeded him as judge of the Thirteenth District.
About this time an undated document was filed, binding the following members of the bar not to plead want of amicable demand in any case before the court; W. W. Waddill, Thomas C. Manning. J. H. C. Barlow, J. L. Generes, Fenelon Cannon (died in the war as captain of a company), W. A. Stewart, H. C. Edwards, A. B. Irion, William E. Cooke, E. E. Voorhies, F. P. Hitch-born (said to have served in the Mexican War), Aristide Barbin, S. L. Taylor and C. N. Hines. In September, 18(50, Cannon J. Irion and H. Taylor were present as lawyers, and joined with the other attorneys in asking the judge to adjourn court until December, owing to the great scarcity of water. The judge acquiesced, and court, was adjourned. In May, 1861, the grand jury assured the court that -owing to the war excitement, and the fact that recruiting was being carried on, it was inexpedient to open court, and in this view the judge coincided. In February, 1862, the deaths of Judge Ogden and F. P. Hitchborn were announced. In October, 1863, and in July and September, 1864, Judge Cullom (now of the Seventh District) held court, and in October, 1865, Henry C. Edwards succeeded him. Hon. William H. Cooley, who was killed in a duel at New Orleans in 1867, presided in May, 1866, and Lucien P. Normand was clerk, but gave place later to Julien J. Gondean. A year after G. Merrick Miller was judge of the Seventh District, Amos S. Collins, clerk; J. J. Ducote, sheriff, and F. Ricord, minute clerk. I n 1865 Fielding Edwards was sheriff, and in May, 18(5(5, J. J. Ducote qualified as his successor. J. J. Gondean took the oath as clerk in June, 1866, and served until Amos S. Collins qualified, in July, 18(58. At this time John W. Creagh was sheriff, but in November, 1866, J. J. Ducote filled that office. In May, 1865), Henry Dupay was clerk.
The successor of Judge Miller was Thomas Butler, in May, 1872. Alex Noguez qualified as sheriff in December, 1870, and C. T. Normand as coroner. Thomas H. Hewes presided in May, 1873, with S. R. Thorpe, district attorney; A. D. Coco, clerk; J. J. Gondean, deputy; A. L. Barbin, sheriff, and E. Jackson, coroner. F. Ricord was sheriff in 1873, W. E. Messick (killed in New Orleans, in January, 1877) was installed sheriff in December, 1874, and J. J. Ducote, district attorney. in 1875 F. T. Gremillion was coroner. Anatole L. Barbin was appointed sheriff early in 1877, but in January, 1877, W. E. Messick took the oath as sheriff and W. B. Moore as coroner. John Yoist, judge of the Seventh District, in May, 1877, appointed R. R. Irion, Isaac Williams, A. L. Boyer and Fulgeuce Convillion, jury commissioners. Charles Gray was sheriff at this time, with L. V. Gremillion, deputy. In 1878 Hilaire W. Decuire qualified as sheriff, and George Clayton, coroner. In 1880 Aristide Barbin was elected judge, and W. F. Blackmail was appointed additional judge; L. V. Gremillion was elected clerk; Leon Ganthier, sheriff, and Dr. Porch, Jr., coroner. Judges Thomas Overton and W, F. Blackman were elected judges in 1884; the clerk reelected, and Louis A. Joffrion elected sheriff, and Leo C. Tarlenton, coroner; G. H. Convillion, A. E. Gremillion and J. A. Morrow were deputy clerks. A. V. Coco was elected judge in 1888, and Judge Blackman re-elected, with A. M. Bordelon, clerk, and Clifton Cannon, sheriff. A. M. Gremillion and J. A. Morrow are the deputy clerks, and the deputy sheriffs are T. J. Armitage and A. J. Tailleor. On the death of L. V. Gremillion, in March, 1886, A. J. Lafargue was appointed clerk, and served until the present clerk, A. M. Bordelon, qualified, in May, 1888. The court of appeals for the Third Circuit was opened here in January, 1881, with A. B. Irion and J. M. Moore, presiding judges. In June, 1884, John Clegg was elected judge of appeals, rice Irion, elected member of Congress. In June, 1888, Robert S. Perry was commissioned judge of appeals for this circuit, vice Moore. The members of the present bar are Aristide Barbin, H. C. Edwards, J. M. Edwards, E. J. Joffrion, L. J. Ducote, E. N. Cullom, Jr., J. H. Ducote, J. A. Lemoine, G. H. Convillion. A. B. Irion, J. C. Cappel, A. J. Lafargue (A. L. Bordelon died in July, 1889), Thomas H. Thorpe and William H. Peterman.
In February, 1844, a great Whig meeting was held at Marksville, a committee to attend the convention at New Orleans was appointed, H. Taylor, S. W. Briggs, Pierre Normand, Jr., C. D. Brashear and Young Callahan being members. Gen. P. Convillion and E. Rabalais presented the parish in the Legislature; W. F. Griffin succeeded Convillion that year. Bannon G. Thibodeau (elected) of the Second. T. Butler of the Third and Louis Bordelon of the Fourth District, were candidates for Congress, but J. B. Dawson was elected in the Third and I. T. Morse in the Fourth District. J. H. Hamanson represented the Rapids District in the Senate. There were 568 votes cast for President in November, 1844, Polk receiving 374. In November, 1847, J. H. Harmanson was elected congressman; A. B. Coco and J. Deshaulletes were elected representatives; J. P. Waddill defeated J. E. Howard for the Senate. Taylor received 299 and Cass 359 votes in 1848 for President. John H. Boyer, E. H. Sibley, J. P. Waddill, W. W. Whittington and J. Joffrion were delegates to the convention of 1852 from Avoyelles and Rapids. In 1853 Michael Eyan was elected senator, and G. Berlin and L. Ganthier, representatives. In November, 1856, Avoyelles We 584 votes for the Democrat and 323 for the Know-nothing candidate for President. In 1861 members of the Confederate House were elected. Messrs. Convillion and Joffrion, are said to have served at Shreveport. In 1859 the Democrats nominated John O'Quinn and G. P. Voorhies for representatives; E. Joffrion for sheriff; H. Convillion for clerk, and W. Reed for assessor.
Dr. S. A, Smith was elected senator. The first secession meeting was held at Marksville on December 20, 1860. A. M. Gray presided, with Fenelon Cannon, vice-president, and F. Ricord, secretary. A southern Rights Association was then organized. In November 750 votes were recorded for Breckinridge, 290 for Bell and 7 for Douglas. In January, 1861, A. M. Gray and Gen. B. B. Simms represented the senatorial district, and Col. F. Cannon, A. Barbin and F. B. Coco the Parish, in the Constitutional Convention; Barbin, Cannon and Gray signed the secession ordinance.
Messrs. Convillion and J. M. Edwards were representatives in 1865 and A. D. Coco, senator. The representation of the Parish in the Legislature from 18(58 to 1878 was confined to a few men, who escaped much of the opprobrium attached to the successful politicians of these dark days. In 1870 L. J. Soner and J. Laurant; in 1872, Pierre Mageloire (Colored) and L. J. Soner, and later Soner and L. Barbin. in 1878 E. Ducote and F. B. Coco were representatives and T. J. Norwood, senator; E. J. Joffrion and Alex Naguez (Colored), 1879; E. J. Joffrion and S. S. Pearce, 1880, am! D. B. Hudson and T. P. Harmanson, 1884. A. Barbin and J. K. Bond fire the present representatives, and O. O. Provosty, senator, for Avoyelles and Point Coupee. in 1870 there were 1,485 votes cast for Francis T. Nicholls (D.) and 1,503 for S. B. Packard (E.), candidates for governor; in 1879 Louis A. Wiltz (D.) received 1,008 and Taylor Beattie (E.) 1,355; in 1884 Samuel D. McEnery (D.) 1,853 and John A. Stevenson (R.) 991; in 1888, Francis T. Nicholls (D.) 2,425 and Henry C. Warmoth (R.) 1,310. The total number of registered voters in April, 1888, was 4,940 - 2,300 being White; 721 Whites and 2.148 Africans could not write their names.
The Villager, Vol. I, No. 18, was issued at Marksville. February 3, 1844, by G. A. Stevens. I t was printed in French and English. The Villager (new) wfis issued March 30, 1844, by A. Derivas, who assumed for it Vol. I, No. 1. The French page bore the title Le Villageois. In February, 1859, Alex Barde was publisher, succeeding Lemaitre. P. D'Artlys issued his salutatory April 23, 1859, and A. Barde his valedictory. The Prairie Star was issued at Marksville as a Whig journal, by E. J. Poster, in August, 1848. Le Pelican was issued May 28, .1855), by P. D'Artlys as the successor of the Villager, retaining the volume and issue number; D. A. Bland was editor.
L'Organie Central was issued June 14, 1855, at Marksville, by Fenelon Cannon and S. Lewis Taylor. It was printed in French and English, and espoused the platform of the Know-nothings. 31. F. Barclay was connected with this paper. On June 13, 1857, the editors announced the termination of their engagement with the Know-nothing party, and Adolphe P. Marcotte became editor. I n May, 1858, A. L. Gusman, succeeded Marcotte and carried on this journal to its end before the war.
The Weekly Register was issued in 1857, and No. 9, of Vol. I l l , bears date December 3, 1870, A. D. Coco was then editor and proprietor. The Avoyelles Republican was issued by Alex Noguez, during his term as sheriff (1868-72). The Marksville Villager was edited by A. Lafargue up to January, 18(58, when A. D. Lafargue and T. J. Edwards took charge. The Villager (third) was issued September 8, 1877, by T. J. Edwards. O. B. de Bellevue was manager in April, 1879. Later A. D. Lafargue was connected with this journal.
The Review- was established May 1, 1880. William Hall is publisher and A. M. Gremillion editor. Mr. Gremillion has been sole owner since its beginning. The Bunkie Blade was established July 8, 1888, by L. Tanner and G. H. Harvill. In November, 1888, H. A. Tanner purchased the office, and E. E. Tanner bought the office from him in January, 1890. The circulation is about 000 copies The Washington hand-press is historical. It was brought to Alexandria by Mr. McLean, and cast into Red River by the people.
The Marksville Bulletin was established in 1876 by A. D. Lafargue. J. O. Domas edited this journal for some time and was followed by Mr. Lafargue. A. D. and A. J. Lafargue were editors. The latter is now editor, with W. R. Howard, publisher. The circulation is 650 copies per week.
In 1825 Valery Bordelon qualified as major of the Avoyelles Battalion, Joseph Kimball as captain; Sosthene Riche, Zeno Bordelon, Valery Bordelon, Zenon Lemoine, Louis Mayeau, Julien Gondean, Zenon Chattin, Colia Lacour, Hypolite Mayeau, Celestin Guithelt and Celestin Ganthier, as lieutenants, and B. G. Paxton as adjutant. In 1827 E. A. Cochran was commissioned adjutant. Cornelins Voorhies was brigade inspector in 1828; Lewis Gorton, captain. In 1839 Francois B. do Bellevue was commissioned colonel of the Twenty-second Regiment, Louisiana Militia, Pierre Convillion was commissioned brigadier-general of the Eleventh Brigade in 1841. In September, 1845, Gen. Convillion called on the militia to be ready for service in Texas. In June, 1847, a company of militia, under Capt. C. Moreau and Lieuts. H. C. Barlow and F. B. Barbin, paraded at Marksville in response to the request of a lieutenant of the Seventeenth United States Infantry. In 1884 Adolphe J. Lafargue qualified as colonel. On November 14, 1860, a meeting was held at the Baptist Church of Big Bend to consider the political position of the south. It ended with the organization of the Independent Volunteer Company. William P. Cheney was elected captain; John L. Rogers, Benjamin W. Bond, St. A7ille Convillion, lieutenants; A. McIntyre, F. Coco, A. S. Gray, W. F. Griffin and Evariste Convillion, sergeants; Faustin Bordelon, J. M. Lewis, Baptist Rabalais and Verges Bordelon, corporals.
On December 29, 1860, a large secession meeting was held at Marksville, and a plan of military organization was outlined. The Avoyelles Regiment, organized in April, 1801, with A. D. Coco, colonel; P. Cannon, lieutenant- colonel; B. W. Blackwood, major; Daniel Brownson, adjutant-major, Robert Tanner, officer d'ordnance; Alphonse B. Coco, quartermaster; W. W. Waddel, treasurer; Dr. L. K. Branch, surgeon-major, and Dr. Rushing aide major. The Atchafalaya Guards, under Capt. Boone, left for the front in April, 1861. B. M. Boone was captain; J. J. McCrea, J. T. Norwood and T. P. Harmanson, lieutenants; E. P. Harmanson, John C. Jones, W. W. McCranie and J. M. Batehelor, sergeants; D. D. L. McLaughlin, ensign; John E. Phares, M. Shirley, J. C. Kennerly and T. A. Steindort, corporals. There were 105 private soldiers enrolled.
The Avoyelles Eiflemen, under Capt. W. W. Johnson, left in April, 1851, eighty-nine strong: Arthur Cailleteau, T, Jefferson Edwards and Cecil Legare, lieutenants; Ernest Domas, sergeant major, and John Craven, port-drapeau. This company disbanded at New Orleans, but many of them entered other commands. A. M. Gremillion and others forming Company I, Eighteenth Louisiana Infantry.
The Louisiana Swamp Rifles were commanded, in May, 1801, by D. N. Dickey. The company was recruited in Avoyelles, Pointe Coupee and St. Landry.
Creoles des Avoyelles, or Avoyelles Creole Invincibles, was the name given to a company organized in August, 1801, by James Griffin. The Avoyelles Rangers, organized in September, 1801, with W. F. Cannon, captain. The Evergreen Riflemen left for the seat of war in September, 1861, under Capt. White. In the above-named companies a great number of all the men capable of bearing arms was mustered, but the great majority was mustered into regiments of Louisiana volunteers, while some served in regiments of other Confederate States, and one or two in Federal commands.
The enrollment of White pupils for each of the eleven years, from 1877 to 1887, inclusive, is as follows: 923, 679, 817 (no enrollment in 1880), 607 (no enrollment in 1882-83-84), 1,222, 1,110, 1,392. The enrollment of Colored pupils for the same years is as follows: 1,035, 727, 732, , 425, , , , 338, 909 and 1,941. In 1888 and 1889 the enrollment shows a large increase, but the attendance is materially different.
The registered physicians of the parish, who give the date and place of diploma, are James J. Robert, Christian D. Owens, Agrippa Gayden, John S. Branch, Charles Wier, John D. Everett. Leo C. Tarleton, John C. Anderson, Leroy K. Branch, Jean V. Cantonnet, Cleophas J. Ducote, William P. Buck, John A. Hollinshead, William E. Montgomery, James Ware, William G. Branch, William D. Haas, George E. Pox, Thomas A. Roy, while these who registered under the act of 1882, on account of years of practice, were Edward C. M. Bonrjal, Mansura; Theodore Ferest, Mansnra; Leon Monda, Marksville, James A. Daniel.
The Louisiana Central Stem of the Mississippi & Pacific Railroad Company was incorporated in July, 1854, to build a road from the Mississippi, below the mouth of the Red River, to Cheneyville and thence to the boundary of Texas. The incorporators in Rapids were P. F. Keary, Randall Tanner, R. L. Tanner, Mountford Wells, Henry Boyce, L. A. Stafford. John Compton, Jr., Charles H. Flower, W. H. Scott, Jabez Tanner and Henry Butters.
The incorporators of the Louisiana Central Stem Railroad, in July, 1854, were Hugh Keary, Thomas Frith, John Ewell, A. G. Pearce, L. D. Coco, Fenelon Cannon, P. W. Callahan, G. P. Voorhies, J. I. B. Kirk, B. B. Simms, Joseph Torras, F. P. Hitchborn, M. M. Matthews, E. B. Marshall, W. C. Robert and J. J. Gondean all of Avoyelles. The road was graded to The Burns in this parish.
In December, 1843, Charles Duval Brashear took the oath as mayor of Marksville, with John P. Waddill, G. A. Stevens, W. H. Duvall, James Rey, Jr., and Fielding Edwards, aldermen. In August, 1844, C. D. Brashear was mayor; A. Barbin, dork; J. P. Waddill, W. H. Duvall, J. Rey, Jr., P. Edwards and William Edwards, aldermen. In 1846-47 A. C. Armstrong was mayor; Messrs. Waddill, A. Barbin, F. Ricord, Ed Generes and J. H. Barbin, aldermen. F. P. Hitchborn was mayor in 1850, and P. J. Normand, clerk. Messrs. McEnery, Brashear, J. E. Frith, T. B. Barbin and L. P. Normand were councilmen. A. C. Armstrong was mayor in 1851-52, and in July, 1852, J. McEnery was chosen mayor, with R. Robinson, E. Eeynand, Dr. McEnery, J. B. Maillet and P. B. Barbin, aldermen. Elie Connor was mayor in 1855-50, with H. Taylor, W. W. Waddill, B. P. de LWallade and D. J. Smith, aldermen. Messrs. de LWallade, J. J. Gondean, P. B. Barbin and W. W. Waddill were aldermen in
1858, find later H. C. Edwards and A. Barde were members, and W. W. Waddill was mayor. In 1859 A. Lafargue was elected mayor, and Emile Chaze, A. Barbin, V. Gremillion, Dr. King and W. A. Stewart, aldermen. In June, I860, B. P. de Lavallade and V. O. King were candidates for mayor. In 1861 W. W. Waddill was elected mayor. Adolphe Lafargue was mayor in 1865, J. Rulong, J. P. Didier, J. M. Edwards, VV. W. Waddill and B. R. de LWallade, aldermen. P. B. de Bellevue was mayor in 1868, while in 1869 Aristide Barbin was mayor. In 1871 P. B. De Bellevue was mayor; in 1872 A. M. Kilpatrick; A. Barbin, 1873; P. B. de Bellevue, 1874; A. B. Irion, 1875. A. Barbin took the oath as mayor in June, 1875-79, and J. P. Didier, 1880. in November, 1880, Anatole Barbin was elected mayor, and in June, 1881, A. L. Barbin took the oath. Aristide M. Gremillion, 1882; A. H. Bordelon, 1883: Alfred H. Bordelon, 1884-88; En^r&Tchaze, 1888-90, with Theodore T. Fields, J. H. Ducote, Edmoud Michel, G. H. Convillion and E. de Nux, aldermen. J. Rey, Jr., was master at Marksville in 1844; T. B. Tiller (killed Gordon and left), in 1845; James McEnery, 1848; F. B. Barbin, 1845); J. Eey, 1854, died in 1855; L. V. Gremillion, 1856; C. Gilbert; E. Chaze, 1859; Henry Dupay, 1860; E. Chaze, 1803; J. T. Didier, 1804; H. Dupay, 1806-69; J. A. Dalsut, 1869; George L. Mayer, 1871-73; H Dupay, 1873-82; C. F. Huesman, H. Dupay, 1882; George L. Mayer, 1887; J. M. Edwards, 1889-90.
Daniel Webster presided over the Avoyelles Academy in 1842. In June, 1850, John and Mrs. McDonnell conducted this establishment. Thomas McMahon presided over the male academy in 1851. I n September, 1853, Jeannie Haseltine opened the Young Ladies' Institute, while the McDonnells still carried on the Male and Female Academy. The Marksville High School was established in 185(5 and incorporated in 1858. A. Lafargue, D. A. Bland and Gnstave Brulatour were the professors. The Bell Tavern, built of brick by C. D. Brashear, was conducted in 1850 by T. B. Tiller. The house was occupied after the war by Adolphe Lafargue, and was purchased from the Lafargue estate about 1870 by Judge H. C. Edwards, who tore down the house in 1887 and built his present residence on the site.
In 1851 the Hotel des Planteurs was conducted by D. Iugouf—the same which Mrs. Normand conducted before the war. John McDonnell carried on the Avoyelles House in 1850. The mission of St. Joseph at Marksville was attended from Cocoville for about sixty years up to June 4, 1839, when the present church building was blessed by Bishop Martin. Rev. J. Janetin (the last, priest at Cocoville) was the first resident priest. In 1880 Rev. P. E. Simon succeeded Father Juneau, and Rev. O. L. Bre came in 1882, and in August, 1885, Rev. A. Chorin, the present pastor, was appointed. The congregation numbers about 4,000 members. The Colored members number about 200.
The Convent of the Presentation (Daughters of the Cross) was established here in 1809, with Sister Therese mother superior. A day school was also founded at this time, with Sister Anna in charge. The present community comprises six Sisters, of whom Sister Therese is superior. The number of day pupils Were ages forty-five, and of regular pupils fifteen. The convent buildings were erected in 1809, and the present school building or exhibition hall was erected in 1889. the Convent of the Immaculate Conception at Mansura was founded, with Sister St. Yoes superiors. the school attached to this convent is attended by about thirty pupils. St. Peter's Protestant Episcopal Church was established January 28, 1881, by the pastor of St. James, Alexandria. Rev. Messrs. Presser or Kramer held services here until 1880 at long intervals. St. Timothy's Mission at Sunday Home Plantation dates back to the winter of 1880-81.
Bunkie, formerly known as Irion, was named in 1882, by Capt. Haas, after his little daughter. The first record of the council is dated April 14, 1885. L. V. Anderson was then mayor; T. B. Kimbro, J. P. Snelling, Marsbman A. Gen, G. W. Lynch and M. F. A. Jones, councilmen. J. T. Johnson, treasurer, W. H. Richelborger, clerk and assessor. Later J. T. Watson was appointed to till the position vacated by Richelberger. in July, 1886, the proposition of the citizens to donate a jail building was accepted, and under this date the following item is recorded: "The mayor was asked to confer with the two Colored preachers, and request that they carry to their religious services in a more respectable manner, and, if they did not, they lay themselves liable to be closed up." the mayor resigned, and John D. Ernest was chosen to fill that position. A. T. Allen's name appears as councilman in October, and in January, 1888, he was mayor, with A. Gen, A. S. Baker, J. P. Snelling, A. S. Adair and G. H. Stevens, aldermen; L. C. Gremillion, marshal; A. L. Adair was chosen secretary. One of the first acts of the new council was an order to arrest all persons, who would tire off guns or pistols, regardless of race, color or nationality.
In January, 1890, T. B. Kimbro was mayor, with W. G. Branch, J. Jordan, J. J. Gremillion and A. T. Allen, aldermen. W. S. Aymond was marshal, J. J. Gremillion, secretary, and G. Jackson, treasurer. The marshal resigned in October, 1890, and on the 22nd of that mouth, Thomas was nominated for the position. T. B. Kimbro was the first postmaster here; L. W. Anderson was appointed in 1883, and on September 18, 1889, John D. Ernest took charge of the office. Mr. Ernest purchased lots here in 1882, when Allen & Gen's store was the only one here. Marcus Spencer built his store late in 1882, and early in 1883 Capt. Haas built a dwelling house tor the first railroad agent, Moseley. A. T. Allen has been railroad agent at Bunkie since 1882. The shipments from September 1, 1887, to August 31, 1888, were 7,887 bales. During the season ending August 31, 1889, there were only 4,981 bales shipped. Four thousand eight hundred and forty-nine bales were shipped from September, 1889, to August 31, 1890, and 3,123 bales from September 1, to October 25, 1890.
The old post offices of Avoyelles were Bayou Rouge, Ewell Burdick, master; Big Bend, B. W. Kimball; Bordeaux, post master deceased; Florida Bend, post-master moved away; Holmesville, Shaw Kandon; Mansura, Nelson Durand; Marksville, F. B. Barbin; Morrowville, Joseph Cappel, and Simmesport, J. Kirk. Borodino post office was established in February, 1844, with Ambroise Lacour, master. This office is now known as Moreanville, Mansura, mentioned so often in this chapter, is the oldest of the modern towns of the parish. In 1860 dipt. J. C. Joffriou was mayor of Mansura.
In 1801 Dr. J. Desfasses was mayor; Eloi Joffrion, L. Drouin, Charles Dnmarquis, Victor Prostdame and S. Siess, aldermen; P. A. Durand was secretary; P. Lemoine, treasurer; J. J. Guerineau, collector, and M. Bibb, constable. Nelson Durand was chosen mayor in November, 1805. David Siess was mayor in 1874; Valery Coco, 187(5; F. J. C. Moiinin, 1878; David Siess, 18751; F. J. C. Monnin, 1880; David Siess, 1881-82; Pascalis D. Roy, 1884, and David Siess in June, 1884; Theo. Forest, 1885; David Siess, 1880-90. The Mansura post office was reopened in September, 180(5, with David Siess, master.
The Convent of the Presentation fit Cocoville or Hydropolis, five miles from Normand's Landing on la Rivuere Rouge, and two miles from Marksville, was presided over in 1855 by Sister Marie Hyacinthe. This was the mother house of the order in the United States until the removal to Fairfield, Caddo Parish.
The church of St. Thomas at Moreanville was blessed in May, 1850, by Bishop Martin. In March, 1880, Isaac C. Johnson was elected mayor of Evergreen, and was re-elected for each term, including the election of 1886. Joseph Cappel is mayor. The Evergreen Home Institute, a male and female school, was in charge of H. C. Kemper in 1857. John Ewell, Joseph Cappel, M. M. Matthews, T. P. Frith and J. H. Marshall were trustees. Among the first houses erected at Evergreen was the store building of Alanson Fearce, on whose plantation the town was laid out prior to the war. The post-offices of the parish, other than these named, are Big Bend, Bordelonville, Cotton Fort, Egg Bend, Eola, Haasville, Moreanville, Odeuburg, Simmesport, and Tilden. Cassandra was au important business village as early as 1827, but now it is seldom heard of. It is a memory of the earlier years of this century. A. T. Allen is the efficient depot agent at Bunkie, La., and like so many of the energetic and enterprising residents of this section, he is a native born resident of the State, his birth having occurred August 24, 1852, in the Parish of Plaquemine, to A. D. and Mary A. (Neal) Allen, the former a native of Buffalo, N. Y., and the latter of Louisiana. The paternal grandparents of the subject of this sketch were Germans, and the maternal grandparents were born in Liverpool, England. A. D. Allen was reared to manhood in York State, and for many years was au ocean sailor, but fit the time of his death, July 4, 1859, he was a branch pilot at the port of New Orleans.
His demise occurred in Liverpool, England, where he had gone for his health. His widow survives him, and is a resident of the city of New Orleans. A. T. Allen was reared in the Pelican State, and received his early knowledge of books in the public schools of New Orleans, in which city he afterward learned telegraphy. He was an operator in the Western Union office for a number of years, and he accepted his present position in Bunkie, receiving an earnest petition so to do from the people of this location. He has acted in capacity of depot agent since 1882, and at the present day there is not a business man in this section who stands higher in the estimation of the people, or is more highly esteemed than Mr. Allen. He is a man possessing many sterling characteristics, and is a leader in many matters pertaining to the public good. Socially he is past high priest, of Evergreen Chapter No. 4 of Evergreen, La., and a member of Evergreen Lodge No. 189, of the A. F. & A. M. His marriage, which took place in the month of June, 1883, was to Miss Lily E. Pearce, a daughter of A. G. Pearce, by whom he is the father of three bright and interesting little daughters. Hon. Aristides Barbin is a member of the General Assembly of the State from Avoyelles Parish, La., but was born in the city of New Orleans, moving with his father to Avoyelles Parish in his third year, and here he received such education as the schools at that day afforded, his education being entirely confined to the French language until he was sixteen years of age, when he began learning English. His father, Louis James Barbin, moved hither in 1826, and was parish judge from 1825 until 1831, dying in the latter year, his appointment as judge being received from the governor. Aristides Barbin started in life for himself as a clerk in a general mercantile store, and a little later was deputy clerk of the court under his brother for four years. He was then deputy sheriff until 1859, when he was elected parish recorder, a position he held two terms (eight years), after which he was elected secretary of the State Senate for four years. Although opposed to secession, ho told the people if elected he would vote for that measure, and eventually did so.
He lost twelve slaves by the Emancipation Proclamation, and during the war served in the Engineer's Department in Louisiana, being in the battles of Mansfield and Pleasant Hill, and at the time of Lee's surrender was at Alexandria. Having been admitted to the bar in 1857, he began practicing after the close of the war, and in 1879 was elected judge of the Twelfth Judicial District of the State, serving four years, but at the expiration of this time he began practicing law, and continued until April, 1888, ;i position be still holds. He was married in 1843 to Miss Azelie Raland, who was born in Avoyelles Parish, La., November 15, 1829, and has borne her husband the following children: Amelia, Eliskah, Helena, Horace, Sarah, Octavia and James D. (who died at the age of twenty-four years). the mother of these children passed from life on September 10, 1883, since which time Mr. Barbin has wedded Alphina Laurent. He is one of the honored citizens of the parish, find hits been successful in his financial ventures, being the owner of about 1,000 acres of land. His father, Louis James Barbin, was married to Irene Bronlin, the former was born in New Orleans, and the latter in Mobile, Ala. They were reared in the city of New Orleans, and in the-State of Louisiana passed from life, the father in 1831, at the age of fifty-one years, and the mother in 1802, when sixty-seven years of age. Nicholas Barbin, the grandfather, was born in France, and was the private secretary of Louis XIV. of France, and was commissioned by the latter to take charge of the government stores in Louisiana, the papers being signed by Louis XIV. personally. Mr. Barbin was married after coming to America, his union being celebrated at the Balize, there being then (1734) no city of Orleans, there being present all the elite of the government of Louisiana, or Orleans Territory, Bienville, himself, honoring them with his presence.
D. R. Bettison, deputy sheriff and jailer, of Avoyelles Parish, was born in Rapides Parish, La., in 1845). He is the son of T. G. and E. S. (Hut ledge) Bettison. T. G. Bettison was born and reared near Woodville, Miss. He immigrated to Louisiana in 1818. and became a pioneer of Rapids Parish, entering a great amount of Government land around the present site of Cheneyville. He married dose to Cheneyville, and lived in Rapids Parish till 1850, when he moved into Avoyelles Parish, and lived on Bayou Chopegtie till the time of his death, 1873. Mrs. E. S. Bettison was born in Georgia, and became a resident of Rapides Parish, La., while a young lady. She became the mother of sixteen children by her first and only marriage, and is still alive, residing in Texas. She is a lineal descendant of John Rutledge, one of the signers of the Declaration of Independence. Our subject grew to manhood in Avoyelles Parish, and received a limited education. He was married in 1878, and remained on the farm till 1882, when he entered the livery business in Evergreen, La., where he remained till 1888, when became to Marksville and there opened the livery business. He reached Marksville with limited capital, but has done well, and has accumulated considerable property in the short period he has been there. He has been deputy sheriff of Avoyelles for six years, and parish jailer for nearly three years. He married Miss Ada Keller at Holmesville, La., and is father of three children: D. L., Susan and Bessie.
Hon. James K. Bond is a planter of Ward 7, and was born in Shelby County, Tenn., on December 31, 1.844, to T. G. and Margaret (Dickson) Bond, natives of Virginia and Tennessee, respectively. The father removed to Tennessee when young, and was engaged in farming until his death in .1857, his widow surviving him until 1868, when she, too, passed away. Hon. James K. Bond removed to Avoyelles Parish with his mother when twelve years of age, and although he received a good early education in the common schools, he was debarred from entering college on account of the opening of the Rebellion. In 18(52 he enlisted in the First, Louisiana CWalry; the same year was discharged on account of physical disability, but at the end of about two mouths he re-enlisted in the Second Louisiana Cavalry, and served until the war terminated, being in the Trans-Mississippi Department, and in all the engagements of that department with the exception of Mansfield and Pleasant Hill, during which time he was on courier duty. At the dose of the war be returned to the plantation, and has since devoted his time to its operation, and is now in good circumstances, financially. He has been interested in the political questions of the day, and has held a number of official positions, being a member of the police jury from 1885 until 1888, in April of the latter year being elected to represent this parish in the State Legislature, his term expiring in 185)2. Mr. Bond introduced the bill that created so much excitement in Avoyelles Parish, providing for the removal of the court-house to the lowlands.
He and his most estimable and worthy wife are the parents of two sons and three daughters. Alcide M. Bordelon, district clerk of Avoyelles Parish, La., was born here in the year 1856, and here was reared to manhood on a plantation and was educated. As a native-born resident of this parish he is looked upon with considerable pride by the people of this locality, for they have watched his career from his youth up, and he has at all times shown himself to be a young man of undoubted honesty, and has displayed ability and sagacity of a high order. In 1881 he was united in the bonds of matrimony to Miss Noemil Coco, also a native of this parish, and although he was elected to the office of clerk of the district court in the spring of 1888, and moved to Marksville,' he is yet the owner of his plantation. He was for four years a magistrate of the Sixth Ward, but on May 2(5, 1888, was installed into the office of clerk, and will serve until 1892. His union has resulted in the birth of four children: Louis Clinton, Joseph L., Robert Lucins and Daisy Alice. Mr. Bordelon is one of the most popular men of the parish, and is one of its most efficient public servants, which fact speaks loudly in his praise, for Avoyelles Parish is noted for its able, honorable and painstaking officials. He is a genial man, and is a gentleman in every sense of the word, both by instinct and education. His parents, Marceline O. and Ozide (Mayenx) Bordelon, were also born in the State of Louisiana, the father dying in January, 1884, his widow still surviving him. The family are Catholics, and the father was for a number of years a member of the police jury.
A. L. Boyer, merchant and planter, Moreanville, La. Mr. Boyer is one of these enterprising and progressive citizens, who is not satisfied to pursue one occupation through life, but branches out and tries his hand at other enterprises. He is of foreign birth, having been born in Bordeaux, France, in 1839, and is a son of John H. and A. (Joffrion) Boyer, the former a native of France, and the latter of Louisiana. The father was a very extensive planter of Avoyelles Parish, and was also very extensively engaged in merchandising, doing a large exporting and importing business. He was one of the prominent men of Louisiana at the time of his death, being at one time a member of the Legislature, and also a member of the Constitutional Convention of 1855, taking a prominent part in the convention. He died in 1856. Grandfather Boyer was an officer under Napoleon, and the family was very prominent in France. A. L. Boyer emigrated with his parents to America when nine years of age, settled with them in Louisiana, but afterward went to St. Louis, where he completed his education. In 1856, after the death of his father, he took charge of the business, but lost everything except the real estate, by the war, being left almost penniless at the close of that memorable struggle. He is at present doing a good business in merchandising, carrying a full stock of goods and doing an annual business of about $30,000.
Besides his be is the owner of 840 acres of land, 200 of which are under cultivation. He was married in 1870, to Miss Julia Colomes, daughter of P. Colomes, a native of France, but who is now a resident of Louisiana. Mr. Boyer has been president of the police jury, and held other positions of trust in the parish. He has the oldest existing firm in the Parish. He is now postmaster at Moreanville, and is a man held in the highest estimation by the public. He is the father of three children: Albin O., John H. and Aimee J. Dr. John S. Branch is a gentleman thoroughly fitted by experience and study for a superior physician, and since entering upon his practice has built up a reputation for skill and ability that is not merely local, but extends over a wide range. He was born in this parish on September 24, 1859, to Dr. Leroy K. and Laura E. (Griffin) Branch, the birth of the former occurring in Maury County, Tenn., August 30, 1810, his father and mother being natives of Virginia and North Carolina, respectively, the former being a soldier in the War of 1812.
Dr. Leroy K. Branch removed to the State of Alabama when a young man, and in that State and Mississippi grew to manhood, but received his literary education in Greene County, Ky. He afterward entered the Medical Institute of Louisville, Ky. (wow the University of Louisville), from which he was graduated in 1840. Shortly after completing his course he removed to Avoyelles Parish, La., where he has since resided and practiced his profession, being now one of the oldest and most honored citizens of this section. He has been a member of the police jury, and has been twice married, first in 1843 to Miss Virginia A. Marshall, who died in 1857, and the following year he wedded Miss Griffin, who was the eldest daughter of the late Hon. W. F. Griffin, who for many years was inseparably connected with Louisiana politics, having served a number of terms in both houses, especially in the Senate. Dr. John S. Branch is the eldest of their six children, and although reared in Avoyelles Parish, the greater part of his education was obtained in Evergreen Home Institute, at Evergreen, La., and from a private tutor. In 1881 he graduated from the medical department, of the University of Louisville, Ky. and subsequently took a course of lectures in Tulane University of Louisiana, locating the following year in Evergreen, where he has become a well known medical practitioner. He possesses a brilliant intellect and as be has shown that he is thoroughly versed in medical lore, his patronage has become very extended. He keeps thoroughly posted in his profession, and is now one of the vice presidents of the State Medical Society. In 1882 the nuptials of his marriage to Miss Lily E. Willis were celebrated, she being a daughter of A. B. and Jeauette M. (Robards) Willis, of New Orleans.
W. G. Branch, M. D. Among the people of Avoyelles, as well as the surrounding parishes, the name of Dr. Branch has become well known, for he is one of the most active practitioners of this parish, and has made a reputation for himself as a follower of the healing art. The Doctor was born here December IS, 1800, to Leroy K. and Laura E. (Griffin) Branch, and in the common and private schools of this section was prepared for college, afterward entering the State Seminary at Baton Rouge, immediately upon leaving that institution entering the medical department of the University of Louisville, of Louisville, Ky., graduating and receiving his diploma from this institution in February, 1884, He immediately located in Karnes County, Tex., but remained there only eighteen months, since which time he has been a practitioner, and a successful one, of Bunkie, La. the nuptials of his marriage were celebrated in 1887, his wife being Miss S. O. Bennett, daughter of Mansel and Sarah O. (Pearce) Bennett, both native Louisianans. The father, who was a planter, and for many years parish surveyor, died in 1884. Dr. Branch is a young physician, who stands well among the medical brethren of this section, and to his skill and talent the gratitude of hundreds is due, for he has been the means of bringing many to health, and consequently happiness. He is a member of the Louisiana State Medical Society, and socially, belongs to Lodge No. 189, of the A. F. & A. M., of Evergreen. Both he and wife are consistent Christians, and fire worthy members of the Baptist Church at Evergreen.
S. Callegari is a highly prosperous merchant of Cottonport, La., and here has resided from his birth, which occurred October 7, 1840, his parents being J. and Ellen (Scallan) Callegari, the former of whom was born near Rome, Italy. He attained manhood in his native country, and was- educated in Venice, receiving a most thorough, classical education, his expenses being defrayed by an uncle who was fitting him for a priest. His inclinations were not at all that- way, and he was never ordained. When about thirty years of age he came to America and settled in Avoyelles Parish, La. where ho was for many years engaged in teaching school in Mansura and Cottonport, being a planter in connection with his teaching. He was for a time superintendent of the public schools of the parish. He was a man of remarkable intellectual powers, and fit the time of his death, which occurred at the age of eighty-five years, in 1887.
He showed but little the rWages of time so far as his intellectual powers were concerned. His marriage, which occurred in Avoyelles Parish in 1834, was always a remarkably happy one, the parents having the utmost confidence in, and affection for, each other. The immediate subject of this sketch was reared in this parish, and was given the advantages of the common schools. In 1852 he enlisted in Company F, Eighteenth Louisiana Regiment of Infantry, was in the Trans-Mississippi Department, and took part in a number of hotly contested engagements, being at one time captured and kept a prisoner for a short time.
After the war he was engaged as a planter for some three years, or until 1809, but since that time his attention has been devoted to merchandising at Cottonport, where, by his business tact and ability, he has built up a large and paying trade. He was married, in 1875, to Miss Irine Riche, a daughter of Elphege Riche, a native of this State and a planter. To them three sons and four daughters have been born. Clifton Cannon, the popular sheriff of Avoyelles Parish, La., has resided here from his birth, May 24, 1856, and the confidence which the people have in him is, therefore, intelligently placed, for they have known him from boyhood, and have had every opportunity to judge of his character and qualifications. His education was received in Jefferson College, of St. James Parish, La., which institution he attended four years. He is the second son of Fenelon and Mary E. Cannon. His mother was the only daughter of Maj. John Boots, of Roanoke, Va. Maj. Boots was born on April 12, 1784. The date of his birth shows that it was nearly contemporary with that of the American Republic. The child of 1784 has seen a people who had been scarcely free two years when he was born, grow and occupy one of the largest places in the history of the world. In comparing the splendor of-the dawn of the American Republic with its present vast resources and proportions, he is a happy citizen who can write upon his tomb, I have been the contemporary of Washington.
In 1812 Maj. John Boots saw the struggle between the United States and England renewed. He joined the standard of his country under Gens. Hull and Harrison, and soon rose to the position of major, and gained distinction in the struggle. In 1824 he moved to Avoyelles Parish, La., and there devoted himself to the culture of cotton. He married October 21, 1832, Miss Mary Custard, of Mississippi. Thirty-four years after his arrival in Avoyelles, he died on July 22, leaving a large fortune. He left a wife and daughter, who leans upon the valiant arm of her husband, Fenelon Cannon. Fenelon Cannon was born in Cadiz, Trigg County, Ky., on Friday, November IS, 1825. After receiving his education at the age of eighteen years, he left his native State and located in Opelousas, St. Landry Parish, La. He there devoted himself to the study of the law, and soon became a member of the bar. On Friday, December 24, 1852, he was married to Mary Elizabeth Boots, and from that time he resided in Avoyelles.
At the Marksville bar he was considered one of its best lawyers. He soon gained distinction in the State as a lawyer. He also became distinguished as a politician. To them were born four sons: Lester, Clifton, Courtney and Fenelon. On January 26, 1861, Fenelon Cannon affixed his signature to the ordinance of secession, be having been chosen to represent his parish in the convention. At the opening of the war he soon raised a company of cWalry, and joined the first cavalry of Louisiana, he being captain of Company A, First Louisiana Cavalry, being under Col. Scott. He fought on the fields of Kentucky and Virginia. Being in very bad health, he went to Hot Springs, Ark., and there died on Friday, April 10, 1863.
His wife after seeing two of her sons grown and one married, after a long and protracted illness, died ou August 17, 1878, at the age of forty two years ten mouths and seven days. Clifton Cannon was married on December 23, 1875, to Miss Annie L. Joffrion, oldest child of Senator E. J. Joffrion, of Avoyelles. Her parents are from Kentucky and Louisiana. Senator Joffrion was born and raised in Avoyelles. At au early age he became a member of the Avoyelles bar, and is today the ablest criminal lawyer of the parish. He was a member of the Constitution Convention of 1879, and was one of the few members who voted against the re-chartering of the fatuous Louisiana Lottery. He afterward served in the Legislature and served with distinction in the State Senate.
Clifton Cannon is the father of five daughters: Annie May, Eula Line, Effie C, Edna Ruby and Ivy. He served as first deputy sheriff from July 1, 1875, to May 24, 1888, on which day he was sworn in as sheriff, which position he has filled with success. Mr. Cannon is the owner of about 1,500 acres of land, and is considered a man of means. He is a member of the Catholic Church. His friends in the parish are innumerable, in consequence whereof he has on several occasions been chosen as a delegate to the State conventions, and is well known throughout his State. J. V. Cantoutiet, M. D. of Coltonport, La. was born in the department of the Lower Pyrenees, France, February 14, 1838, and in his youth and early manhood received a thorough literary course in some of the best schools of his native land. After passing the requisite literary examination he was admitted to the medical schools of Paris, where he pursued his studies for five consecutive years, and was on the point of taking his final degree when the Franco-Prussian War broke out, and his ability being well known he was appointed resident physician of the Great Hotel Ambulance, under the famous High Physician Nelaton. He served in this capacity with distinction, as evinced by his papers, which are signed by High Physician Nelaton, and also by the American consul general, John Meredith Reid. This Government appointment of Dr. J. V. Cantonnet opened to him a field of experience, in which he spared no zeal to perfect by practice all the theories of which he was master, and it also placed him in direct association with men of scholarly attainments, among whom he wielded a widespread influence. In IS 12 he came to America, find practiced with success during the yellow fever scourge of New Orleans, being the loading physician of four benevolent institutions. He located permanently in Cottonport, Avoyelles Parish, and here soon built up a remunerative practice, his patronage now exceeding 300 families.
His first wife was estimable of women of Spanish extraction. Miss Felipa Dominguez. by whom he became the father of three children, whom he has taken care to give every possible advantage of high association and good education. There names are Adele (wife of S. Ducote), Clotilde (wife of J. D. Gremillion), and Henry. the Doctor comes of a fine old family of France, his father being an eminent physician widely known in that country, and his grandfather, too, was a physician of distinction. Dr. Donat Cantonnet, the only brother of our subject, is one of the most distinguished professional men of all the splendid city of Pan, capital of Lower Pyrenees, France. He has been recently decorated by the queen of Spain. He is in fact, a real philanthropist, a friend of the poor, and as brave as honest, and he, himself, is as thoroughly familiar with the Spanish language as he is with his native tongue, and speaks English fluently.
He contributes valuable articles in both Spanish and French to magazines and periodicals, and is well known, not only among men of his profession in America and France, but has warm friends, who have become eminent in letters and politics in both countries. Paul d'Abzac, the French general consul to the United States, is his especial friend, and they visited him tit his home in Cottonport. Dr. Cantonnet, upon the death of his first wife, married Miss Zoo Crouseilles, au amiable and intelligent lady of French birth. The family are members of the Roman Catholic Church.
J. C. Cappel, attorney, Marksville, La. J. C. Cappel is a successful attorney at law of Avoyelles Parish, and although quite young in years he has already won tin honorable place among the legal fraternity of the county. He was born in Avoyelles to the union of Joseph and Jane (Currey) Cappel, both natives of Louisiana. The father is a man of no ordinary intelligence, and is esteemed and respected by all. At the present time he is engaged in merchandising tit Evergreen. The Cappel family are in very easy financial circumstances, and young men of less energy and ambition than our subject would have been con tent with enjoying themselves in indolence and social pleasures. At an early age Mr. Cappel exhibited a tendency to make something of himself, and was allowed to select a school in which to receive his literary training. He entered Warren Academy near Boston, Mass., find after completing his course there, returned to Louisiana, where, in 1880, he began the study of law with John N. Ogden, a prominent lawyer of Opelonsas. St. Landry Parish, La.
He was admitted to the bar, to practice in all the courts, July, 1885, and immediately began practicing in Lake Charles, La., remaining there one year. He then removed to Marksville, where he has since practiced his profession, having built up a lucrative practice find where he has ingratiated himself in the esteem of all these with whom he has come in contact. Though young in years Mr. Cappel takes a very active part in politics, and exerts an appreciated influence in public affairs. In June, 1888, he was married to Miss Bena E. Brooks, an accomplished lady of one of the best families of Baton Rouge, La. Mr. Cappel's ability as a lawyer has given him an enviable reputation, and he starts out with bright prospects for the future. Socially he possesses these genial characteristics which make him a desired guest and an appreciated host. Associated with him in business is his brother, Currey Cappel, a young man well and fWorably known in his profession. He is a graduate of the Baltimore Dental College, and has for several years practiced his profession in this and adjoining parishes. The brothers own and operate a fine plantation near Evergreen, and own land in other parts of the parish.
Max Chamberlain, planter, Evergreen, La. Mr. Chamberlain owes his nativity to Tennessee, his birth having occurred near Shelbyville on March 1, 1833. He was early initiated into the duties of the farm, received his education in his native State, and in 184!) he removed with his parents to Hot Springs County, Ark., where he remained for five years. He then came south to Louisiana, settled near Evergreen with an uncle, John Ewell, and at the breaking out of the war ho joined the Confederate Army at Evergreen, in Capt. Oliver's company, and was in service for four years. He was in the Army of Tennessee, Bragg's division, and at the end of about fifteen months was transferred to Louisiana, where he remained until the close of the war. He then came to Evergreen, located here, and has been manager of a sugar plantation for many years. He is thoroughly posted in the sugar interest. He is now, and has been for some time past, manager of a large cotton plantation, and is the owner of 400 acres of land. His wife, who was formerly Miss Martha Hall, a native of Tennessee, born in 1838, bore him five children: Emma, William, John, Percy and Max, Jr. Mrs. Chamberlain and three of her children are members of the Baptist Church. Mr. Chamberlain is a soil of William and Martha (Ewell) Chamberlain, both of whom were natives of Tennessee. The father died in Hot Springs, Ark., at the age of sixty-two years, and the mother also received her final summons in that State. Of the eight children born to their union, Max Chamberlain and one sister are the only ones living. The mother's people came from the Old Dominion, and the father's people from North Carolina. The maternal grandparents of our subject, L. Wilson Hall and Lucy (Ewell) Hall, were born in North Carolina and Tennessee, respectively. They died in that State, the former in 1880 and the latter in 1878. They were the parents of six children. The paternal grandfather of Mrs. Chamberlain was born in North Carolina, and the great-grandfather was born in England.
Judge A. V. Coco, Marksville, La. In these days of money-making, when life is a constant struggle between right and wrong, it is a pleasure to lay before an intelligent reader the unsullied record of au honorable man. Judge Coco was born in Marksville, on March 21, 1857, and is the son of Hon. A. D. and Heloise (Lodoux) Coco, the father a native of Avoyelles, and the mother of Point Coupee Parish, La. The father was a planter of this parish and served in many official positions of trust and honor. He served as sheriff, was district clerk for some time, and served in both Houses of the Legislature. He is now living a retired life. Judge A. L. Coco received a thorough education at. St. Vincents College, Cape Girardeau, Mo., and graduated in the class of 1877.
He later received a diploma from the law department of Tulane University, New Orleans, and after finishing his law course he began practicing his profession in Marksville, where he continued until 1888. He then was elected judge of the district, court, from the district composed of Avoyelles, Rapides and Grant Parishes. He is a man of sound judgment, sterling integrity and broad intelligence. Although he is yet a young man, being only in his thirty-fourth year, judging from the record he has already made, and the high esteem in which he is held by all who know him, he is destined to figure prominently in State and National affairs. He is one of these whole son led, affable men, whom to know is but to revere. Honesty of purpose and rectitude of conduct in the discharge of his official duties have placed him upon a high plane in the estimation of his constituents. His marriage occurred in Memphis, Tenn., in 1877, to Miss Kate Malone, daughter of John and Catherine (Bourke) Malone, natives of Ireland. Mr. Malone was in business in Memphis, and farming in Arkansas. Judge and Mrs. Coco are members of the Catholic Church.
E. D. Coco is one of the prosperous general merchants and planters of Avoyelles Parish, La., and by his business ability and superior management he has become one of the leading business men of the Parish. He was born in this parish in 1856 to Adolph D. and Eloise (Sheldon) Coco, find here attained man's estate, his literary education being received hen- and at Cape Girardeau, Mo. Upon leaving school he began merchandising in Hamburg, but in November, 1882. be had the misfortune to have his well-stocked store burned to the ground, since which time he has been the agent for Coco & Coco, who are the proprietors of two large stores, which have an immense trade. In connection with this they operate a 300 acre plantation, the proceeds of which bring them in a handsome sum annually. Mr. Coco is a thorough shrewd and capable business man, and his success in life is assured, for he at all times makes the most of his opportunities, and allows no department of his work to be neglected. He is courteous and agreeable in his intercourse with his fellowmen, and has hosts of warm personal friends who wish him well in every undertaking. He was married in 1877 to Miss Caroline M. Coco, a daughter of Anatole Coco, a planter, who died in 1880. To the union of Mr. and Mrs. Coco five children have been born, three daughters and one son of whom are living; Gracie died in September, 1890, at, the age of two and a half years, a sweet and promising child.
Hon. F. B. Coco, of Moreanville, is one of the leading planters in this section. the Coco family is one of the oldest in this part of Louisiana, and one of the most eminently respected. Dominique Coco, subject's grandfather, having made his advent into this country with Gen. Lafayette during the Revolutionary War. the name, Coco, is not the real family name, but a nickname given Dominique Baldonide (Coco), who was a native of Italy. Shortly after the Revolutionary War he came to Louisiana and was engaged for some time in trafficking with the Indian tribes on Red River, He married in Pointe Coupee Parish, but subsequently removed to what is now Avoyelles Parish, where he was among the first settlers. The issue of this marriage was two sons, Dominique (subject's father) and Joseph, who died without issue. Dominique Coco, Jr., married Miss Zue Juneau, and to them were born seven children, three sons and four daughters, of whom our subject is the youngest. He subsequently married his second and third wives. To the second marriage were born six sons and one daughter, and to the third union there was born one son. Mr. Coco was probably the wealthiest man in the parish at the time of his death, which occurred in 1864, not being worth less than a half million of dollars at the time the Civil War commenced. P. B. Coco prepared for college in (he schools of Avoyelles Parish, and took a two years' course in St. Charles College, St.. Landry Parish, La. In 1841 he entered the office of the parish judge as his clerk, acting at, the same time as notary public. In 1845 he was elected recorder, the office having just been created, and he was the first one to fill that position in Avoyelles Parish, serving three years. Afterward he devoted his time to planting.
In 1862 he was appointed assessor of Avoyelles Parish for the Confederate States, in which capacity he served during the whole war. He was elected a member of the Lower House of the Legislature in 1875) and served one term. In 1888 he was appointed a member of the police jury from Ward (5. In 1852 he was married to Miss Sarah L. Baillio, daughter of Judge Baillio, who served as parish judge in Avoyelles Parish from 1840 to 1849. Judge Baillio was a prominent man and died in Alexandria in 1889 at the age of seventy-eight years. To Mr. and Mrs. Coco were born three children: Zoe (deceased), Rebecca (now Mrs. L. S. Coco) and E. D. Baldwin (of Cottonport). The family are members of the Catholic Church. Mr. Coco is one of the old landmarks of Avoyelles Parish, and is a highly honored citizen, and although advanced in years time has dealt kindly with him, for he is still active and vigorous.
E. B. Coco is a resident of Ward 8, of Avoyelles Parish, La., and is successfully engaged in conducting a general mercantile establishment, five miles northeast of Cottonport. He was born in this parish in 1850, to F. B. Coco (see biography) and Sarah L. Baillio. E. B. Coco was reared in this parish, and finished his education at the Jesuit, College, of Spring Hill, Ala. After leaving school he was, for a short time, engaged on his father's plantation, and subsequently clerked in tin uncle's store, at Moreanville. for some three years. In 1878 he engaged in the mercantile business at his present stand, his patronage having become large and lucrative. His stock of goods amounts to from $0,000 to $9,000, and his annual sales reach from $20,000 to $25,000. In addition to this valuable establishment, he has a tine plantation of 400 acres, which he operates himself. He was married in 1875, to Miss Angela Rabalais, a daughter of J. V. Rabalais, a native and planter of Avoyelles Parish. La. By his excellent business ability and foresight he has built up a trade, which is one of the largest and most prosperous in the parish. Public spirited, liberal minded and generous in disposition, he has won success and honor, and his future is full of promise. To himself and wife five children have been born—three sons and two daughters. He has established a post-office, and named it, fitter his little boy, Pearce.
L. L. Coco, planter, Cottonport. La. L. L. Coco, a prominent and prosperous planter of Avoyelles Parish, and a native of that parish, born November 10, 1850, is a son of Lucian D. and Julienne (Gondean) Coco, both natives also of Avoyelles Parish. The father was reared in Louisiana, and educated in Bardstown, Ivy. He was an extensive planter, being the owner of from 6,000 to 7,000 acres of land, and was a very prominent citizen. He died September 19, 1875), but the mother is still living. Grandfather Dominique Coco was one of the pioneer settlers of Avoyelles Parish. L. L. Coco, the second of six children. in connection with two brothers, Albert D. and Jules A. Coco, operates a plantation, a saw mill, cotton gin and store, and raises annually from 450 to 500 bales of cotton. He was reared in his native parish, received his education in St. Charles College, in Grand Cotean, La., and since finishing his schooling, he has devoted his entire attention to his plantation. Miss Angelica Barbin, who became his wife November, 1889, is a native of this parish, and the daughter of Ludger Barbin, whose family is one of the oldest in this parish. Mr. Coco and family are members of the Catholic Church. Our subject's great-grandfather, Pierre Gondean, was born in Gneiss, Prance, and was sent to this country tis a physician during the Mexican War, serving during the entire time. He was subsequently married, in Pointe Coupee Parish, where L. L. Coco's grandfather, Julian Gondean, was born, and later married Miss Decuire, with whom he moved to Avoyelles Parish, being among the very first settlers.
Philogene Coco is a well-known planter residing near Moreanville, La., and here first saw the light of day on March II, 1841, his parents being Dominique Coco and Caroline (Bordelon). He was reared in Avoyelles Parish, La., and in his youth was au attendant of Lafargue High School of Marksville, after which he took a two years' course in St. Joseph's College of Bardstown, Ky., where he received thorough training, and acquired au excellent knowledge of the world of books. At the age of eighteen years, he began merchandising in Moreanville, and in this business continued until 1861, when he. enlisted in Company G, First Louisiana Cavalry, and was a faithful servant of the Confederate cause throughout the entire war, being in the Army of Tennessee, and participating in the battles of Chickamauga, Missionary Ridge, Shiloh, Corinth, Crab Orchard, Ringgold, Richmond. Ky., and the majority of the other battles in which his army was engaged. His company was disbanded near Woodville. Miss., after which, he returned to Louisiana, and with a capital stock of $500 he, in partnership with a brother, resumed merchandising. In 1806 he was married to Miss Eugenie C. Bordelon, a daughter of Leandre Bordelon, a native of Louisiana, and au extensive planter. In 1872 Mr. Coco closed out his business and purchased the plantation on which he is now residing, his time being since given to its successful operation. He has three fine plantations aggregating about 1,500 acres, on the cultivated portion of which, he raises some 300 bales of cotton per year. All the property of which he is now the owner has been obtained by his own efforts, and he prides himself upon the fact that what he has is entirely free from encumbrance. He is the special agent for the southern Cotton Oil Company in Avoyelles Parish, and being public spirited is deeply interested in all enterprises for the good of the parish. He is a man of tine physique, as are. in fact, the most of the members of the Coco family, and he also possesses the sterling principles for which the family are well known. He and his wife are the parents of nine children, six sons and three daughters.
Adrien Convillion, planter, and one of the old and highly-esteemed citizens of the parish, was born ou March 4, 1813, and is the son of Adrien and Celeste (Mayenx) Convillion. The father was born in Pointe Coupee Parish, La., and when a young man be moved to Avoyelles Parish fit a time when there were but very few settlers. He married shortly after coming here, and settled on a tract of land near where Marksville now stands. He died in February, 1835. Grandfather Ainable Convillion was born in Canada, and was among these who were banished. He removed to Louisiana and settled in Pointe Coupee Parish, where he received his final summons. Adrien Convillion was retired and received a limited education in Avoyelles Parish. He has been a great reader all his life, and has acquired a good practical education, being well informed on all subjects, and particularly public affairs. In 1831 he pre-empted land where he now resides, and built a small house, after cutting out the canebrake, so that he could cultivate the soil. His marriage to Miss Scbolastique Rabalais daughter of V. Rabalais, occurred on July 1.0, 1832. The father was a native of this parish, and was a planter by occupation. Immediately after marriage Mr. Convillion moved onto his new place, taking all his earthly possessions in an oxcart, and his experience in the raw country was full of adventure and interest. About the year 1820 he saw the first steamboat, named " Arkansas," that ever sailed up Red River, and he also saw the first steamboat on Bayou De Glaize, in 1840. He has seen the country develop from a wilderness to its present prosperous condition, and has done his share toward its improvement. Mr. Convillion has devoted his life to operating his plantation, and has accumulated considerable property. His first wife lived only three years, and in 183(5 he was married to Miss Mary Lemoine, daughter of Baptiste Lemoine, who was born in Louisiana, and who was a planter by pursuit. To the first union of Mr. Convillion were born two children, and his second marriage resulted in the birth of thirteen children. He has now forty-four grandchildren and seven great grandchildren. The whole family are members of the Catholic Church. Though of such a ripe old age, Mr. Convillion is active and robust in appearance, find bids fair to live many years yet.
C. P. Convillion, surveyor of Avoyelles Parish, La., was born in the house in which he now resides in Marksville, La., in 18(50 to L. H. and Rosa (Cailletean) Convillion, they being also born in this parish, the former being a local politician of considerable note, holding different, offices in the parish for some eighteen years, a portion of the time being clerk of the court and parish recorder. He died in 1870 at the age of thirty-nine years, being still survived by his widow. in the town of Marksville, C. P. Convillion received his rearing and early education. After following the occupation of teacher for two years he gave his attention to surveying and engineering, and is now one of the leaders of the calling in the State. After holding the position of city alderman for two or three terms, he, in 1882, was appointed parish surveyor, was reappointed in 1884 and 1888, and has since admirably discharged the duties of this position.
He has always been a Democrat, and all times supports the men and measures of that party, wielding considerable influence as one of its followers. His paternal grandfather, Hyppolite Convillion was a native of this parish, and a member of one of the oldest and best families of Louisiana. His maternal grandfather was Eugene Cailletean, a native of the department of Ardennes, and son of the Lord (Seigneur) of St. Prix, at the time of the abolition of feudalism in the latter part of the eighteenth century. Being a Republican, he left France upon the accession of Charles X., to the throne, and became a naturalized citizen of this country in 1828.
F. Convillion, merchant and planter, Bordelonville, La. This prosperous business man and successful planter is a native-born resident of Avoyelles Parish, La., his birth occurring in 1842, and is the son of Zelien Convillion and Doralisse (Bordelon) Convillion, both natives also of Avoyelles Parish, La. The father was a planter and school teacher, and followed this occupation in his native State until his death in 1805. The mother died in 1875. Both were members of the Catholic Church. F. Convillion received a common French school education in this parish, and here was reared to mature years. Though he speaks and writes the English language correctly, he never attended an English school. He, was the eldest of three children, and after the death of his father he took charge of the latter's business. P. Convillion has been a cripple ever since six years of age, and this accounts for his not having been in the army. During that eventful period, however, although he had never seen a shoe made, he caught coons and alligators, tanned their hides, and with his own tools made 585 pairs of shoes. In 1807 he began merchandising on a very limited scale, and has continued this business ever since. He is the owner of a good plantation and a well stocked store. In 1855 he was married to Miss Leanora Pavey, daughter of John B. Pavey, a native of Illinois, but a resident of Louisiana. Mr. Pavey was a planter. To Mr. and Mrs. Convillion were born ten living children, three sons and seven daughters, of whom six are now living, five girls and one boy. Mr. Convillion is an example of the self made man, having acquired his all by perseverance and industry, and with little English education to assist him. He has lately been appointed justice of the peace by the governor of Louisiana to fill a vacancy in the Sixth Ward, and also elected for the same office by the popular vote of the ward. He was also appointed by the governor returning officer of the parish of Avoyelles.